We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean with excellent friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very clean with excellent friendly service”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Well located on the sea front at Bournemouth, this hotel is very clean, and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Great value Travel zoo deal. The food id very good, both evening and full english breakfast. Wine a little on the high side.
Very busy for the time of year.
The rooms are very clean, although the beds are only standard double and not the most comfortable and although the heating could be a little warmer, kettle, Flat screen TV, and Hairdryer supplied in the room.
No wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Look out for travelzoo vouchers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neale931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    353
    130
    77
See reviews for
648
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My company has been booking this hotel for over 9 months now. Every client has found the place exceptional, with good home cooked food , spotless clean rooms and consistently good service, always with a smile .
Just one small niggle, my clients are at times night workers and can often here housekeepers on radios on the corridors . Having said this, they did not inform the hotel they would be sleeping days so fair is fair . The management are doing a great job and we will continue to use and recommend this excellent property.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and must say that this is our most favourite of all.This time we had the London themed family room which was huge and what a view. Our most favourite part of the hotel is the excellent bar lounge area,which is far superior than most 4 and 5 star hotels we have visited,and the outdoor lido area is a treasure. Also I must mention that the food choice and service is fantastic,with smart friendly staff who allways make us feel welcome.Can't wait till our next visit.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We may be late writing this review as we stayed on the 18th December until the 20th December 2013 but better late than never. This was a travelzoo deal where we had a 3 course meal on the first night.

We were celebrating my partners birthday which is a time we always find difficult to find something as it's so close to Christmas. We decided we would like to revisit Bournemouth and would give the Cumberland a go.

Firstly we called to find out if it was possible to bring the dog as with Christmas being so close it would be difficult to get family and friends to look after her. We were pleased to say they were very accommodating and this made the stay so much easier. We arrived on the Friday and we were checked into an amazing room with a sea view and balcony. The room was spotless and had a king size bed with tea & coffee making facilities.

The hotel was buzzing as there were Christmas party's occupying both function rooms and people were excitedly checking in. The hotel was decorated like nothing we have seen before with very stylish decks and lights everywhere, it was amazing and felt so Christmassy. I would have loved to have had a works Christmas party in a hotel that done Christmas like this one. Even though the hotel must have been rushed off its feet with all the party's going on, the service and quality of our 3 course meal on the first night was excellent.

The second night we had some drinks in the bar then went into Bournemouth town centre for food. The location of the hotel is excellent with it situated above the beach, yet just a little out of town so you get piece and quiet from the revellers but not too far that you can't walk. Overall the service was excellent, room was great and we had an excellent stay, thanks!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kavson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed in a sea view room very big terrace. We had French door and a very good view of the sea. Room bed comfortable with a big bathroom. Went in February half term two night superior room. Had a good price and breakfast included. Sometimes it's lovely to watch the sea even in the winter months. Weather was dry which was lucky as storms had finished hitting the English coasts. The sun came out both days the air fresh but it was lovely to wrap up and go for a sea view walk. The hotel has a large room full of sofas and arm chairs to have a relaxing. Drink. It has a restaurant and diner/cafe which was just the same as the restaurant. Low lighting and an open fire. Lots of staff all very polite. Food very good too.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked 3 nights for our anniversary. So good we booked another day. The room was clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the chef should take a bow. All in all a very nice hotel, warm and inviting.

All the staff were really efficient, always smiling and cheerful. Would like to say thank you to Julie on reception, ( brilliant ambassador for the Cumberland) for her assistance and smiles.

This is our third stay at the Cumberland and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for sea view. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just got back from Cumberland hotel. The hotel is right on the sea front.
We had a great view of the beach and a nice balcony. Our room was spacious and comfortable, nice en-suite and nice decor. Had tea/coffee making facilities
and a hairdryer in room. Towels were nice and clean and there was a good T V
in room. Food was really nice and well presented.
Staff were well trained, friendly and helpful. We would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Get room 313 ! !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing