We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Cumberland in the teeth of the February gales to attend a 60th birthday party.

The hotel, the staff and the party were first class and I thought prices generally were very reasonable.

When the sun finally broke through the views over Poole Bay were super.

Room Tip: Always get a sea view. The rooms are a little extra and a lot more exciting when the wind gets up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,105 - 2,111 of 3,654 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I arrived at the hotel on Sunday 2nd March 2014 in a force 11 severe storm, with rain lashing the hotel. Parking the car was a bit of a problem as there was a Wedding Display on which had created quite a few more cars. Once parked up in the sister hotel next door, we were treated to two nights of luxury and very attentive staff. The food was superb, both in the main restaurant and in the 2 for 1 deal in the second restaurant. The car was relocated to the Cumberland later after the function had departed. We had two walks into town which was within easy reach even for two old biddies like us. We had a taxi back on one occasion in view of the rain at a cost of £4, which was probably cheaper than trying to park the car in town for a few hours. There is a local bus service route 33 which runs infrequently. We left on Tuesday 4th March, pancake day, and yes the hotel produced an abundance of pancakes with our breakfast. Personally I would stay there again... well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: 3rd floor with sea view, and watch the sun rise each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from a Fri to Mon break at The Cumberland Hotel. We have been several times before and again could not fault it. From checking in at reception, our room and the food and service in the hotel, all was great. Our room was a lovely sea view terrace room, but we have stayed in other rooms and they are all nicely decorated and have everything you need. We had some lovely meals in the Ventana Grand Cafe food and service is always good and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The breakfasts in the hotel are plentiful and you can have either continental or full English or order from a menu.
We would recommend this hotel, and do so often, and we will be back again in a few weeks.
See you soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank janaja45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear janaja45,

Thank you for the review. Great comments regarding your stay. Lovely 5 star rating.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent break. Friendly helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. Clean comfortable room on the top floor, this had no view but as it was a budget break we did not mind. The hotel is in a lovely location on the cliff top almost in the centre of the wonderful bay, this gave us good walks in either direction. The food was very good with a self service style breakfast and waiter service in the evening. The choices of food were good with generous portions .
We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed at several hotels with the deals that Travel Zoo offer but must say that this really has been the best so far!!
All of the staff and I mean all of the staff could not have been more friendly and attentive, from the time we arrived at reception in the pouring rain, we were advised on all local amenities and our room was first class. Buffet breakfast was fully explained and if you needed help you only had to ask and that was very evident with several people that they did this for. What we really liked was how the staff made every effort to speak to you first and nothing was too much effort, professional at all times with a smile, which is a great asset. Really look forward to returning!!

Room Tip: We updated to a sea view and balcony which was really good, although weather did not allow us to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrygeorgepaul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent a night at the Cumberland with my girlfriend.
I will make a simple list of pros and cons on this hotel.
Lets start with the good things:

Good:
- Staff: helpful and nice
- Decor: kind of cosy
- Location: close to the beach and nice view from the room (Superior room).
- The TV in the room was ok (remote broken though, see cons)
- A Free drink or coffee on arrival

Cons:
- Very thin walls, we could hear our next door neighbours having loud sex and aggressive talking. Had to call reception and complain after midnight to make them be quite.
- Hotel staff opened our door and stepped right in without knocking. We we're just about to change ourselves. The girl from reception claimed she took the wrong door.
- Bathroom only had soap in the shower. No shampoo or conditioner or hand wash. Sink had cracks in it, and the water tap was missing some parts.
- Mattress was missing a protector (mattress cover).
- Breakfast was very simple. It had the basics but that was it. Serving plates was way to hot.
- Music from downstairs was said to go quite at 22.50 according to the girl in reception (we asked) but at midnight the music was still playing loud.
- Balcony door had been left open by the cleaners.
- Broken remote to the TV

Summary: A good located hotel with nice staff. A bit worn down and you have the feeling that you don't really get what you pay for. Room was ok but not Superior as paid for. Staff opened the door to our room without knocking. Walls are thin and you can hear all your neighbours.
I would like to give this hotel a 3 out of 5 star rating but the lack of privacy from staff and other guests combined with the absence of toiletries drags it down to a 2 star.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 1st floor to avoid noice from downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Charlie B,

Thank you for your review. To be honest it's not the best review we have received. I completely sympathise with your situation. Noisy neighbours can be a nightmare, and at times these situations need to be handled delicately.
My sincere apologies that you were given the wrong information regarding the finishing time of the music for the entertainment. Perhaps we need some training, and information. I think my colleague was thinking of the band, which we have strict curfew for finishing. Also my sincere apologies for the disturbance, all the housekeeping, in fact all staff, know that knocking before entering is essential.
Toiletries, we will look into. At the moment we supply the Lux body and hair wash. So your comment regarding this will certainly be looked into.

Breakfast, we served a wide range of ingredients and products. Our breakfast buffet choice, is very good for a 3* hotel, we offer a range of gluten free cereals and a selection of special made to order breakfasts too, which can be seen on our breakfast menu.

All in all I find your review constructive, with some housekeeping issues to addressed. perhaps the scoring is a bit low, but it is your impression.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, and perhaps restore some faith. Many thanks for the kind compliments regarding the general staff.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just stayed at this fabulous hotel for the weekend with my husband. Standard of accommodation and food is excellent with helpful and very happy staff. We cannot fault this hotel at all. Worth paying the extra for a balcony and sea view.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear julie h,

Thank you for your review. Great compliments, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing