We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best deal in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We often stay at The Cumberland for 1 or 2 nights and always take advantage of any in house/third party deals on offer. The best deal is usually for 2 people for a night with full 3 course evening meal (to a very good standard) with a full English breakfast in the morning. The cost for two is below what a B&B would cost just for a room and breakfast. The hotel overlooks East Beach (although rooms directly facing the sea are more expensive) and it only takes some 10 minutes or so to walk along the cliff path into the centre of Bournemouth. Those too lazy can even get a bus (sorry still a 10 minute walk up to the Christchurch Rd behind the hotel) into town or to the many other local places like Poole, Boscombe or Christchurch. The local bus service is extremely good. Limited parking is available at the hotel with roadside parking as another option. The hotel and it's sister hotel next door also offer exercise facilities for those who want to be more energetic. A great place for short breaks that doesn't break the bank.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FerringFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,052 - 2,058 of 3,616 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have just returned from a three night stay at The Cumberland hotel. My husband and I visit Bournemouth about 4 times a year. Since we last came, we now have a small dog. We were so pleased to find that we could bring her along with us, not many hotels do this and we all had a fantastic time because we didn't have to leave her behind.
All staff at the hotel were excellent. We had a problem with our electricity supply on the second day but it was dealt with very well and was outside of the hotel's control. We were moved to a comparable room and it was all sorted.
Food excellent, room was of a very high quality and we had a really good break with our little dog. More hotels should take note and offer to take small dogs. Thank you everyone at The Cumberland - already planning our next stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Waldol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I managed to get a great deal on this from booking.com, and glad I did. For the price I paid, it was a bargain given that the hotel was a 4-star. Very eloquent and chic decor, the room was comfortable, although a bit too warm, but that's not a problem. The staff were nice and friendly, and most helpful. The food at the restaurant was amazing, used from fresh quality ingredients.

The location is handy, it's at the top of the cliff, and very easy to get to the main beach area, 2 minutes via the "zig zag" path (turn left out of the hotel and cross the road, just next to a bus stop), and only 10 minutes walk to the main town area as well and the Aquarium. You can get great panoramic views of the sea outside in the fresh air from sitting on the benches there.

I also booked a spa treatment, the hot stone massage. As a guest, you are entitled to get a discount on spa treatments. Must say, the hot stone massage was very relaxing, the beautician did a superb job, and you feel detoxified and energised all day. If you are into healthy living, it's worth booking one.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pisceanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Pisceanlady,

Thank you for your review. Superb review regarding the hotel. I must tell you you we are actually 3*, but that you for the upgrade. I'm sure readers and fellow reviewers will find your review helpful.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the cumberland for one night on a package deal of dinner , bed & breakfast for a very reasonable price and I have to say it was lovely. The sea view room we had had fantastic views and was a very comfortable. The food was delicious( we had lunch outside, by the pool as the weather was lovely) the dinner was delicious! The staff were very helpful and it was very child friendly. We had our 2 year old son with us who really enjoyed it there! He didnt want to leave! The bar , lounge and restaurants are decorated beautifully and are very relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria1977p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just back from an overnight stay at the Cumberland. From checking availability on the web we would appear to have got the last double room available so I was a bit apprehensive. Most reviews I'd read said to get a sea view room, which would obviously have been fantastic but I'm sure would have cost twice as much as we paid, had one been available. Our room was at the back (320) overlooking the car park which was absolutely fine. The bed was lovely and wide and very comfortable. The room was spacious with a couple of arm chairs and a desk. Two large windows let it loads of light. It was a lovely quiet room and I slept at least as well as I do at home. There were some functions taking place in the evening (admittedly not a noisy wedding party) but upstairs we couldn't hear a thing. Everything was very clean and I appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was very clean. The shower was a bit feeble and the water from the hand basin taps was very slow coming out but that's no big deal - watch out for the very hot water though. I couldn't connect to the free wifi in the room but could use it in the lounge and reception downstairs. We loved the 1930s inspired ArtDeco theme on the ground floor which really fits in with the style of the building.

We both had fish pie for our evening meal which was excellent and my husband had a full cooked English breakfast that again was first class. There were plenty of staff on duty and they were all very efficient, helpful and friendly. The location is perfect - 5 minutes or so to the beach and a little longer to the town. I don't understand why this hotel doesn't have at least 4 stars. We would stay again and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if you're worried about noise from functions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EABJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Have stayed here on several occasions. even Xmas, but only with my husband, this time I was with my daughter. . We arrived early, it was a problem for the receptionist who was not terribly polite. After a 2 hour wait we were given a large cupboard as a single room each which we had booked but with a bath. We refused and were then given alternative rooms on different floors which were only slightly better. Mine was damp with stained walls a very nasty damp patch .it smelled musty, there was no heating or hot water and it was freezing cold, the heating did not come on until 6.00. This was room 303.We were planning to stay for 4 nights after breakfast we decided to leave. We were not offered different rooms. Apart from our initial arrival all the staff were attentive and helpful. The main hotel areas are very glamourous but the rooms are not worthy of a top class hotel.

Room Tip: Try and book the rooms with a balcony they are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the room was a disappointment. I have investigated your stay. On investigation, I see you arrived at the hotel at 09h30, on a morning when the hotel was on full check-out. Understandably we would not have rooms ready for arrival at this time, we guarantee rooms to be ready at 14h30. So to have your room for midday, is quite an achievement.
My front office manager showed you different rooms as your initial room was not to your liking. The issues that you have put on your review, will be investigated, which none of were reported while you were staying in the hotel.? Maybe we could have room moved you during your stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found the staff friendly. Maybe we can welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just come home from having a relaxing week away 3rd to the 8th March 2014. We arrived at hotel and was initially given Room 426, but receptionist Chelsea offered an upgrade to a Sea view Room at a reasonable rate, we were in Room 111, the views were amazing, we was very lucky with the weather and we could go out on the balcony, the only downsize is squeaky floorboards, but we knew this as it's an old Hotel and we have stayed here before. But unfortunately, we did have a couple above who stomped around the room to the extent the ceiling rattled and had the television so loud, but I can honestly say the Hotel sorted it out for us. I really love this hotel, the service, the food, the staff even the cleaners are amazing, nothing is never too much trouble for anyone there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing