We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant 3 days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant 3 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Recommended by travel agent,this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Beautiful Art Deco style. Spacious rooms, and lovely bar and lounge.we were on an inclusive DBB package and the food was delicious, the menu changed each night with at least four choices. Always one vegetarian and one fish choice. All of the staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. We upgraded to a sea view room which was well worth doing. We would highly recommend this hotel and are looking forward to going back again soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricketywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Ricketywood,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback, thank you.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    1,079
    334
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,581
129
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here which says a lot as we rarely revisit places as we like new experiences. This is a lovely white Art Deco building on the cliff top overlooking the sea. This time we opted for a regular room and were on the 3rd floor overlooking the next door hotel, but we did have a sea view out of the side window.
Room was great, huge bed, large bathroom with bath/shower, loads of storage space, beautifully decorated and clean. Only criticism was that the floors are a bit creaky and the couple in the room overhead seemed to get up about 5 am and stomp backwards and forwards across the room. If only I'd had a long pole to bang on the ceiling!

We had a bargain deal including an evening meal. Breakfast is buffet style, mostly catering for the English with the usual range of cereals and cooked items. Very small selection of cold meat and cheese which foreign guests might find inadequate. For our included dinner we had a choice of about 3 items for each course from the special menu. Food was well prepared and arrived promptly, wines etc reasonably priced.
What I especially like about the Cumberland, is the staff, so friendly and helpful. Most of them are foreign but they all have a good grasp of English and a ready smile. The decor is magnificent, mostly black, white, mirrors and chrome with accents of purple and red. I'm sick of all those bland hotel chains scared of colour and original style.

You can walk down to town in about 10-15 minutes, but remember it's uphill coming back. There is a local hourly bus into town, or a 10 minute walk to Christchurch Road and you have a good selection of buses to different areas. Be sure to visit the Russell Coates Museum on the walk into town it's really interesting.

In fact it's so good we are going back again in May, this time with a sea view room

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I changed my hotel at last moment due to a ridiculous parking charge of £20 per day post initial booking & am so pleased we did, the Cumberland, I would describe as old school, not in fixtures & fittings in sheer service and experience. The art deco is stunning throughout, the restaurants and the room decor is lively, clean and spacious.
Meals, fresh, tasty and all served with the same fantastic service.


I have never felt the reason to post a review before but this hotel & staff really do deserve the praise.

Well done & thank you, will be back in August...

Room Tip: Fist floor above the restaurant, noisy naturally early. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Happy friendly staff who can't do enough to be helpful for you.food was excellent and more than enough for the most hungry of visitors.the hotel is situated within 15 mins walking to the centre of Bournemouth and right within easy reach of the sandy beaches.Rooms were clean warm and cosy.If you are coming to watch a show at Bournemouth them this is a very convenient place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Owen M,

Thank you for review. We are very pleased that your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers please visit our website or call us on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Cumberland for one Friday night in mid March 2014. We hadn't done any research, so had a completely open mind on arrival. The hotel turned out to be a genuine art deco pedigree building, with those fabulous streamlined balconies like you see in Miami's South Beach. This impression was extended on entering, with a very elegant 1930's foyer.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor facing the rear car park - not a problem as we had not asked for a sea view. The room was clean and recently redecorated to a good standard. The floor above was a bit creaky at times with the guests in that room but was in no way a problem. Whilst not enormous the room was perfectly suitable and comfortable for two, with a generous sized bathroom, warm floor and a nice powerful hot shower.
Dinner was at eight in the Ventana Restaurant. I have to say, both this space and the huge bar which you pass through on your way, are superbly glamorous. The spaciousness and ambiance felt more like one of the big hotels in London, such as the Savoy. We were seated straightaway and the waiters were all very smiling and friendly. The menu itself was an unexpected treat, with the starter and main course dishes absolutely delicious and amazing. With a cheese board and ice cream to end our meal, we felt we had experienced a first rate dinner - as good as the very best in London, and served by staff that really enjoyed and cared about what they were doing. Breakfast the next morning was also to a really excellent standard.

Other aspects of the hotel which we thought good were the outdoor pool and sun deck, which in the summer months must really be a great place to relax. This hotel deserves commendation for its staff, for just how hard they all try and how pleasant they all were. If you were to nit pick, you could say that the lift was too small, corridors not as good as on the ground floor and rooms smaller than you might prefer, but this is surely the legacy of the 1930's era when expectations were less. The great thing about the Cumberland is that everyone seems to recognise and is working hard to transform the negatives into positives, and to improve even more the things they are already doing well. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186315Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend break as great rates were offered Have looked at this hotel before but the rates can be a little steep in summer
Also pre-booked dinner for the first night as again rates were very good
The staff are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you first class service offered at all times
We had a balcony room on the second floor which was as expected for 3 star rating loads of room and wardrobe space Good decent size TV
The food was excellent Evening meal was very pleasant and at breakfast a really good selection offered
The front terrace is a great place to sit in the sunshine
The location of the hotel is very good with quick access into town or the Old Christchurch road for restaurants and bars
We were there over the weekend and did not notice any noise from the reception rooms below even though there was a party going on and due to the heat we had our balcony door open
The only negatives I can think of are the parking which is really tight Reasonable size car park for the age of the hotel but too many spaces crammed in Fine if you have a small car but anything of any size spaces just not big enough We actually got stuck and took an hours waiting to get out of the car park to wait for other guests to move Again the staff could not have been more helpful Perhaps valet parking or remove the centre row which makes parking so tight
Will park on road next time
Also only one lift - we did give up on this on checking out as it was always full and used the stairs

Room Tip: The front balcony rooms are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Overnight stay in comfortable sea view room for me and my daughter who is a wheelchair user. Reception is welcoming, well decorated and spacious and really the staff could not have been more helpful. Assisted my daughter into the lift and nothing was too much trouble ---if only the same could have been said of the Pavilion Theatre which we visited later.
Plentiful tasty breakfast in lovely smart surroundings.
Thank you the stay at this hotel really made our visit comfortable and relaxed.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing