We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I booked a week in advance and got a great deal for 15th march, we got there Saturday lunchtime to amazing sunny weather, booking in was easy ,receptionist was lovely, we had our lunch by the pool and spent the afternoon on the beach just 10 mins walk away,our room was a bit small but we didn't mind, its just to sleep in,it was clean and the bed was comfy,next morning we had a great breakfast and took our coffee out to the pool,the sun shone again all day! We went for a walk after checking out but came back to spend a wonderful few hours relaxing on sunbeds!.it really felt like we were abroad,it was a really lovely experience and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,522)
There are newer reviews for The Cumberland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,941 - 1,947 of 3,522 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed for one night break and had a brilliant time. Upgraded to sea view with balcony well worth it. The staff were efficient and friendly. Great value and would stay again.
A small point the balcony chairs need cushions.

Room Tip: For front line sea choose a balcony or terrace room they are good size with 180 degree views. Our u...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear glj8,

Thank you for your review. Fabulous review. Thank you. We will looking into your suggestion.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a great deal for 2 nights DB&B booked direct with hotel and then upgraded on arrival to a superior sea view room at discounted rate.Room very nice, lovely big bed but would have preferred a walk in shower not shower over bath. Also lacking range of free toiletries and room extras which most hotels would provide. This is however a minor criticism.
The food quality is excellent, especially the evening meals and good portion size as well.
The staff are a real credit to the hotel being smartly turned out, extremely polite, courteous and always on hand without being overbearing.
Location is very good being about 20 min walk to town centre with bus stop outside hotel.
The walk back though has some fairly steep hills for the less able, we took a taxi and it cost £5.00 with a tip. Free parking at hotel is also a bonus as is use of pool in sister hotel next door.
We would definitely return to this hotel in the future and will watch out for more great deals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KelH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Recommended by travel agent,this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Beautiful Art Deco style. Spacious rooms, and lovely bar and lounge.we were on an inclusive DBB package and the food was delicious, the menu changed each night with at least four choices. Always one vegetarian and one fish choice. All of the staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. We upgraded to a sea view room which was well worth doing. We would highly recommend this hotel and are looking forward to going back again soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ricketywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Ricketywood,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback, thank you.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here which says a lot as we rarely revisit places as we like new experiences. This is a lovely white Art Deco building on the cliff top overlooking the sea. This time we opted for a regular room and were on the 3rd floor overlooking the next door hotel, but we did have a sea view out of the side window.
Room was great, huge bed, large bathroom with bath/shower, loads of storage space, beautifully decorated and clean. Only criticism was that the floors are a bit creaky and the couple in the room overhead seemed to get up about 5 am and stomp backwards and forwards across the room. If only I'd had a long pole to bang on the ceiling!

We had a bargain deal including an evening meal. Breakfast is buffet style, mostly catering for the English with the usual range of cereals and cooked items. Very small selection of cold meat and cheese which foreign guests might find inadequate. For our included dinner we had a choice of about 3 items for each course from the special menu. Food was well prepared and arrived promptly, wines etc reasonably priced.
What I especially like about the Cumberland, is the staff, so friendly and helpful. Most of them are foreign but they all have a good grasp of English and a ready smile. The decor is magnificent, mostly black, white, mirrors and chrome with accents of purple and red. I'm sick of all those bland hotel chains scared of colour and original style.

You can walk down to town in about 10-15 minutes, but remember it's uphill coming back. There is a local hourly bus into town, or a 10 minute walk to Christchurch Road and you have a good selection of buses to different areas. Be sure to visit the Russell Coates Museum on the walk into town it's really interesting.

In fact it's so good we are going back again in May, this time with a sea view room

Stayed: March 2014
Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I changed my hotel at last moment due to a ridiculous parking charge of £20 per day post initial booking & am so pleased we did, the Cumberland, I would describe as old school, not in fixtures & fittings in sheer service and experience. The art deco is stunning throughout, the restaurants and the room decor is lively, clean and spacious.
Meals, fresh, tasty and all served with the same fantastic service.


I have never felt the reason to post a review before but this hotel & staff really do deserve the praise.

Well done & thank you, will be back in August...

Room Tip: Fist floor above the restaurant, noisy naturally early. Avoid.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Happy friendly staff who can't do enough to be helpful for you.food was excellent and more than enough for the most hungry of visitors.the hotel is situated within 15 mins walking to the centre of Bournemouth and right within easy reach of the sandy beaches.Rooms were clean warm and cosy.If you are coming to watch a show at Bournemouth them this is a very convenient place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Owen M,

Thank you for review. We are very pleased that your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers please visit our website or call us on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £54 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing