We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Booked an overnight stay through Travel zoo including dinner and breakfast. Reception, bar and restaurants are very welcoming and the food was excellent. The only criticism was they had a comedienne who should have retired a few years ago and was embarrassing. The hotel is in a very good location for both the beach and the town. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireGrannyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,667
    1,067
    329
    122
    75
See reviews for
591
1,542
127
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March for our wedding anniversary on a Travelzoo package. This included dinner on the first night and breakfast. The hotel shares facilities with the other 2 hotels alongside, which is good as car parking is difficult. However you can park along the road for just £3 per day.
The hotel itself is very swish downstairs with an amazing lounge and dining area. The service is excellent with very attentive and friendly staff. Our room, although standard, was huge with the biggest bed I have ever seen! Plus there was enough space for a table and chairs at one end plus a dressing table at the other and a good sized bathroom. We were on the side of the hotel but still had a good view of the sea. I would agree with the other reviewers that the rooms look a little 'tired' and the floors (and heating pipes) are creaky but it is an old hotel and everything is very clean.
Meals are excellent. Our dinner on the first night was superb and there is a good choice at breakfast.
We also ate in the Verdana Cafe which is located within the hotel, again very good food and service.
The hotel is in a good location for the beach and town centre so all in all, worth another visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel still have a sea view without paying the extra cost of a front facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Kaz1960,

Thank you for your review. Very informative review, and we are pleased you had an enjoyable experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon again, please visit our website direct or call our reservations office with the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The downstairs of the hotel has an almost South Beach Miami retro look to it. It's fun and funky, with a great bar and swimming pool area, but the rooms are tired, basic and in contrast to the downstairs (unless we just so happened to have unrenovated rooms?). I used to come to Bournemouth as a teeenager and we could never to afford to stay at The Cumberland .. these days I'd say that it's more a 3* hotel. What I would say however is that the staff are great. Every single person we met was friendly, polite and helpful and helped to make our stay a great experience. The indoor pool is at the hotel next door, with the spa 2 hotels away. That isn't particularly handy if you want to use the pool & spa in one go, but if you don't mind that, I'd recommend a visit here for a cheap and cheerful getaway.

Room Tip: Full seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joybell101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Joybell101,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding the staff, thank you. We are a 3* hotel, however we aim to exceed in customer service.

We hope to welcome you back sometime. Please visit our website direct or call our reservations team on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just had a one night stay in a standard room, the hotel has a lovely lobby and stunning public areas. The breakfast was great and the staff and service both impeccable. On the downside we stayed in a standard room so not expecting anything magnificent and indeed it was almost acceptable except the mattress on the bed had a definitive slope and was really very uncomfortable. Like other reviewers have said very creaky floor boards but also a sort of pipe clunking noise most of the night although the heating wasn't on. There was a stool to sit in front of the mirror but not enough room to actually sit on it due to the placement of the bedside table. These were minor niggly things that could I assume be corrected. Otherwise a perfectly acceptable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juaradawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear juaradawn,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that found the hotel good, and complimented the public areas as well as the staff.
Your comment regarding the floor boards, we are doing our utmost to rectify all the rooms that are receiving issues regarding squeaky floor boards. This is an ongoing maintenance programme as well as all other snagging issues.

We do hope that you will visit us again soon, so please visit our website or call our reservations team for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd stay here... Swift friendly checkin.. Had sea view room.. Was pleasant. A little cold.. But comfy bed and hot shower.. Room was clean and comfortable.. Noise from upstairs squeaky. Floor above but it is an old hotel.
Communual. Areas are lovely full of splendour.. Lunch in the lounge was perfect. As was the Costa Coffee..
Breakfast service more miss than hit on this occasion.. But plenty of food and choice... Sea view rooms overall appear better than rooms at the back but cost a little more...all in all a good 3 star hotel. With generally 5 star service. Staff are a credit to the hotel.. Would come back

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robbie/stourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Robbie/stourbridge,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback about the hotel and your check-in. I would like to hear more about your breakfast experience as I think this was a slight disappointment for you. We aim to give our guests a great experience, and pride ourselves in delivering great customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. For the latests offers please visit our website or call our reservations office direct on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My friend and I enjoyed two nights at the Cumberland. We attended the Fawlty Towers evening which was very funny. The hotel offers regular entertainment. Staff were very helpful, the hotel decor was great and relaxing. The food was wholesome and efficiently serviced. A swimming pool was available in the next door hotel which was also good. Parking was a bit difficult as we had to part on the road, but not too bad. Beds comfy and clean. We had a great view over the sea with a balcony. We thought the hotel was value for money. There were little things e.g. the main light in the bedroom did not work and the place does look a bit tired in places, but.. these sort of things happen anywhere and in no way detracted from our enjoyable stay. We would like to go back again.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a sea view room as it is very good and helps to give the holiday feel. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryanneAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear MaryanneAndover,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased that the small issues did not deter you from having an enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon. For the latest offers please visit our website or call the hotel reservations team direct on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a great time at The Cumberland. The room was lovely bed really comfy. Great view from our balcony. Breakfast was lovely a great choice of full English cereal juices as much as you wanted. We ate in the hotel restaurant ventana both nights as we enjoyed it so much. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank woodsy542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear woodsy542,

Thank you for your review. Really pleased your stay was enjoyable, and great comments regarding the breakfast.

We look forward welcoming you back soon. For the latest offers, please visit our website direct or contact our reservations department direct on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing