We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Cumberland and had a beautiful meal in the Ventana Grand Cafe....the staff were very friendly and Solange who looked after us while we ate was particularly welcoming and did everything she could to make our meal enjoyable and made sure that all our needs were met.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinn2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Quinn2684,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay with us. Good to hear positive feedback regarding the customer service.

We hope to welcome you back soon again, please visit our website or call us direct on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,938 - 1,944 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We origionally made a booking through booking.com that said we paid on arrival, then we cancelled it. The next day we received a phonecall saying they had taken money by mistake , so we said we would go !!!
Now wouldn't you think, as they made a mistake, we would get an upgrade or at least a bottle of wine?, NO nothing, and to top it, we were put in a side room that overlooked their sister hotel, where people were smoking and talking on/off ALL night !!
We waited 30 minutes, TWICE for a drink in the cocktail bar, when we complained, they just said sorry !!
We took our dog and was charged £10 a night, but she had to stay in the room, she was not allowed ANYWHERE, not even the terrace outside !!
The only plus to this hotel was the restaurant and staff there, the food was excellent and so were the staff, its a shame the staff were not consistant throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayney123gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear jsjuggs,

Thank you for your review. Some good comments particularly that of the food and the restaurant staff. Your booking reservation is being investigated. My sincere apologies for any mistake and or mishandling. We endeavour to provide excellent customer service throughout departments, including from the time a reservation is make.
I have spoken to the Bar Manager regarding the lengthy wait for a drink, which seems extreme. I know some cocktails take some preparation, and this past week was rather busy sometimes orders backing up, due to the nature and the passion that is needed for cocktail making.
We do have strict pet policy within the hotel, and this is for the comfort of all our guests. We unfortunately do not allow pets in public areas, this includes the outdoor area where food is served. The £10 that is charged goes towards to the cleaning of the room after the pet has stayed, as perhaps a future guest may have an allergy.

Thank you for your feedback. hopefully we can welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I retreated to Bournemouth for Easter and decided to go with The Cumberland. Best decision ever... the hotel is situated right in the middle of bot Piers and practically right on the beach... 10min walk. We had the sea view room with balcony and were surprised how big the balcony was. Great if you have kids or family holidays. The staff were great and very helpful. Accommodated all our needs as my wife was pregnant. The best part is being able to use their sister hotels next door! Would recommend a massage at the Oceana Spa at Cliffeside Hotel. The Cumberland Hotel is 100% recommended. We are definitely going back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JFataniaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear JFatanialUk,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay. We are very pleased that your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again, please visit our website direct or call our reservations team on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for three days over Easter 2014. Food was excellent - breakfast and evening meals. Lovely pool area and downstairs lounges. Service excellent and all staff were so friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Eduardo Fernandez who quickly sorted out a problem with our original room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip5B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My parents stayed in this hotel whilst myself, husband and son stayed in the Suncliff.
My parents were booked in to a double room which was clean and tidy and had everything you could need for a few nights away from home.
It's also only a ten minute walk away from the beach.
On my parents first night they had difficulty getting to sleep due to a clicking noise in their room. It sounded like central heating pipes clicking and banging. The noise was persistent and they were unable to sleep so they phoned down to reception who immediately organised a move for them. They moved straight away and slept well in their new room.
The next morning the duty manager paid them a visit to check all was ok and informed them that they would get an upgraded room for their second night. They were moved in to a sea view room with a balcony which was a lovely treat.
They ate breakfast both days and said it wad delicious and plentiful.
Bar areas were lovely to sit in and have a drink too.

They had a lovely stay and would go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe_Smi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Zoe_Smi,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback regarding you parents stay, and we are pleased it was all enjoyable. Also good to hear that the issues your parents received were dealt with accordingly.

We hope to see you again soon, please visit our website direct or call our reservations office direct for the latest offers.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

4 of us stayed at the Cumberland 10/12 april,great deal through travel zoo.the food was excellent and good portion sizes.had a great relaxing time with the sun shinig as well.very good location and plent to do around this area.staff were amazing especially CARMEN nothing too much trouble.i am vegetarian she made sure I got everything that I wanted to eat.great service and thankyou

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basser47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear basser47,

Thank you for your review. Wonderful feedback with fantastic comments. Your mention of Carmen will be a rewarding read.

We hope to welcome you back soon again, please visit your website direct or contact the reservations team direct on 01202-298350.

Kind Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel was nice, only problem was parking, and the suite we stayed it could do with being decorated, and the bed was lumpy, needs a new mattress ,the view from the room was good. ideal place to walk to the shops and beach .breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear ann w,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback regarding your stay. Your comments regarding the room have been noted. We have an ongoing maintenance programme within the hotel. Parking is free at the hotel, and it can be an issue on busy days. We don't guarantee a space for each room, but we do operate as an resort an a guest may use any car park within the Oceana Hotel resort. Failing that, the sea front parking is free overnight, and is only £3 for the day, which is considerably less than £10 per day that most hotels charge.

We hope to welcome you back soon, please visit our website direct or call our central reservations office on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £52 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing