We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised it's not got a higher rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Surprised it's not got a higher rating”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's the staff that make this hotel. Friendly, professional, hard working and cheerful smiles in abundance. Management that get out to see the customers and roll their sleeves up if required. Good state of decor and facilities with excellent value for money.
For Bournemouth this is a very good hotel. It's not 5 star bedrooms, but they never claim to be and they for are acceptable for sleeping.The location and staff are 5 star!
Being cheerful and positive illicits a delightful response from the staff, so enter into the holiday spirit. Pay the extra for a sea view, it's worth it.
No hesitation in commending this hotel and they deserve the numerous awards on display.

Room Tip: Spend the money to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Britleo,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your experience with us. Always rewarding positive reviews. Your review will be appreciated by the staff who follow Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back soon. For the latest offers, please visit our website or call direct on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    1,096
    335
    127
    75
See reviews for
616
1,611
129
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our second stay and we have already booked for another in June.

Situated just few yards from the sea front, 'The Cumberland' provides the best you would expect from a 3 star hotel.

There are excellent views and the hotel provides clean and spotless surroundings. The restaurants are superb, and they deliver delicious food, The staff are friendly, attentive, polite and very professional. Yet again, we had a memorable and very enjoyable break .

During the past ten years we have stayed at many other accommodations in and around Bournemouth and we reckon this is probably the best.
Mr & Mrs Malik

Room Tip: room with a balcony with sea view - the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malik19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Malik19,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your experience at the Cumberland. We aim to please and we are very happy that we succeeded.

We hope to welcome you back soon, please check our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We have just had one night at the Cumberland and we were so impressed. The staff were amazing, we were made to feel so welcome and special when we arrived. It was our anniversary so we asked for a nice table in the restaurant. I think we had the best one, it was lovely and the food was good too. We upgraded to a room with seaview, balcony and four poster and glad we did. Our only little moan was the shower had a very poor flow of water! Everything else was perfect. We hope to be back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Shirley W,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your one night with us. We are very pleased that your anniversary was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please check our website or call our reservations direct on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here recently for an Easter break and thought it was a great hotel. Lovely locations , delicious food and very friendly staff. The only niggle was the shower was not particularly powerful but besides that couldn't really complain about the room. We paid extra for sea view with balcony and would definitely do that again. We will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotels location is fab, lovely sea view and only a 10 minute walk from the heart of Bournemouth, but it's positives end there. I am a very heavy sleeper but there was not a chance in the Cumberland, the walls and ceiling were paper thin and I could literally here every movement the people upstairs made and then every movement that the cleaners made at 5:30am onwards. The room was borderline clean but very very drab and tired. All around I wouldn't be recommending and certainly won't stay there again myself.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missawalli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Missawalli1,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on this occasion the standards were not met to ensure your stay was enjoyable. I am surprised about your comment regarding the cleaners at 5.30am, as the housekeeping staff don't start until after 8am.

If you do wish to book with us agian, please don't hesitate to contact the management directly to facilitate your booking.

Kind Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great value, modern, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The room was very large with lots of natural light and clothes storage and very clean. Great hotel restaurant for dinner, breakfast included was hot and continental buffet and great value. Bar has a great selection of cocktails, service is really friendly. Great outdoor pool and dining/sunbathing area. Location overlooking sea with walking distance to town and beach.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vraye16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for one night and it was lovely! Service was brilliant and they treated us as a priority as we needed dinner before they opened the restaurant as we were heading down to the BIC to a concert.Our room was perfect and had a balcony looking over the seaside and coast. Hairdryer in the room, always handy! All of the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The next day we walked to the next hotel and had massages; amazing! Again the staff are very welcoming and friendly. It was a relaxing experience and we would go back again and again!
Would happily stay at the hotel again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing