We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break holiday Mon - Wed in April”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Short break holiday Mon - Wed in April”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Lovely experience, especially as we were upgraded to a sea-view room with balcony.
Very friendly staff.
Breakfasts cater for everyone with a wide range of food types including gluten free cereals.
Shower/sink water could be hotter in the mornings when most customers want to shower.

Room Tip: 1. Taking a late shower, rather than early morning, seems to guarantee hot water. 2. Arrive early t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ray C,

Thank you for your review. Good to hear your stay was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon. For the latest offers, please visit our website direct or visit call us on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    1,096
    335
    127
    75
See reviews for
616
1,611
129
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Have just returned from 4 day stay at The Cumberland Hotel, as a solo traveller and much appreciated the excellent and pleasant service from all members of the staff. I booked for break and breakfast but added the evening meal and decided this was a good decision as I found the
restaurant very pleasant and again the service was excellent, both for breakfast and dinner.

I was fortunate we had a couple of lovely days and I was even able to enjoy an afternoon drink sitting out on the terrace. I don't usually 'do' lifts but as I was on the 4th floor I decided to make use of the lift, which although only small, was fine.

I have stayed at quite a number of hotels in Bournemouth over the years, both with my late husband and our family and I feel I have found a lovely hotel to which I can happily return,
knowing I can enjoy a pleasant break. My only disappointment was with the room and being able to hear the next room's telephone and t.v. etc.

Thank you The Cumberland and when I next book I will take note to book a sea view and balcony room, which will no doubt add to the pleasure.

Room Tip: a sea view must be a much added bonus and worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186340jean186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear 186340jean186340,

Thank you for your review. Most constructive review, and we are very pleased it was a delightful experience for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon, so please check our website or call direct on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Went here with friends, even though none of us were staying here, we were welcome into their pool area which offered drinks and food! Excellent cocktails and we had the afternoon tea, which was delicious and I highly recomment it! Cocktails are also on offer 2 for £10 between certain times too. We spent a very sunny and warm day lazing by the pool area and were never made to feel unwelcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Beckie211,

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you had a good time visiting us.

we look forward seeing you soon again to enjoy those cocktails.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

stayed at this hotel on the 27th April 2014 so pleased we found this hotel, staff so helpful couldn't do enough for you, the outside of the hotel does not do justice to the inside, the best breakfast I have had in a hotel and I have stayed in quite a few over the years, piping hot beautifully cooked and hot plates perfect, we also dined in the Ventana restaurant in the evening once again beautifully cooked and presented, very good staff nothing was to much trouble and very smart,
nice bedroom very clean and the icing on the cake Union Jack Flags on roof and front of hotel.
Well done Cumberland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Susan186258,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic to hear you experience was excellent.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please visit our website direct or call us on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our first stay at the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality offered by the hotel staff. They was courteous and prompt. Our room keys were not working properly on a couple of occasions and they promptly changed it without any delay. The hotel has excellent restaurants and provides amazing view of the sea from the suite. The rooms are quite well maintained and well stacked with all modern amenities, so no complains!
It has a really small lift which fits only 3 people, I thought that was cute but many might find that inconvenient, especially if you are staying on the top floor.

Room Tip: Opt for the sea facing suite/room - it is value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Heena M,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please visit our website direct or call us on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here from 25th - 27th April in a room (313) with a Sea view and balcony. The view from the room was beautiful.
The room was well decorated, all very clean. Bathroom had bath and shower. The Sink looked as though it could do with being updated but everything else was in fantastic condition.
The overall look of the hotel restaurants etc. was very high class.
Breakfast was lovely, so much choice and very friendly, welcoming, helpful staff.
We loved staying here and are already planning our next weekend away and will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view!! Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhouse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear madhouse5,

Thank you for your review. Great to read your kind comments regarding the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers please visit our website direct or call us on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cumberland Hotel for just one night I wish we could have stayed longer. The receptionist was charming which is always a good start to a visit. We were offered and accepted a reasonable upgrade to the themed Manhattan room. It was really special mainly because of the large balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. It was raining most of the time we were there which was unfortunate but we sat out on the balcony without getting wet and the views were amazing. The room was large and very comfortable. We ate in the dining room, the waiting staff were very attentive, the food good so no complaints there. The hotels public places are lovely all Art Deco . I will most definitely return to this hotel and hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing