We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I recently booked a 2 night stay here for our wedding anniversary. I found a great deal on Travelzoo offering half board with a 3 course set menu. Upon arriving I was able to park right outside the entrance and we quickly checked in and got to our room. A standard room is basic but includes all you need for a short stay including Tea/Coffee making facilities, plenty of wardrobe space and hangars, flatscreen TV and plenty of fresh towels. The decor is good although the furniture is a bit dated but I think they in the process of replacing this. If you require an iron and ironing board just ask at or call reception and they'll bring it to your room. Above all is was spotlessly clean which is always the most important aspect to us.

The deal I got was amazing value and we were offered a free drinks voucher for a Tea/Coffee or Prosecco at the bar. The evening meal was excellent with a choice of 5 to 6 options for each course. The 1st night I had the Pork Loin and my wife had the Braised Steak both of which were excellent. Vegetables were served separately in a dish and the portion was ample. I had the Duck Salad starter on one evening and Trout Salad on the next both of which were fresh, well cooked and delicious. The only slight niggle was the in insistence on serving watercress as garnish with everything, which is fine but it was beginning to look a bit past its best. I would suggest asking for butter for your roll as they serve spread in a dish during dinner.

The breakfast was amongst the best I've had which includes all the usual cooked offerings including both scrambled and fried eggs.they quickly replace the food so it's always hot and fresh. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast and juice is offered. The juice is the usual watered down variety but I wouldn't of expected real juice for what we paid. Overall the breakfast was great and I really looked forward to it.

The staff were helpful and friendly and the decor and surroundings nice. the bar has 2 distinct areas, one a relaxing lounge with sofas and the other a more trendy type with chairs and stools. Drinks were reasonable, typically £4 for most shorts with mixers, wine and beer. Worthington's Smooth is served alongside Fosters and a premium lager. I had a Havana Club and diet coke on the 2nd evening this only cost 30p more. There's an outdoor area with seats by the swimming pool but this was not in use this early in the season.

The location of the hotel is on the East Overcliff Drive which is a road running along the top of the cliff overlooking the beach. There are many hotels located here. The Suncliff Hotel (sister hotel) is available next door and offers leisure facilities etc but we didn't get the time to check this out. You can walk down to the beach via steep zig-zag path or stroll down the hill at a more leisurely pace. It's about a 15 minute walk to the pier/town centre.

All in all a great couple of days and the weather was great too! We definitely plan on returning to Bournemouth which has so much to offer and is a lovely place to visit. I would thoroughly recommend the Cumberland hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    1,096
    335
    127
    75
See reviews for
616
1,611
129
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here last night for Moreno's 40th birthday party. Aside from the party itself (which was fab), we were very impressed with the professionalism of all the hotel staff, from the welcome on our arrival, throughout the party, at breakfast and on departure. Our room had a sea view and was very large (not sure if all the rooms are same size?) although it did smell a little when we first arrived (damp maybe?) but we opened all the windows and the smell seemed to fade. The room was very well equipped with plenty of mirrors and good lighting, and a hair dryer and plug right by a mirror (makes a change)! We will definitely return to the Cumberland are tempted to find a good reason to hold a party there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynneyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Lynneyvette,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding you stay and we are very pleased you enjoyed the birthday party.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary upgraded to sea view & balcony, worth every penny wonderful four poster bed, very large room & bathroom. Peaceful nights sleep never heard a thing. The weather wasn't great but that's typical for England I suppose. Would highly recommend this hotel on the wow factor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Thetowns,

Thank you for your review. A pleasing review to read. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon. For the latest offers, please visit our website or call us direct on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First time in this hotel and certainly NOT the last. The Cumberland is much better than a 3 star hotel. Dinner in the Mirabelle for £22.95 per head was great value and the quality of the food was magnificent. Every member of staff, from check-in to departure were warm, friendly and helpful. The whole hotel was clean and well maintained. The only down side was the lack of hot water, even after running the hot taps in the bathroom foe 10 minutes, the water was bearly hot enough for a shower (without any cold water)!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

For the latest offers please visit our website or call the reservations direct on 01202-2980350. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a night over the bank holiday weekend. We checked into one of the inner rooms at 2:30 and on entering found it to be too hot, the air inside was so heavy that I felt suffocated. We tried opening the two windows in the room but they didn't budge. My husband called the front desk and they sent someone after 15 min. The person who came in called our room a sauna. He managed to open the smaller of the two windows and said the other would require more time. He came back only to return 2 hrs. later with a small table fan. He couldn't get the other window to open. All this while we waited in the room. The table fan had poor through and I had a fairly sleepless night on a bed whose springs dug into my sides as I tried to sleep. I next morning I thought would be an end to my ordeal as we were checking out but alas no. When I went to take a bath, I found that there was a problem with the plumbing system. The water on the bath setting would run cold and on switching to shower was scalding hot. I burnt myself a couple of times, before attempting to complete my bath with one of the glasses provided in the bathroom for water. To say I had a terrible morning was an understatement.
The only consolation in this was the breakfast which was a complete English style breakfast buffet style.
We made a complaint to the lady at checkout who promptly made us speak to the duty manager, wo apologised and explained that they will soon be upgrading their taps and promised to make out stay more comfortable if we stayed with them again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Surabhi_Shori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Surabhi_Shori,

Thank you for you review. I was actually the person who dealt with you on check-out. As I mentioned to you personally, a sincere apologies for the errors in your stay. The maintenance engineer actually didn't realise your urgency for a fan, and so he carried on with other jobs, so apologies for the wait. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstance the window needed a new part, therefore could not be opened. We are glad you reported it, and I am glad to say that both the issues you reported are now both working just fine.
We are grateful for comments whether they constructive criticism or even a complaint, as this helps us improve our product.
I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and if memory serves me right you did enjoy the hotel as hole.

Please contact me directly when or if you wish to book with us again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It's a nice and clean sea facing hotel with good basic amenities. The breakfast spread was decent but quite an issue for vegetarians. As my husband is a vegetarian, One of the days a staff member was kind enough to get something made of soya but the next day the other staff member refused.
All in all a good experience and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
724 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Their main restaurant, Mirabelle, is an excellent place for Sunday Lunch. I would advise booking as it was busy the day we went. Fixed price £17.95 for three courses and coffee. Excellent choices of well cooked fare. No rush by the pleasant and attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your lunch. We are very pleased it was an enjoyable experience for you.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing