We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost our booking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Lost our booking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed her for 2 nights on a spring break DBB deal. On arrival, we couldn't find anywhere to park in their modest sized car park. We later discovered that there is limited additional parking at their sister hotels. This might be a problem in peak season.
On checking in, we were told that there was no record of our booking, even though we had pre-paid. Luckily they had a spare room, but there was more than a suggestion that we had made a mistake and gone to the wrong hotel or confused dates even though we had written confirmation. A less than confidant person might have become very upset at this.

The cliff top location was good and an easy walk to the town and seafront.

Our room with a car park view was compact but fine for our short stay.

The food was perfectly acceptable but not very exciting and very much designed for mass-catering for conferences and coach parties.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Angu5,

Thank you for your review. Firstly my sincere apologies for the confusion on your arrival regarding the booking. I have spoken to the front office manager who remembers dealing with you. Your booking was made for correct day, as per your confirmation, but in human error the booking was moved to another date. Our property management system has recently been upgraded, and undergone a complete over-haul, which meant that future bookings in our previous system had to be manually imputed/ transferred to our new system. This has caused some teething problems, but am glad to say that only a handful of errors occurred. Sadly your booking was one for these few. I am glad the front desk managed to correct the error and the wait was quickly dealt with.

I am pleased you found the hotel good in other regards.

We do hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,667
    1,067
    329
    122
    75
See reviews for
591
1,542
127
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

What better place to enjoy Sunday Lunch amidst the most stunning Art Deco setting of the Cumberland Hotel on the East Cliff Bournemouth.
Lunch was enjoyed at the fine Mirabelle Restaurant where the service and attention to detail was provided by Vicente Marttiuisi, Restuarant Supervisor.
For starters there was the choice of Refreshing Fruit Plate, (Mango, Raspberry Coulis), Smoked Salmon, Pear with Stilton or Vegetable Soup. These were all served with excellent presentation from the Chef.
Many course provided the very difficult choice of Roast Rib Eye of Beef, Honey Glazed Pork Loin, Traditional Roast Lamb, Grilled Delice of Salmon or for the vegetarian, Mushroom and Spinach Medley. All dishes were served with seasonal vegetables and potatoes.
If you have room for the desert there is the choice of Shortbread Banoffe Pie, Homemade Dorset Apple Cake or Chocolate and Orange Torte with Chantilly cream.

It was a most superb sunny day which made this excellent hotel look even more attractive. Coffee was taken on the Terrace with the appealing site of the swimming pool but after such a feast an afternoon dip was certainly out of the question!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscolledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear chriscolledge,

Thank you for you review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Chef along with Vincente will be pleased to read you comments.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRUSSELS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at The Cumberland for 3 nights to attend a birthday party.
Usually we choose 4 and 5 star hotels so were a bit skeptical but were very pleasantly surprised.
Although we stayed in a standard room with no view, the room was clean and very comfortable (more lighting would be appreciated).
The staff was extremely pleasant and friendly and helpfull.
The food in the restaurant, the afternoon tea and the snacks at the party were absolutely excellent. Breakfast was very good although being from the continent I missed rolls iso of just toast.
Managers were Always around which clearly helped to maintain an good service level.
Nice pool and basic but nice beauty salon (excellent Babor products!) in the nextdoor sister hotels.
For me an absolute 3*+ hotel if not a basic 4*.
Definetely recommended and we shall return!

Room Tip: Sea View Balcony rooms are very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear DFWJ,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your experience with us. We pride ourselves in offering above standard to what is expected.

We look forward welcoming you back soon. Please check our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've just spent a long weekend in the Cumberland Hotel. Second visit here. It did not disappoint. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is of a very good standard. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The Art Deco theme is lovely. The location couldn't be better. I will definitely stay here again. Can't wait. Love it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear jules2714,

Thank you for your review. Gald your stay was enjoyable. The staff you read TA will be pleased to read such a positive review.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please visit our website or call our reservations direct on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent welcome at a Reception. Given limited information about the Hotel. Room on the 4th floor and only one small lift. The room is a standard double and was certainly economic with toiletries and touches for the Guest. The room itself classifies this Hotel as no more than 3 star and in my view have been in better rooms from the big hotel chains at half the price. Room quite small but burdened with 2 large chairs that make negotiation around the room limited.
Dined at the restaurant first night.Fixed 3 course menu - ok nothing more. However the service was excellent. As a single traveller I was giving a rickety table of poor quality which I wouldn't use for a barbecue! Breakfast is average, the cooked breakfast did not look that appetising. Limited fresh fruit and my pet hate coffee from a waiter which usually tastes stewed. Put at table with limited light although carrying a newspaper. Art Deco in restaurant and has a nice ambience.
Leisure facilities? Gym in next door hotel the Suncliff. The gym has only 3 machines that are serviceable and the machines that work are in need of maintenance. This area is a health and safety nightmare though I expect seldom used because of the elderly age of the clientele. ( most residents were 65 plus)
Pool area good and the bar and cafe nice but service is under pressure at busy times.
Car parking is available but the Hotel holds events both day and night limiting parking space.
Location good with bus stop outside for Boscombe and Christchurch.
Lesson for me don't book standard rooms at 3 star hotels at 100 pounds plus a night, at the Cumberland I was and am disappointed with the accommodation. The balcony rooms with a sea view look worth the investment.
The trouble with Internet booking is that you take a risk, could do with feedback from the Hotels about accommodation before pushing the booking button.
However the weather is good so don't have to spend too much time in my limited pokey room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear rockyrob,

Thank you for your review. Your review is very constructive, and will be investigated on. We have different standards of rooms as you have put, our Sea Views are superior and are more spacious. In the tourism industry it is supply and demand so the rates fluctuate. In quieter times prices are low, and peak busier times the price is high. We are a traditional hotel and we run as a traditional hotel. Other hotels, that are more corporate based, example such as Radisson Blu, lend themselves to more corporate clients, knowing the guests spend more time in the room than using the facilities such as a nice comfortable lounge. We have many corporate guests that book with us, and love us as we are down to earth going the extra mile for all our guests.

My apologies about the rickety table, but overall I think you did enjoy the hotel

I hope we have a chance of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Hotel reminded me of the typical British seaside hotel meets french riviera. I can see why people like it but it was not for my taste, so I will be fair in my observations.

Great location, on the waterfront, beautiful views if you get a room with a view. Some rooms look over the back/side of the hotel.

Rooms are dated, the showers are poor and when the heating comes off it leaves a burning smell almost like someone has smoked in the room. The TV are small and the picture was blurry on all channels even after playing about with the signal. The internet was free and decent quality. The elevator was very very small, they say suitable for 3 persons but I would say one person. The rooms are also very noisy it is quite easy to hear the next door neighbour turning the pages of his newspaper it was that bad.

The staff, all foreign, Spanish nationals, although polite I found myself having to repeat myself or slow down what I was saying so that they understand.

The food in the bar was excellent, especially the Orange Cheesecake, probably the best desert i have ever had, however the breakfast was awful, minimal selection, cheap quality bacon that was more like ham, sausages that looked like they had been there since the 1940's, watery coffee and hard beans.

This hotel is fairly expensive and I do believe that they are punching above there weight. Hugely over priced for the dated rooms and sloppy breakfast. This hotel to me is a shining example of the deterioration of the golden days when people actually travelled to the seaside.

This hotel is probably popular with the older generation that were a part of that era but for anyone other than that I would not suggest this hotel.

I would not stay here again nor recommend it but I sure would go back for that cheesecake.

Room Tip: bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Josh839,

Thank you for you review. Some positive and some not so positive remarks in your review. We have different standards of rooms, and for the quality we offer I think we are value for money. Yes the lift is on the cosy side, but this part of the quirks staying here. It is inherited, and would be bit engineering and constructional project to change. We do have an alternative lift for service, so the lift if for guest only. Your comment on Spanish nationals, as like most/all hotels, the staff are cosmopolitan. We actually have about 2 Spanish working here though.

Very pleased you enjoyed the cheesecake, it is actually very good.

perhaps we will be able to welcome you back sometime again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Accidentally came across this gem as a result of a nightmare in a spa hotel nearby. The Cumberland to the rescue. Beautiful Deco gem. Hilarious outdoor pool, can't imagine it is ever used. Expect Poirot around every tilted corner. Food generous and good, bar well stocked. Love it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor good, inside good decor but can be noisy if an event on although free ear plugs available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing