We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No hot water !!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here for one night last Thursday. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean, but they only have limited parking but we did managed to squeeze into a space but we did arrive a lot earlier than the checking in time. The thing that ruined my stay here was there was no hot water, I tried to shower at 6.45 in the morning, when I told the reception there reply was there must of been a lot of people checking out at this time. Im glad I only stopped there for one night if its a lottery to get a hot bath or shower. I wont be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Sharon H,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased your stay was enjoyable. I am sorry that you were unable to get hot water. We had a slight fault on the boiler, and it was quickly rectified after we had some mentions on the front desk. It seemed one boiler managed to turn itself off, thankfully was not a major issue, unfortunately it was the early risers that were affected. So my apologies for this. It was with your comment with reception that made us look into the situation, so thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call us direct on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,766
    1,111
    338
    130
    76
See reviews for
627
1,626
134
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at hotel April 2014 great location, staff fantastic,. Hotel very up to date, Lovely to have wedding their with the outside pool, Would think you were aboard. When booking the hotel nothing was too much trouble for Hena (Lego deals with group bookings) she was excellent, knowledge of the area, where to go etc. the spa facilities where next door but this was not a probe land once again the service was excellent. We had food in the restaurant on the first night, it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time. Will return. Thank you

Room Tip: Sea front triple room we stayed in but outr party all had great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My 3 golfing friends and I based ourselves at the Cumberland for two nights stay in mid May 2014. We were a little wary of the hotel in advance of our arrival because, as we were a group of men, they asked for £100 deposit each, in case of damage to the room - however when it was explained that we were four 60 yr olds on a golf trip and not a stag party, they rescinded their request.
The hotel itself, looks nothing from the outside, but inside it is Art Deco - very pleasant indeed - with a great Restaurant - Mirabelle - which I recommend. We tried to get into Escoffier - which is walking distance from the hotel - but it was fully booked with a waiting list. I had been recommended this restaurant, but unfortunately,i forgot to book. If you want to try different restaurants it will require a car or taxi as the hotel is located away from the centre.
The hotel overlooks the sea and has a pool/sunbathing area which has a wall which stops any views of the sea - but it has to be said, it does allow privacy from the main road.
The staff are very helpful, although some of the Russian bar staffs, use of English is somewhat limited and the service is slow.
On our second night there was a drag act in one of the rooms downstairs, which was sold out. not our cup of tea, but the hotel does try to provide entertainment.
The rooms were functional - if a little tired - but we only used them for sleeping in.
The only criticism is the lift, which only holds 3 and takes forever. Recommendation, therefore , if you're getting on in years, go for rooms on the 1st Floor as the 4th is a hike up the stairs.
Would I use the hotel again and would it be good enough to take my wife? Yes to both.

Room Tip: seaview on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staffsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear staffsjc,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased your experience was an enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a meeting. The hotel has a great Art Deco feel, the room was a nice contrast in black and white, very clean, and the bed was comfortable.

Dinner was good, although I thought the price a little on the expensive side for a fixed menu. On saying that, it was plentiful and we'll presented. Breakfast again was plentiful and enjoyable.

Throughout the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarcBurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear MarcBurge,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased it was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates, please visit our website or our reservations on 01202-298350.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed her for 2 nights on a spring break DBB deal. On arrival, we couldn't find anywhere to park in their modest sized car park. We later discovered that there is limited additional parking at their sister hotels. This might be a problem in peak season.
On checking in, we were told that there was no record of our booking, even though we had pre-paid. Luckily they had a spare room, but there was more than a suggestion that we had made a mistake and gone to the wrong hotel or confused dates even though we had written confirmation. A less than confidant person might have become very upset at this.

The cliff top location was good and an easy walk to the town and seafront.

Our room with a car park view was compact but fine for our short stay.

The food was perfectly acceptable but not very exciting and very much designed for mass-catering for conferences and coach parties.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Angu5,

Thank you for your review. Firstly my sincere apologies for the confusion on your arrival regarding the booking. I have spoken to the front office manager who remembers dealing with you. Your booking was made for correct day, as per your confirmation, but in human error the booking was moved to another date. Our property management system has recently been upgraded, and undergone a complete over-haul, which meant that future bookings in our previous system had to be manually imputed/ transferred to our new system. This has caused some teething problems, but am glad to say that only a handful of errors occurred. Sadly your booking was one for these few. I am glad the front desk managed to correct the error and the wait was quickly dealt with.

I am pleased you found the hotel good in other regards.

We do hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What better place to enjoy Sunday Lunch amidst the most stunning Art Deco setting of the Cumberland Hotel on the East Cliff Bournemouth.
Lunch was enjoyed at the fine Mirabelle Restaurant where the service and attention to detail was provided by Vicente Marttiuisi, Restuarant Supervisor.
For starters there was the choice of Refreshing Fruit Plate, (Mango, Raspberry Coulis), Smoked Salmon, Pear with Stilton or Vegetable Soup. These were all served with excellent presentation from the Chef.
Many course provided the very difficult choice of Roast Rib Eye of Beef, Honey Glazed Pork Loin, Traditional Roast Lamb, Grilled Delice of Salmon or for the vegetarian, Mushroom and Spinach Medley. All dishes were served with seasonal vegetables and potatoes.
If you have room for the desert there is the choice of Shortbread Banoffe Pie, Homemade Dorset Apple Cake or Chocolate and Orange Torte with Chantilly cream.

It was a most superb sunny day which made this excellent hotel look even more attractive. Coffee was taken on the Terrace with the appealing site of the swimming pool but after such a feast an afternoon dip was certainly out of the question!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscolledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear chriscolledge,

Thank you for you review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Chef along with Vincente will be pleased to read you comments.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRUSSELS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at The Cumberland for 3 nights to attend a birthday party.
Usually we choose 4 and 5 star hotels so were a bit skeptical but were very pleasantly surprised.
Although we stayed in a standard room with no view, the room was clean and very comfortable (more lighting would be appreciated).
The staff was extremely pleasant and friendly and helpfull.
The food in the restaurant, the afternoon tea and the snacks at the party were absolutely excellent. Breakfast was very good although being from the continent I missed rolls iso of just toast.
Managers were Always around which clearly helped to maintain an good service level.
Nice pool and basic but nice beauty salon (excellent Babor products!) in the nextdoor sister hotels.
For me an absolute 3*+ hotel if not a basic 4*.
Definetely recommended and we shall return!

Room Tip: Sea View Balcony rooms are very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear DFWJ,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your experience with us. We pride ourselves in offering above standard to what is expected.

We look forward welcoming you back soon. Please check our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing