We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault in anyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived early for a 2 night stay, reception staff very friendly, as we were early the receptionist took us for a tour of the ground floor dining rooms, lounges etc, showed us where to get lunch if we required it. The public rooms were all smart, clean and tidy and well decorated.

As the hotel overlooks the sea, we had decided to pay extra to book a sea view room, we had a nice large room on the 4th floor, with a balcony with table and chairs on it. The room had plenty of storage space a triple wardrobe, a giant size bed, a separate wardrobe/luggage cupboard. Table, with kettle, various drink sachets, biscuits. Also about 6 mirrors in the room, everywhere but the ceiling. A large bathroom.

We had booked half board, the breakfast is the biggest selection of items I have ever seen in any hotel in the world, fruit juices ( not watered down like some hotels) every type of cereal, pastries and cakes, a massive selection of cooked breakfast all hot and refilled as necessary, yogurts, seeds, toast machine, and unlimited waitress served hot drinks, plus I am sure I have missed lots.

Dinner was superb, my wife is a very fussy eater, so I was worried there would not be anything on the menu she would try, but she had no problem in picking something, and we both were really full and she thought it was the best hotel food ever, like most hotels now the staff were from various countries, but plenty serving in the restaurant and every one in the hotel was courteous and pleasant and willing to help in anyway.

The hotel has a nice outside heated pool with a lot of seating around, or you can use the hotel next door indoor swimming pool.

So all in all a wonderful break, and I would advise anyone, if possible book a sea view with balcony room, it is certainly worth the extra and the 4th floor was very quiet.

I just wish more English seaside hotels were of the same standard, it would do the tourist trade some good. Also Bournemouth is a delightful town, I had not been there for years not as run down as most seaside resorts, also have a ride on the funicular railway down to the lower promenade, it is just a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have the benefit of nobody above and was quiet, and sea view rooms have a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,885 - 1,891 of 3,592 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I left the Cumberland today, not even home yet but I wanted to write a review before I forgot.

My partner and I stayed for five nights and on the whole it was a wonderful experience; the hotel was beautiful, we loved the use of the pool and lido area (the sun was glorious, felt as though we were abroad) the staff could not do enough for us, the food was divine (we had lunch and dinner there twice) and the cocktails were a personal favourite of mine!!

We were in room 415 and although being a small double it was well sized, decorated nicely and as it faced the inside of the hotel it was nice and quiet. The one issue we had was the room was quiet stuffy and humid, though reception did bring us a fan up within minutes of us requesting one. I was a a bit worried about the shower as I'd read a couple of comments about it in reviews, at first it was tricky to get the right temperature but once we did it was powerful!

We've both said that we'll definitely come back - I'm already planning a trip for myself and my sister in August. I'd recommend The Cumberland to anyone!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a very good internet deal so booked it even though it wasn't a sea view room. For 2 nights and I day, it would be fine. The 4th floor room overlooked the car park; OK ish. The room was spotless but small. Worse was the terrible noise from a fan outside the bedroom window. How would we sleep? We went to see the Duty Manager who told us it was the fan in the kitchen and would would go off at 9 pm. When it didn't, he sorted it immediately and was very helpful. The 2nd night it was on until midnight! Breakfast and the one dinner we had were excellent. Lovely pool area. Would definitely go back but to a different room.

Room Tip: Not a back room adjacent to pipes from kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalLady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Cumberland for two nights in the middle of June, as I was attending a froend's party. The function room was superb - lights, stage, and service excellent. We all thought they did very well with the food - it was delicious. The service was fantastic (I think the staff loved our entertainment!) I loved my little room, Marilyn Monroe. It was small, but had everything. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the breakfast lovely and I would definitely return here another time!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorTayEgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I (Me, my wife and three boys) stayed at The Cumberland over the weekend of 7th and 8th June this year. We were fortunate to have a family room overlooking the sea. The room itself was large enough to cater for us and was clean and tidy. Granted the fifth bed was a temporary, put-u-up type but I have to say, all of the beds were very comfy. The bathroom was clean and everything was well presented. In terms of the room, the only minor point was that despite it being a family room, there were only two towels and not enough mugs or tea and coffee for us all. That being said, the hotel staff put nearly all of that right very quickly, except for the extra tea/coffee/hot chocolate but that was the only gripe.

We had booked dinner as well as breakfast and it was truly a delight to dine in. The fod was delicious, quickly served and wonderfully presented. We treated ourselves to a posh bottle of wine and on top of all of this our three boys ate everything and were very well behaved- so much so another guest commented on them. It must have been the atmosphere and Art Deco style that chilled them out.

We didn't dare venture into the outdoor pool but others did and it certainly looked inviting but we felt it was a bit too cool for us - weather not the pool. We had the use of the adjacent hotel for swimming indoors and that too was great. Nice and warm for us Southern Softies..

Breakfast was a mix of continental and help yourself full English. We did help ourselves and once again all of us ate well and enjoyed the food.

Without a doubt this is a very nice hotel and one we would love to return to in the future. We were very lucky that this was a free trip for us. We will return but may be as couple for a special occasion rather than with all the tribe.

Thank you all for making our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful the staff are friendly and efficient.

I had my 40th birthday party here in the Oceana room which is a stunning room. The lighting in the room for the party was fab. Huge thanks to Brian for organising everything.

The hotel rooms are also lovely we paid the supplement for a sea view room overlooking the sea and pool which was stunning and felt like we were on holiday!

The outside pool area and seating/decking are very nice as is the lounge area outside the dining area

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and I would also recommend afternoon tea.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bournemouth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have Sunday at the Cumberland Hotel every Sunday excellent service good value for money great food three course`s its the best place for Sunday Lunch in Bournemouth you must try it you will find the Hotel on the East cliff in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing