We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Belle of Bournemouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Belle of Bournemouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have spent last Wednesday and Thursday nights as a quick impromptu break. Having tried a few hotels in Bournemouth, we now ALWAYS go back to The Cumberland. It is by far the best hotel in town! It's a fantastic Art Deco Hotel, which sets it apart from the rest. The staff are just amazing. We have not had one bad experience at there with anŷ member of staff. The cleaning ladies, the bar staff, reception, restaurant staff have always been so very friendly, polite, helpful and quite frankly fun to be with. We want to be able to have a chat no matter how brief if we are by the pool, in the lounge, at my dinner table, wherever, and we are never disappointed. We get a cheery "good morning" when we leave our room for breakfast from the cleaning ladies.
The rooms are so lovely and comfortable and clean. The pool is gorgeous and the flowers are lovely. The hotel lounge is great and both restaurants never fail to please!!
Being opposite Bournemouth beach up on the cliff is a treasure, you get the fabulous views without being on top of zillions of people. The Management have clearly got this place nailed, happy staff make for happy REPEAT clientele!!!
We are back in September for another break and we are really looking forward to it.
So once again Thank You Cumberland, for a brilliant break.

Room Tip: Try not to get on the side that is near the hotel next door as it can get noisy late at night when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer1945_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,673
    1,067
    329
    122
    75
See reviews for
592
1,547
127
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

stayed one night.great decor outside and inside,good friendly staff.very good aspect to the sea.the breakfast was exceptional,it had everthing,fruits pastries etc.but ,,parking a bit cramped but reasonable onstreet parking.the double bedroom was a bit small.would we stay again,definitely.would we recommend it again definitely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just arrived back home from a very pleasant weekend away in Bournemouth. We chose the Cumberland for the outdoor pool, in case the sun came out, which it did & made all the difference!
The breakfast was good. The pool & bar area was excellent, as was the service, faultless.
My main issue was the bedroom, which was disappointing. Our bed was 2 singles pushed together, not my vision of a double room. The shower was awful, no pressure & very difficult to get the temperature correct. All in all an enjoyable weekend but could do better. Nearly there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came to Bournemouth for our anniversary weekend in June. Our first impression of the hotel was really good. The hall looks like amazing and pool looks really good. So we could score it 5 out of 5 at this time the things went down after that.

ROOM:
We have stayed in room 100 called Marilyn Monroe. The room is simply horrible. The entry to the room is straight out off stairways. So everyone using the stairs literally passing your room. There is not chance for good sleep over weekend. In my personal opinion this room should not exist because of location. Secondly it supposed to be a double room I would say it is a big single with small double bed. There is not space at all in the room. Cleanliness looks good at the first glance but after a bit you could see that it is not really good for 3 stars hotel. There was a lot of dusk on windows and bathroom is over by mould (bottom of the shower). View from the window is horrible which is a massive problem as well.

Parking space
You could use parking space of all of 3 hotels which is good thing. Unfortunately there is really limited number of them. The good thing is you could park on road for free from 6 pm until 9 am.

Pool
Pool is really good. We had really nice weather and we enjoyed it so much that is definitely good point.

Breakfast
Breakfast was really good as well. There is nice buffet with a good selection of food.

Service
Members of staff are nice and always happy to help. Good job and thanks for them.

OVERALL:
If we would like to stay in the hotel again ?? Maybe buy in the better room. Hotel is quite good but room was awful. I hope other rooms are better, We have booked our room through lastminute.com and room does not full fill description of standard double room. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaroslaw Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jaroslaw Z,

Thank you for your review. A constructive review regarding your stay. We have different size rooms, and are graded according inly. As for the room housekeeping, this will be brought up with the housekeeper.
Overall I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back someday.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned for a four day stay, there was no information regarding entertainments , if this is needed next door is the place to be, with poor choice for evening meal, chanced it once, to be told "starters not recommended" was asked to pay for two or three courses even if only taking one. Left without taking any, Mc donnalds in the town came to our rescue .Shower hot water was cold , this was fixed the next day, but the smell of cigarette smoke grew over the next days into bathroom, again this was refreshed after report,have to request bath mat? So beware may be slippy, if reading this a suggestion that the shower curtains are in adequate, suggest changing to screen's, as water passes curtains onto floor.good comments? The breakfast menu is very good, a little strange seated system, buffet style, one cup cold coffee, or pot's tea, very good selection choice of food. Wi-fi only available in bar area as with most hotels, bit tricky to navigate around the hotel internet site, overall , not 100% seemed to concentrate on events, weddings/etc, would only return if free.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for sea view room, be prepared to go next door for entertainments and cheaper eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear david h,

Thank you for your review, however negative. Your review left us a bit speechless because I felt myself scratching my head at some of your comments. Firstly regarding information about entertainment. We print a listing of what's going on in our sister hotels, which is placed in reception. further enquiries, we invite people to ask the front desk.
Dining options, we have two restaurants in the Cumberland. The Ventana Grand Cafe, an a-la-carte menu and the Mirabelle Restaurant, a prixe-fixe menu. A-la-carte, is a menu that you can choose whichever item as each are priced individually. The prixe-fixe menu, is a set price for the menu. We receive numerous compliments regarding our meals and in fact our Ventana is a 2AA rosette. So we have a choice for everyone.
The shower curtains are a pre-emptive measure to prevent most of the water going onto the floor. For sure if you have the shower head facing directly onto it, so when taps on full flow it's going to seep through. They are not screens.
Regarding the seating, this is an odd comment. We seat all guests and explain the set-up, this is a basic requirement of a 3* hotel.

Perhaps you will try us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Despite a few negative points, we enjoyed our 2 night stay here, in glorious weather. It is about a 15 minute walk in to the town but a nice walk along the cliff top. The City sightseeing bus stops right outside hotel and there is a lift down to the beach not too far from hotel. Lovely furnishings in all public areas and an impressive wall of celebrity photos of those who have stayed here. The best thing about the hotel is the lovely swimming pool, warm enough to swim in comfortably and the sunbeds were comfy too, although we would not be prepared to pay £50 to use one of the chill out beds!! We had a sea view room with balcony which was lovely for views but only just big enough to sit on. The room was quite warm so had to leave balcony door open all night. The bad bits: on check in we were sent to room no 406 but on arriving on 4th floor there was no room with that no. It turned out we were in the Red Room, but sadly our card key didn't work so a trip back to reception for it to be sorted. Room smelt smoky so housekeeping came up to inspect, opened windows and gave us a can of air freshener! Note to smokers: don't be so selfish as to contaminate the air and furnishings where non-smokers might also be staying. The safe at bottom of wardrobe was not bolted in so actually provided no security! Tap in bathroom broken. Very low bed in the room with one hard pillow and one very thin pillow so not comfortable. The bar waiter service to extreme areas of the pool was a bit hit and miss and the one pool toilet at the side of the building was broken. Also had to navigate around a wet floor bollard and lots of seat cushions to get in the loo. (These are all things that can be easily sorted.)
Back to positive points: pool towels provided to guests. Good selection of hot and cold food at breakfast, but beware of leaving food unattended if sitting outside by the pool as the seagulls are out there waiting! Lol. Staff all pleasant. We would return here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from spending another two weeks at this hotel and once again it did not disappoint. Although we had a small issue on arrival it was dealt with very promptly and professionally by Gaetano. His approach is very "Hands on" and with a can do attitude which was observed over the two week period. He was always very happy and attentive. The variety of options for breakfast had something to suit everyones taste. The cocktails and food at the Ventana restaurant within this hotel are exceptional. The lido experience is just like being abroad. We can't wait to return later in the year :)

Room Tip: We have stayed in the standard double room for one night and this would be fine but for longer stays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCNC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#41 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing