We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night special offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1 night special offer”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here on a special one night offer. For what we paid it was a really good experience. We paid a little extra for a sea facing room which was worth it. The communal areas were really nice and very art deco. Our room was ok but the bathroom could do with modernising and was pretty basis with a shower curtain over a bath. Meal was lovely and breakfast pretty standard. Staff were very welcoming. Had a treatment in their sister hotel next door which was quite expensive. Had an outside pool which our room overlooked but it was too cold to go im. Drinks were pretty expensive in their bar. Overall was ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process, and it is continuous at revamping bedrooms. It is on going, but glad the food and service was good for you. Our prices are competitive with the same standard bars in the area, and we do promotions throughout the year.

We hope that you will visit us again soon. Please visit our website or call us direct on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    1,118
    345
    130
    77
See reviews for
636
1,638
134
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nearly gets a 4 from me. Good location handy for centre of Bournemouth.
The art deco public areas were attractive and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We took a superior room which was spacious with a balcony and seaview. Decor was a little quirky and room/balcony could have done with a refresh. Lift is tiny. Good buffet breakfast was included and we enjoyed a couple of evening meals in restaurant. 2 for 1 offer on meals was excellent value but drink prices in bar were excessive. A nice stay but with a little more investment and care this hotel could be very good.

Room Tip: Would recommend a superior room with balcony/seaview for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritRich750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear BritRich750,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your recent stay was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again, please visit our website or call our reservations team on 01202-298350 for the latests offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Once again we had an amazing weekend, Brian Robbins our events manager made sure our weekend was a success. Food is excellent, staff are very friendly and helpful. The total ambience of the hotel is great, with lovely rooms overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: rooms with a terrace are especially good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear JeanK18,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased your Ladies Festival was a success. Thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward welcoming you back next year, hopefully.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked the Cumberland for my 60th birthday and wedding on the 7 June this year. I can't recommend this hotel enough! Lisa my wedding co-ordinator was terrific and the whole day flowed without any hitches. The food was fabulous and the staff pleasant and very efficient. Nearly all my friends guests have said it was the best wedding they have been to. Praise indeed! Well done Cumberland and thank you so much for making our day so special.
Marilyn and Jim

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Maz382,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your wedding event. We are pleased it all went so well for you, and it was a memorable and enjoable day.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

For a 3* we couldn't fault it. We went on an amazon deal so it included breakfast, 3 course (fixed menu) dinner on all nights we stayed & 2 spa treatments. As a mum of a 10month old baby the spa treatments were a godsend. I was very grateful to the spa manager trying to fit me in on my preferred day, especially as I left it really late to book (the day I arrived!). So thank you! The masseuse was great and I left feeling very relaxed.

The waiting staff at breakfast & dinner were friendly & helpful, with one in particular (my son made a new friend during our stay!) - she was very attentive with our needs. Breakfast selections were vast and there were 4 options to choose from per course on the dinner menu.

Our room was a very good size, although the mattresses were a little worse for wear. That said it was quickly rectified by management and were swapped for a slightly better set. If there was one criticism for this place it would be to review and replace the mattresses in the rooms.

Overall though we thought this was a great 3* - facilities were good, lovely Art Deco interior, clean and bright.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcCullochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear TheMcCullochs,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that it all was enjoyable for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again, please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Cumberland with friends. The Hotel décor is art deco and beautifully designed. The Staff are well trained, friendly, polite, and helpful. We had a trip to the theatre and had to have an early dinner to achieve this. A word to the Maitre D and all was arranged. The food was delicious, served on hot plates. The restaurant was an excellent experience. An added bonus on this stay was our friend's birthday we asked for a cake and the chef produced a beautifully decorated and delicious cake. There is a well maintained pool with a decking area for sun loungers and drinks. Waiter service was provided. Our room overlooked the sea and was very clean and comfortable. This was our second visit and won't be our last. The one drawback is the limited parking, supplemented by pay parking across the road.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the superior rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear David A,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic comments regarding you stay with us. We are very pleased it was so enjoyable for you. Also pleased that chef and the restaurant manager pulled out the stops for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Spent a weekend here ..... room facing sea with balcony.... nice.
Hotel clean, smart tidy.
Staff, efficient friendly helpful.
Food excellent , plenty choices
Décor - liked the art deco
Only downside was the limited parking
Handy position - nice 10 minute brisk walk to centre of town.
Will be going back !

Room Tip: book early - pay extra to get view.......great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing