We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cumberland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$247
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Encore Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$98
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,742)
Filter reviews
3,742 results
Traveller rating
1,936
1,206
378
139
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,936
1,206
378
139
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decomirabelle restaurantbrian robbinssea viewsister hotel next dooroutdoor poolpublic areaschristmas partytravelzoo dealsunday lunchthree starthe cliffcar parkcourse dinnernight breakair showshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,982 - 1,987 of 3,742 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've been in this hotel as guest before and although as some other people states is a bit outdated, rooms are very comfortable and spacious and if you are lucky of being on the sea front side then it's a plus.

Breakfast and the service is very good too.

This time I came for a Sunday lunch and the 3 courses for £17.95 is good value for money and although the starter might look small, the main course was good portion and very good taste.

Whether you come for a meal or to stay, the Cumberland Hotel and the restaurant won't disappoint you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Becenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Becenuk,

Thank you for your review. Great compliments regarding your luncheon experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for three days. We had a room with a balcony with sea view. The hotel is Art Deco style a short walk from Bournemouth city centre. The experience was excellent. The pool area was very nice with a pool. The room was clean with very nice view and free wifi. The breakfast had enough to choose from. We had a dinner in the pub and that was also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Vestfolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Vestfolding,

Thank you for your review. Good to hear you that your experience was excellent.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers, please contact us directly on 01202-298350 or see our website. We guarantee the best rates booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at The Cumberland.
The whole stay was fantastic from start to finish.
We were booked in by Julia on the reception and she was so helpful and friendly. Her service set the tone for the hotel. There are plenty of staff to assist and the service is 1st class!
The food is of a very high standard and the breakfast offer is exceptional! So much choice and good quality food.
We were fortunate with the weather during our stay and took full advantage of the outdoor pool and great terrace area. Plenty of sun beds and seats and they even offered free chilled water to guests - a nice touch.
I highly recommend staying at this hotel and I look forward to returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJPAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear CJPAFC,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic comments regarding you stay with us. We are very pleased it was so enjoyable for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After a not very pleasant night in their sister hotel, The Cliffeside we spent 2 very nice night in The Cumberland. We didn't have a updated room, but it was large and spacious with a large bathroom too. The bed was as wide as it was long, a little hard and springy, but good enough to get a good nights sleep on. Although dated you could instantly relax. We had a side room, that still gave us good views over to Swanage.
All of the staff, and there were many of them, were polite, friendly and professional.
The swimming pool and outside area of the hotel is superb. Plenty of loungers, giant beanbags and beds. The area had waiters on hand to take any drinks and ice cream orders, it was clean, family friendly and felt safe.
The food was lovely, breakfast was ample and had nice touches such as veterinarian and vegan dishes ready to be served on the buffet alongside the more traditional bacon, eggs, etc. and you could if you wanted eat your breakfast outside next to the pool. An option taken by many as it was 20 degrees C at 8am.
Overall a very enjoyable stay which we will repeat next time we need to stay in Bournemouth. If you can treat yourself to an evening meal in the Ventana. You will be hard pushed to get a better meal in Bournemouth in nicer surroundings and it's value for money too.
It does show a flaw in the UK star ratting system. This hotel is miles ahead of most 3 star hotels in the town including it's own sister ones. I can only think that things like no safes in the room and no bathrobes and slippers are the type of thing holding this back from being a 4 star establishment.

Room Tip: Just book, you wont regret it
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyDaviesmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear AndyDaviesmd,

Thank you for your review. i am glad that your stay was turned around, and you managed to have a good stay. Great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers, please contact us directly on 01202-298350 or see our website. We guarantee the best rates booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

loved our stay,needed some time with friends and relaxation, definitely got it, Thank you!!!! i wish could have stayed longer but we all had other commitments, lovely food and drink and good chilled /house music, quiet atmosphere but still able to have a laugh and chat. hope to stay longer next time my favourite place xxxxx

Room Tip: up to you what you want/need
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Dear ellen e,

Thank you for your review. Superb feedback regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure reading such a review.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. We do guarantee the best rate when booking direct, so please call us on 01202-298350 or visit our website for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews