We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overnight stay 31/07/14. Room good size, clean and comfortable. Greatest asset staff, all very helpful, pleasant and cheerful. Weather during visit excellent so spent time around pool which was very clean and tidy. Dining experience, good choice, well presented and great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding you experience. Fantastic comments regarding the staff, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers please visit our website or call us on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    352
    130
    77
See reviews for
647
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We held our wedding at the Cumberland in early July.The wedding was absolutely wonderful! Lisa the Sales Manager is so efficient everything we asked she arranged so well. Lisa and the Manager Sean ran the event on the day and my husband and I had nothing to worry about as it was handled so well. All of Management and staff at the hotel are so professional the level of service of all the staff is outstanding. The wedding went exactly as we wanted it to and the food was delicious. All of our guests have commented on how good the hotel and food were. Many of our guests came from out of town so stayed at the hotel and their rooms were all of an extremely high standard. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a four poster bed and panoramic views of the sea. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to any one looking to hold a wedding or function.Thanks so much Lisa, Sean, Kevin and all the staff. Sadie & Ashley

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilersbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Sadie and Ashely,

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure! We trust your honeymoon was enjoyable.

Please visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff were so friendly and helpful particularly with my parents as they are disabled. However the lift was rather small so a bit of a problem. Weather was beautiful and the lovely pool and bar was a godsend. Only thing was the budget rooms we had were very hot, particularly mum and dads as the windows didn't open wide enough.Next time I think we'd have to do the upgrade for Mum and Dad. Our room was fine as it was a triple and had the 2 windows so managed to get enough through draft. Food was one of the best points. Great choice and very good quality again for the deal we had! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Triple rooms are cooler in the summer, as none of the budget rooms have A/C,(not sure about the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chrissiJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear chrissiJO,

Thank you for your review. Lovely feedback regarding your stay with us. A pleasing result for the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had our third stay in June. Much improved surroundings compared to April.

Very helpful staff. They go out their way to ensure that you get the best out of Cumberland and Bournemouth.

Spotless room Crispy clean bed linen. Excellent food. Fabulous views. Another memorable short break.

Mr & Mrs Malik

Room Tip: Higher floor, Luxury Sea- View rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malik19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Malik,

Thank you for your review. Such wonderful compliments regarding the hotel. Thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for 4 days in August 2014.

The hotel is clean, with basic rooms and a lovely pool and bar. The hotel is located on the cliff overlooking the beach although our view was of the car park. Not that it bothered us.

The rooms are clean although basic, our wardrobe door was broken and in need of some refurbishment. The bed was very uncomfortable even my young daughter complained about the springs.

The first night we were woken at 5am with continual banging of heavy doors and moving of what sounded like metal furniture. Unsure whether this was due to staff or other guests. The heavy doors close automatically and they are very loud.

The pool area, bar, communal areas and location are all excellent together with all the staff.

There is a lift down the cliff side to the beach £1.10 each way. A taxi from the pier cost £4.00-£5.00 and there are plenty available at the taxi rank.

The restaurant in the hotel I felt was a little over priced with a limited menu. I must admit I am not a lover of fish and there seemed to be more fish than any other choice of food. The steak was disappointing for the price.

For the staff, bar, pool and location I would stay again but would advise on improving their mattresses and quietening the doors.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devinelisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear ldgey,

Thank you for your review. Wonderful comments regarding the hotel and staff. Also a very informative review on the area.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers, please contact us directly on 01202-298350 or see our website. We guarantee the best rates booking direct.
Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 220 for 2 nights at the Cumberland hotel we was greeted by really nice staff, great outdoor pool and breakfast was great but there was some flaws the indoor pool had so much chlorine that when I got out of the pool I was struggling to see and when I was in bed all I could hear was people partying upstairs so I couldn't get any sleep. Also I had a room view of a car park.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Jordan L,

Thank you for your review. I hope that generally your stay was enjoyable. My sincere apologies regarding the pool, I can only assume the pool had heavy usage and was dosed shortly before your use. The pool chemicals are carefully monitored before dosage and after, ensuring the PH levels is in accordance to safety. With regard, to the noise from guests above, apologies for this, if any guest is having issues with their neighbours we encourage them to contact the front desk, and hopefully sort any issues.

We hope to welcome you back soon again, and if you would like to contact us directly to facilitate or personalise your booking to prevent any previous occurrences. For the latest offers please visit our website or call us on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here last weekend , first time at hotel , yes the room I was in was on the small side but then again Iam there to sleep not spend the day in the room , the wether was very warm so the room was too , we was offered a fan without asking which did the trick , the room was spotless quite nice decor , the only downside was the shower , not thermostatic so needed a little messing about with , ok for me but not for kids (, not that kids should be messing with hot water anyway ) the public areas were excellent as was the pool , very clean , the main focus on this hotel was the staff. They were fantastic and a credit to there bosses , the bar staff , pool staff , reception , and restuarant staff was excellent , looking forward to visiting this hotel again , thanks

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view seem to have balconies , fully booked when we tried
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Leeaub,

Thank you for review. Nice review regarding your stay. We are very pleased that your stay was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers, please contact us directly on 01202-298350 or see our website. We guarantee the best rates booking direct.
Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,996 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,912 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing