We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a last minute anniversary break away from the teenage children. The room was a little tired, but clean and comfortable. Worth the money we paid for it. The bar and restaurant were a great surprise, lovely furnishings and decor. We relaxed around the pool as the weather was so good. Best of all though, were the staff, every single one of them were so polite and helpful, they were a real credit to the hotel. We will visit again and we have recommended it to all our friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank csurrey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear csurrey8,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback and recommendation. Very rewarding for all the staff that follow our TripAdvisor.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers, please visit our website or call our reservations direct on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,750
    1,096
    336
    127
    76
See reviews for
617
1,612
130
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a big family gathering to celebrate my in-laws 60th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel were able to give us a big round table for the 11 of us to sit round for a nice dinner on the Friday and breakfast on the other days. Had a party for more family and friends in the function room on the Saturday - hotel very accommodating in all aspects. **Special note** - all said the buffet on the night was superb!

Staff excellent -food excellent - rooms clean and tidy - even if a tadge warm but hey it's summer - kids loved the pool. One drawback if you're on the 4th floor - the lift is very small so you may have to wait a while.

Will we go back to Bournemouth - definitely, Will we go back to the Cumberland? - probably.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear David H,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your family weekend. We are pleased the 60th anniversary celebrations was a success, and was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers please visit our website or call us on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

What a great Hotel, top class facilities, fantastic food , well trained and attentive staff, very clean and tidy, only slight downside, corridors and bedrooms need refurbishment, and brightening up, would and will happily go back, and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear always_smiling_9,

Thank you for your review. Great to read your stay was enjoyable. We have an ongoing maintenance and room decoration programme throughout the year, to ensure the upkeep.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers please visit our website or call us on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London U.K.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 2nts last week with my husband, happen to mention on check in that it was my birthday, and to my surprise when we got into our room 2hrs later their was a birthday card and some biscuits wrapped prettily in cellophane from the hotel...such a lovely touch. The hotel is very good and well situated on the East Cliff overlooking the sea. We were lucky enough to sit by the lovely swimming pool, which has great chairs and sunbeds and decking around the pool area. Our bedroom was basic overlooking the car park not too large, but was spotless.Overall its a great hotel value for money, very good food and best of all the staff were friendly and could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable and want to return.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view most rooms have a balcony, and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear susanlinda,

Thank you for your review. Lovely feedback regarding your stay with us. Glad you liked the gesture, as it was your birthday.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overnight stay 31/07/14. Room good size, clean and comfortable. Greatest asset staff, all very helpful, pleasant and cheerful. Weather during visit excellent so spent time around pool which was very clean and tidy. Dining experience, good choice, well presented and great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding you experience. Fantastic comments regarding the staff, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the latest offers please visit our website or call us on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We held our wedding at the Cumberland in early July.The wedding was absolutely wonderful! Lisa the Sales Manager is so efficient everything we asked she arranged so well. Lisa and the Manager Sean ran the event on the day and my husband and I had nothing to worry about as it was handled so well. All of Management and staff at the hotel are so professional the level of service of all the staff is outstanding. The wedding went exactly as we wanted it to and the food was delicious. All of our guests have commented on how good the hotel and food were. Many of our guests came from out of town so stayed at the hotel and their rooms were all of an extremely high standard. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a four poster bed and panoramic views of the sea. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to any one looking to hold a wedding or function.Thanks so much Lisa, Sean, Kevin and all the staff. Sadie & Ashley

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilersbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Sadie and Ashely,

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure! We trust your honeymoon was enjoyable.

Please visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff were so friendly and helpful particularly with my parents as they are disabled. However the lift was rather small so a bit of a problem. Weather was beautiful and the lovely pool and bar was a godsend. Only thing was the budget rooms we had were very hot, particularly mum and dads as the windows didn't open wide enough.Next time I think we'd have to do the upgrade for Mum and Dad. Our room was fine as it was a triple and had the 2 windows so managed to get enough through draft. Food was one of the best points. Great choice and very good quality again for the deal we had! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Triple rooms are cooler in the summer, as none of the budget rooms have A/C,(not sure about the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chrissiJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear chrissiJO,

Thank you for your review. Lovely feedback regarding your stay with us. A pleasing result for the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing