We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Reunion Weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This is our 6th Family reunion at different hotels around the country and The Cumberland Hotel has been by far the best. Great location, great service, lovely rooms and a wonderful atmosphere. We had superb evening meals in the restaurant in the evenings with great service and appreciated tolerance of our excitable little ones!!! We loved spending our days around the outside pool soaking up some rays, drinking, eating and catching up with our relatives. It was all superbly organised by Brian in sales who ensured all our requirements were met. We will definitely be planning our next years' reunion there as it was so good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanilygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,417 - 3,423 of 3,565 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2009

In my work I travel a great deal and stay in numerous hotels. The Cumberland rates with the best. The rooms are spacious and spotless, surroundings elegant and relaxing, food and amenities excellent but above all the staff are friendly and thoroughly professional.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette-Carte-Blanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Held a dinner function, now in it's 12th year with over 80 guests. The room was superbly set up, the service from Eduardo and his staff was excellent, no waiting, there when required throughout the evening and the meal was delightful. All our guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening and our thanks go to Lisa and all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den_dtmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We had a double room for 2 nights and started off on the first floor. As we laid on the bed at approx. 5.00pm the kitchen staff started to go to work directly below us. Every word and noise could be heard and the floor boards from the room above were very loud. Reception moved us to the top floor straight away (a common complaint I expect they receive). Both rooms were very clean, but with a poor shower. Downstairs has been refurbished in a modern way and is stylish. Breakfast was superb, good staff . Make sure your not on the first floor above the kitchen!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brubaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Director at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2009

Thank you for your super comments, reagrding the noisy Kitchen, I have had words with our Executive Head Chef and Memos have been posted in our Kitchen to please keep noise to a minimum, during these warmer months Kitchen windows are opened which I believe has added to the volume, but rest assured this has now been addressed.

Thank You

Kevin Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My daughter and I made an impromptu trip to the Cumberland Hotel in Bournemouth on a weekend when the sun was shining bright and could not be wasted on staying in London. This was our first stay at the Cumberland but most certainly wont be our last, we are already considering returning as and when the funds are available and the weather is shining as it has been of late.

The Cumberland Hotel is decorated in 1930s decor, very grand and hip. On Sunday we took our seats around the pool (the largest in Bournemouth) surrounded by beautiful poolside furniture. We was served beautiful food and listened to chill out music - very very relaxing. Each Sunday between May and October (weather permitting and I quote "still on unless it rains") a DJ sets up around the pool area and plays chilled out (non intrusive) Ibiza music. Think Cafe del Mar!! The Cumberland has sun loungers and Chill Beds available around the pool area. The Chill Beds were especially made for the Cumberland, the only others being available for a chill are located on Nikki Beach in Ibiza.

Our room had a seaview and the hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. The Cumberland is situated approximately 10 minutes away from the town - the walk has glorious sea views.

I have and would highly recommend the Cumberland whatever age. Check out the website. In my view a visit would most certainly not disappoint.

Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.
Jane & Jasmyn

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The common areas of the hotel are great but the bedrooms don't all match up to this first impression! We initially had a room which had obviously been recently renovated, which was lovely. However, the bathroom malfunctioned totally, leaving scalding water gushing out of the bath taps which were impossible to turn off. The staff did offer us a change of room straight away (although no apology!) but we were disappointed that the room we were moved into was much smaller and had not been newly decorated. It was also unbelievably hot and not the cleanest ever. I'd hoped that as we had to move rooms and had been unable to use the bathroom for one of the 2 nights that we'd booked, we'd at least get a comparable room if not an upgrade for our inconvenience! To get a worse room was disappointing.
There was a wedding reception at the hotel on the Saturday night and the friends we travelled with said that the sound of the music from it in their room was as loud as if the DJ was in the room with them! We were not warned about this when we booked/checked in.
One more point - the website says that on-road parking is available if the car park is full, which is true, but it doesn't tell you that it's pay and display meter parking....
Although this wasn't by any means the worst hotel in which I've stayed, there are no shortages of hotels in Bournemouth so I'd definitely try somewhere else before staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Director at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2009

Thank you for your recent comments on your stay, regarding your Hot Water, all hotels have maintenance issues, we have an on site engineer and deal with them as soon as is possible, if it is more serious, we have to call out subcontractors. I apologise that you did not receive an apology for this and should you return please contact me personally and I will ensure you receive a free room upgrade.
It is a fact that The Cumberland has recently been awarded AA 3 Stars 81% by the independent AA organisation, this can be verified on their website, this is the second highest percentage in Bournemouth and we are always striving to improve on this

Regards

Kevin Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The Good: The hotel decor is lovely, the staff are friendly and helpful, we loved the pool bar.
The Bad: the food in the main restaurant is preprepared, not cooked fresh to order.The standard of food was comparable to a good motorway service station, not that of a good restaurant. The room we had was small but nice, but very hot and noisy.
Conclusion: If you stay there don't bother packages that include breakfast or dinner, eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Director at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2009

Thank you for your great comments regarding Cumberland, your only negative comment regarding the food in our table de hote restaurant I am unable to reply to, unfortunately there are no specifics. We do serve over 1000 meals a week in this Restaurant and other than your complaint, I have not received any others during May. If you do return we do have the alternative dining experience of our A La Carte Brasserie VENTANA, which is locally know and has a great reputation, menus are available on line.

Hope to see you return soon

Kevin Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £53 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing