We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cumberland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$145
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ramada Encore Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
US$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,751)
Filter reviews
3,751 results
Traveller rating
1,943
1,206
380
139
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,943
1,206
380
139
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decomirabelle restaurantbrian robbinssea viewsister hotel next dooroutdoor poolpublic areaschristmas partytravelzoo dealsunday lunchthree starthe cliffcar parkcourse dinnernight breakair showshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,475 - 3,480 of 3,751 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Kind enough to change dates, of holiday from 1st week in May to second week, due to ill health,
A warm welcome and excellent service, from all members of staff especial Marco in the restaurant,
Enjoyed the Art Deco Theme and the comfort .
The food you could not fault in any way.
Bedroom extremely comfortable.
Once again " A Real Jewel in the Crown" no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2010

Thank you for taking the trouble to post the review and recognising our service, food and cleanliness, I look forward to your return at The Cumberland very soon

Kevin Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just returned from this hotel after a short business break....the service and friendliness of all staff was superb, my room was standard 3 star...very clean and the large bed was incredibly comfortable, Tv reception was poor however the manager on duty reassured me that the TV system is about to be replaced. I feel a special mention needs to describe the wonderful and classy outdoor pool area and bar, never seen anything like this in the UK.....it was a bit cool to take a swim but I can imagine in summer its a dream.
Would definitly recommend this place for a midweek break...10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlinboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you for your recognition of the service, food and ambience we are providing at Cumberland. The outdoor pool area is a unique feature for a UK hotel and one for which we are very proud. Hope to see you return in the summer

Regards

Kevin wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We planned a weekend away for some R&R and stayed at this "charming" hotel. The decor in the foyer and bar/restaurant looks very nice but once you go upstairs it deteriorates and is quite frankly horrid. The colour schemes give you a headache and if you happen to book a cheap deal through something like Booking.com, I fear you are given the smallest rooms at the back of the hotel. We were unfortunate enough to get a room above the kitchens which they had designated for a complete refit during the night of our last night's stay. The work started around 10pm and went on until approximately 7/8am with lots of shouting, crashing, banging, industrial hoovering etc. Needless to say there was no sleep to be had on this night and following on from the night before of having constantly interrupted sleep due to a huge event taking place until 1am, I simply cannot recommend this hotel to a living soul. I have tried unsuccessfully to get our last night's stay refunded but have simply been offered the chance to stay there again (why would I want to?) with dinner thrown in (big deal). This weekend was supposed to recharge our batteries and we went home absolutely exhausted. Well done Cumberland.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigieGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

It appears that generally when some clients do not get a monetry refund they choose to darken a hotels reputation as best they can. As you rightly state, you were offered to return to the Hotel into a sea view balcony superior room, this was as a gesture of goodwill due to Kitchen improvement works on the last night of your stay for which you paid £67. I do feel that the value of the gesture at £140 was more than adequate. You also commented on how the food and service were also excellent!!!
All our room types can be viewed on our website, which clearly shows refreshing modern colours. Our hotel landings have been refurbished only this year and are about to be re-carpeted in May. Despite unfair reviews, myself and my team will continue to improve the Cumberland and will not be held ransom to persons seeking monetry refunds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Having once again stayed at the Cumberland for the 7th time, I can once again highly recommend this hotel and cannot give more praise to the excellant and courteous staff there. The new brasserie menu is a real hit with some great local produce and some innovative options. You must try the watermelon and goats cheese salad!! The room was spacious and spotless and paying extra for the sea view and opening the curtains and seeing the Isle of Wight to the left and Brownsea Island to the right, put me in a fantastic mood for the heavy day of work ahead.
Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2010

Thank You for your review. We are pleased to serve both business and leisure clients, and it always please myself and my staff to have clients return time and time again. The new Brasserie menu has just been launched and is quite innovitive with a summer feel and British Contemporary content, I will pass your comments to the chef. see you again soon

Kevin Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Stayed May bank holiday with daughter and partener. Was offered a room the size of a broom cupboard. Was offered an alternative but the room was old and worn and needed a a good lick of paint. The tv was an old 12inch with 3 stations. The newley decorative lounges were very nice but when we came back in the evening we couldn't sit anywhere as there was a wedding taking up all the seats. So we left to go to the room and read a paper. No tv lounge, no sky, internet and wifi has to be paid for. Never again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUZANNE013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

As a frequent traveller, I would expect not to be allocated the best room in the house for a low rate paid. Your single room which was charged at £45 for a bank holiday Saturday with breakfast, is standard 3 star hotel singles room size with all the facilties expected. With customer service in mind, you were offered as soon as you requested, a larger twin room which you chose not to accept.
All TV's at Cumberland are being gradually replaced. We will have freeview but not SKY channels. We also unlike many hotels, offer a complimentary WI-FI facilty in our bar lounges, room WI-FI is available for a nominal charge from bedrooms.
The hotel does not have a TV lounge and is not the type of hotel that would ever offer this facilty!
Regarding the wedding, we did have a small wedding on the OCEANA suite, guests of the hotel had plentiful seating during saturday night in both the Del Mar lounge and Ventana. We also offer the Tropicana and Palm lounges at the adjacent Suncliff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews