We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't fault this hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Myself, husband and teenager daughter stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was very well located and clean. The room we stayed in was big and nicely decorated and the sea view we had was lovely. The food and customer service was faultless and we will certainly be returning at some stage. We could also use the amenities of the two hotels next to the Cumberland.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,753
    1,096
    336
    127
    76
See reviews for
618
1,612
131
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

This hotel has a lovely view on the cliff top and we spent plenty of time gazing out to sea.
Service was good and the room was perfect.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We don't usually book our BB stays to include evening meal but the offer was good and we are glad we did. The evening meal was excellent - our waitress really worked hard on the busy nights we stayed. We had a comfortable bed in a good size room overlooking the sea. However the bathroom was a bit tired looking. This hotel is right on the beach front. Enjoy big breakfast buffet style and excellent cuisine in the evening in this modest fairly priced hotel - oh and have a dip in the outdoor pool!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HondaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Just had a 2 day meeting in May at the Cumberland, fantastic venue, the boardroom for any meeting was good with plenty of tea,coffee,water and drinks all day,good service and friendly staff, the lunch and dinner were excellent and and we have re booked another 16 rooms for December.
The rooms we had were overlooking the sea and were referbished, Some rooms yet still to be done but what we had were very good. Keep up the good work, Paul @ Crown paints

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudefordb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-West
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Would happily recommend the hotel. Excellent customer service, made to feel welcome at the hotel and no complaints at all.
Staff happily answered any queries regarding internet, facilities, directions - and were very professional and friendly.
Room was alot better than i was expecting, very well decorated and trendy look to whole hotel. Slept like a baby, so beds were definetly comfortable.
Food was excellent also, and enjoyed sitting in the smart lounge where the internet is free of charge.
Of all hotels in the area i have stayed in within this price bracket, the cumberland would come out a clear winner. highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I felt it right to say a few words about this hotel. I am a corporate travel agent and I organise company events at home and away and after finding the Cumberland I shall certainly be recommending at home. I was a little dissapointed that after explaining what I do for a living there was no-one who could show me around the function rooms but it was the most glorious weekend of the year so it is understandable and i am in no doubt that I will return next month.
We were made to feel at home straight away despite a very large reception going on. We went to our entirely adequate room and dumped our bags and made our way to the beautiful pool side area for a very reasonable bottle of champagne, served by the friendliest bar staff I have encountered in years, and sat looking at the beautifully lit poolside/terrace area. There is a great vibe to the place that really makes you feel like you are in an overseas resort.
The weekend just improved with the glorious sunshine, chillout music by the pool and cocktails flowing. The bar staff were once again amazing and saved me from having to lift a finger which was wonderful. I went home with a true sense of relaxation after the 2 nights we spent there. My intention before booking this trip on the Thursday was just to get away from it all. It has been a tricky couple of months in the travel world and this was exactly what I needed. I give a 10/10 for an amazingly enjoyable experience and i look forward to returning in June.
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBigchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We got married on the 22nd May, had our reception at the hotel, we could not fault anything throught the day and evening, they set the room out exactly how we asked for the daytime, it looked lovely, the food was fantastic, and the staff were also fantastic, the evening reception was also excellent and the buffet food was lovely, the rooms were also lovely, breakfast in the morning was very very nice, so I would highly recommend the cumberland for a wedding reception or to just stay for a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niknoknik21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
Thank You very much for your recognition of our customer service. We pride ourselves on this and are continously striving for excellence in this department. I am so pleased we were able to make your Big Day special. Your thanks will be passed to all concerned.

Regards

Kevin Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing