We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tired art deco with the occasional flourish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“tired art deco with the occasional flourish”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed overnight on 3rd floor superior room with a sea view and balcony.
Its easy to get to , just hop in a taxi from Bournemouth station
Room well decorated, and quiet though no table to be able to work on.
Comfortable bed and pillows.

The Cumberland advertises itself as a boutique hotel. I wouldn't agree altogether,
Although the restaurants on the ground floor had some flourishes like metallic painted coving. And Its got a fancy looking Art Deco Logo. Other than that, its an average joe kind of hotel with a commanding sea view.

For Boutique Hotel I would expect a better finish on the fixtures and fittings. The merest of nods is given to art deco in the bedroom with deco style bedside lights. However these were cheap and plasticy and were loose with come wobble. The bannisters on the stairwell, also have a deco feel.

Everywhere there were issues with finish. There was a small amount of black mould on the grouting in the bathroom, the balcony door wouldn't close completely resulting in the wind howling though the cracks during the night. marks on walls, cheap patterned lining paper on the ceilings who's pattern didn't match.

overall competent, but not a boutique hotel. Shame they didnt make a big play on deco. could have had a few more deco items kicking around.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linus_atpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
Thank you for your review, and your compliments and suggestions regarding the Cumberland. I am sure you would agree that the public areas and landings do have a very grand art deco feel and are actually specified with bespoke very expensive furnishings, as are the landings. The rooms at Cumberland have been designed as good three star rooms and are priced accordingly to appeal to a larger market and also so that the hotel remains affordable for most guests. Although the hotel has a Boutique style and feel, we do not ever classify it as a Boutique Hotel due to its size, and the fact that it is too large, and as you rightly point out, our rooms are not boutique, they are good three star standard. Had we made the decision to make rooms also Boutique, then charges of over £200 a night would need to be levied, as it is we often offer rooms at a third of this price out of season. The hotel is very busy, and very well maintained, although keeping every scuff and mark at bay is like painting the San Fransisco Golden gate bridge. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope I have explained more what the hotel experience is looking to acheive. I guess the reasonably priced good quality three star rooms, with the luxury public areas and five star service and food is a statement of the Cumberland Experience. Once again thank you for your comments. On a foot note, bedrooms are constantly being redecorated and upgraded, I am sure you will note this in the future.

Kevin Wood
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,753
    1,096
    336
    127
    76
See reviews for
618
1,612
131
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Spent two nights with husband and grown up son, visit enhansed when found upgrade to sea view with balcony, interesting decor, rooms very spaceous. Breakfast extensive in choice and quantity. Evening meal in dinning room pleasent , in bistro excellent. Reception staff attentive and helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally503826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My parents stayed, having travelled from Devon with a group. I joined them for a day during their stay. The hotel is in a lovely position and has a great pool/deck area. Food was great, staff attentive and efficient. Bedroom was small and could've done with updating. However, how much time do you want to spend in your room?! The public areas are lovely - art deco decoration, well laid-out and very comfortable. All-in-all, it was a very successful visit, with no grumbles from the group at all. A personal thanks from me to the incredibly nice reception staff, who found the ring I'd left in the (very clean!)ladies toilet and got it back to my parents.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This Hotel is Beautiful. We went for our honeymoon and we had the most amazing time. The service was good, the food was delicious and the rooms were beautifully decorated and mordernised and was very clean. The location is perfect as it is overlooking the sea, close to the town centre and rail station. We would go back there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feliatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, Cornwall, UK
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This hotel is located an easy stroll from the excellent shopping in Bournemouth. We paid the extra for a sea view room and were pleasantly surprised to find it also came with a balcony. The room was clean and a good size. For some reason I had the best sleep each night for ages. The hotel bar and resturants are the best feature of the hotel, having been decorated in a modern/art deco style they complement the original look of the hotel. Food was absolutely fantastic. Best of all were the staff in the bars, resturant and the reception. Couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Thank you for a great review which acknowledges our intensive staff training and constant improvement of both the hotels facilties, bars and rooms. Hope to see you return again soon

Regards


Kevin Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My fiance and I booked the Cumberland Hotel for our wedding venue and reception in September 2010. Brian Robbins, our co-ordinator, and his team made the whole experience a pleasure from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure everything went as we had planned. Our guests commented on the fantastic food and the beautiful and stylish art deco design of the hotel particularly the stunning guest lounge area.
Our wedding day dreams came true thanks to all the staff at the Cumberland Hotel. We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay to anyone whether its for leisure or business. We will be making a regular visit on every wedding anniversary so we can be reminded of our wonderful day!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylcorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

First impressions are very good. There has obviously been a lot of money spent on the ground floor of the hotel with excellent dining and bar facilities. Unfortunately, the rooms are pretty dreadful. My room was dusty and had appalling quality furniture, with the knob missing off one of the chest of drawers. The television from the 1980's was so low down on the floor that I couldn't see the bottom half of the television whilst I lay down in the bed. There is a notice in the foyer advising guests that they are upgrading the televisons to flat screens so hopefully this won't be a problem for other guests in the future. I am dumbstruck as to how they can spend so much money on the premises downstairs, and still have such shoddy rooms. It's as though they were completely rennovating the hotel when they ran out of money! Such a shame as it could be an far better hotel with a bit of effort. The evening meal and breakfast were very good with an excellent variety. There was a very noisy wedding/band/disco that went on to the early hours on the second day of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverconfused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Thank you for your " flattery", regarding deceives, I am a bit dumstruck here. You rightly point out that the Ground Floor and public areas, Food and service in the hotel are excellent! The rooms are a very good quality three star room, and are charged accordingly. The furniture is actually of the highest quality solid wood furniture, not cheap lamenated furniture often found in many new hotels! I do apologise that a knob came off your dresser, I am sure this would have been replaced within hours if you had reported it. You are correct about the TV's and we are in the process of replacing them all with state of the art plasmas, they will be finished and ALL rooms will have these TV's by the 26th September 2010, complete with a hotel info channel and many rooms also have DVD facilty.
On you question about running out of money, the answer is a definitive NO, we have continued to pour millions into the hotel since we purchased it in 2006, both in public areas, bedrooms and infastructure, I have no doubt if we had chose to redecorate the rooms first, you would have asked why we had not done our restaurants, lounges and leisure areas and Bars. The fact is , we are almost there and still offering rooms such as yours for under £90 for two people including a great breakfast, in spite of the millions spent and constant facilty upgrades. I thank you for your comments, although somewhat unfair, and would also remind you that the Cumberland is a full service hotel, not a lodge type accomodation with virtually no staff cost. Most of our guests are enchanted by the Cumberland experience and I am sorry you were not

Regards

Kevin Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing