We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
swindon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Decor”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

After booking a good deal from internet when we arrived they had no record of it, but the staff dealt with this very professionally and politely, asking us to wait a short while whilst they sorted things out. After a 10 min wait they told us that they had upgraded us to a sea view room. On arriving at the room it was beautiful,I would like to thank them for not fitting us into one of the small rooms that are normally left. Can I say all the staff at this hotel are extremely friendly, efficient and all seem to enjoy their jobs, working together as a team, nothing is too much trouble for them, which in this day and age is very unusal. We ate in the restaurent last night and despite them having a function on in the other room our food was lovely and served without waiting.

The ambience in this hotel is lovely, it is decorated in an art neauvou style with a lot of thought going into the accessories and colour schemes very well appointed hotel.

Hopefully going there again in the very near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilianswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    353
    130
    77
See reviews for
648
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I shared a twin room (214) with a friend arriving Wed 2nd Feb, staying for 3 nights. We only paid £143 in total for 1 night dinner and the remainder bed and breakfast and it was a bargain!
Very impressed with the standard of the room and food, I am wheat free and they accomodated this and provided wheat free bread at breakfast. It's funny how the reviews on here vary, our room was hot the whole time, even without the heating being on so slept with the windows open (in February!!) but I heard other people saying they had no heating so couldn't work that out. Also, a slight negative, the floor boards did creak a bit so could hear people walking about upstairs and you could hear the TV coming from next door but apart from this, I still managed to get a good night sleep.
The hotel is in an excellent location, only 10-15 mins walk to the town. The bar even provided ice buckets so we could drink some wine in our room. The hotel also provided an iron and ironing board during the duration of our stay.
All the staff were helpful and friendly and could not fault the service.
Hope to stay here again in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glos79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Great location, fantastic Art Deco structure...but is let down by some things that can be changed and others that would be harder to fix. When we entered our room 414 checking in on the 18th Jan for 4 nights, intending to rest and work, I was surprised to find that there were no table lamps or any soft lighting....there were a variety of sunken ceiling bulbs which gave a dingy light. I asked reception for table lamps which never arrived. The room and bathrooms were a great size but desperately in need of decoration, BUT were clean. Side sea view was great! Staff were helpful, if not a little too accommodating to guests (?) who were allowed to bring boxed takeaway pizza into the lounge area on the evening of the 20th Jan ...they sat and ate them unchallenged. Breakfast was good value, and not allowing under 14 year olds to the buffet is a good move. Decor and music was confused. The main reason I chose this hotel was because of the Art Deco promise but I found some gems of decor whilst much of it (like the men’s suites) were too close to the style of the 80's and didn’t really work. On my first breakfast morning I was really pleased to hear Ella Fitzgerald singing the American songbook, but it was ruined when it was followed by a Cruise type singers tape playing unremarkable songs..badly. This hotel's identity is confused. All of this I can stand BUT the thing that made my stay awful was the lack of sound proofing. On my first night we were woken throughout the night by the man in the room below coughing, a woman along the corridor coughing and the man in the room next door snoring......the next night, there were people tangoing in the room next door at 1am...we could hear every instruction, cd and dip....we could hear every word of the man next door having a conversation about his property investments, the man below….....and the stay continued like this. If you walked in the corridor, you could hear clearly every word of conversations as though there were no doors. I have never experienced anything like this. Part of the problem is the 1930's building , a period well known for having poor sound insulation, but its not helped by doors that don't fit and hollow wardrobes that allow access to the bathrooms through a trap door. ..creating a guitar-like sound box. What a shame...I came back to London exhausted from lack of sleep. I didn’t miss the lamps in the end as I stayed out as long as possible to avoid the noise and had to keep the TV on to mask it. Parking was a challenge and we very nearly had to park out on the main road as all the hotels were full ….do be aware that parking isn’t free on the road, you need to be out there at 8.30 feeding a meter. I would love to think I could go back as there is much that’s good……but I can’t, I must sleep at night ….shame...has great possibilities.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
thank you for your comments, good and bad regarding your stay at Cumberland. I have inspected room 414 personally and do not understand your comments regarding the bathroom or bedroom. The bathroom is very modern and large with the very large modern tiles, all matching with a new bathroom suite. the room as you state is large, newly decorated and carpeted last year, with two inset lights above each bed for reading, another in the room itself, and one wall light above the dresser which does give ambient light for moods.
Regarding the sound, I cannot comment on each individual assesment you have made of every room around you, but I am sure that we have never had such a broad description of noise as this, and can only think it was a one off. We have had issues with one room making noise, but not all rooms surrounding you. With regard to corridor sound from rooms, in fairness, even a newly built hotel room emits sound through the main entry door, I know this to be a fact from travelling often myself. We do all of us take responsibilty for noise in bedrooms at certain times of day, and I am sorry that you were subjected to inconsiderate guests, particularly tangoing at 1am, it is a point to note that this week you stayed was the Anual International dancing championships at the BIC and as such the hotel had many rooms booked by dancers from around the globe!
Regarding the pizza incident, I will investigate, but can tell you we do have a policy in All public areas and poolside that guests are not to bring their own food into the hotel, or indeed drink. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
The music has several different output locations, the restaurant is different to the Bar and poolside, we do often play a more mellow Jazz in the mornings, and most often afternoons we would play Chill Music, or Lounge music which is more modern and does fit the Ventana Bar atmosphere. The decor is a modern mix of Deco with a twist, whilst rooms are decorated with a more basic modern style, one accent wall with three painted walls, as a three star hotel, I feel our rooms are excellent quality and value for money. The rate you paid was £50 total a night for two people for a side sea view with breakfast, in any hotel of this quality I do believe this to be excellent. I understand you requested a quiet room, and everybody has different noise tolerance levels. The Cumberland is a vibrant and busy hotel, and not badly sound proofed, and al I can do is apologise for any inconvenience and let you know that your points are noted and the ones that are easily remidied will be addressed

regards

Kevin Wood
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2011

being from Rio, I am used to great views and beaches, but Cumberland comes a great second and reminds me of some of the art deco hotels we have on Copacabana. Had a sea bview room with terraza and was great to wake each morning to views of the sands and ocean, it was very cold outside but remained sunny, the room was large and trendy, although bathroom a little small.
The hotel is very stylish, as are the staff in it, very colourful and full of energy to assist you. You can tell this hotel is operated with a great passion, they had two UK national awards on display which they had just won, i am sure weell deserved, will definitly return here if I am back in the UK.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martimrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

booked very last minute and paid for one of the more expensive rooms with a seaview. what a letdown, the room was very tacky, the decor was very tired the papered ceiling looked like it was about to fall down and the bathroom fittings were old on top of that there was a mass brawl in the room above us which kicked off at 2.30 am we called reception a couple of times but there wasnt anyone there, i told the receptionist this on booking out but all she was worried about was me paying the bill im a pretty easy going person but to pay £109 for that lot made me wish we didnt stay the night and save our hard earned money. On the positive side the (ventera) bar is a wonderful place to have a few drinks. I know the hotel has spent money on doing up the (seaview) rooms but that was a few years ago and for the prices they charge i would expect better than that

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
It is super to hear good feedback about the Ventana Bar and Restaurant. Regarding your room, all sea view rooms are extremeley good three star standard or better, I feel i must point out that although many beleive the hotel is of higher grade, it is only three star, and £109 for a sea view balcony room with full breakfast on a weekend is still good value for money. The points you raise are not issues I would consider worthy of a bad review. Bath taps are recent within the past 5 years and the ceiling wall paper is anaglypta painted white! Not sure of the particular room you were in , however all our rooms are inspected periodically by our team of maintenance and decorators. The disturbance in the room above is unfortunate and often beyond the hotels control, I would hazzard a guess that the night managers were dealing with this when you called to reception, apologies for this. I thank you for your comments.

Kevin Wood
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This is a quality and stylish hotel in an excellent location at a bargain price. The staff are plentifull, smart, young, energetic and eager to please. Everyone had a smile and was polite and nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant on both days of our stay, both good quality and served with enthusiasm. Remembering that this is not the Ritz or the Savoy in London, the hotel was far above our expectations in every way. The rooms were spacious, stylish and impeccably clean, as were the bathrooms. My only dissapointment was that we had only booked for two nights!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atonycoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Were very disappointed because we originally booked the Suncliffe hotel and were told this was closed. We had booked this hotel because it had an indoor pool. On arrival at the Cumberland we were greeted really warmly and told that because our booking had been changed we would receive an upgraded room and also a free evening meal. We were also able to use the facilities of a nearby hotel. The staff couldnt have been more obliging, nothing was too much trouble and when we went to our room we had a fabulous sea view and balcony. It is a really lovely hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing