We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Time stay at The Cumberland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My husband decided to treat me for my birthday with a re-visit to our favourite hotel!
As usual The Cumberland did not dissapoint on any front. Food, service and room were all A1.
Hope to be back as soon as possible. To be honest would not want to stay anywhere else now when we come to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancity99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Its great to see you return for a 5th time, its things like this that make us feel like we have got it right, see you soon for your sixth visit, promise I wont mention the Red Devils!!

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,233 - 3,239 of 3,654 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

Had 2 nights here and I can't praise this hotel enough. The staff are so effecient, polite and all work hard with the standard you would expect from a 5 star hotel. They cater extremely well for functions, which was the purpose of our visit, with good food, service etc. All the public areas of this hotel are lovely and very well decorated. Breakfast was hot and plenty of it, in fact all the food we had at the hotel was very good standard. Our room was nice and comfortable. There is ample parking which is free which is also a bonus. We are already planning to go back to this hotel in the summer looking forward to it. Would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Amazing that you recogniszed the 5 star service at the 3 star Cumberland. The summer is amazing and vibrant here, with poolside BBQ's and DJ's, this year we have changed the chillouts to Retro Pool Parties so hope to see you back in the summer

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

So I wanted a getaway destination where my husband and I could relax and do something cultural, for a one night stay to interupt the long January coldness. The Cumberland had it all - a gorgeous bar and restaurant serving super drinks and tasty food from friendly and attentive staff. A view over the bay towards the Isle of Wight making it feel like a real holiday and a short walk from The Russell Coates Museum which had 100% culture on display. Bin-go!
Whilst the rooms felt and looked like a 'travel lodge' compared to the oppulence of the reception, they afforded a peaceful night's sleep, the staff in the reception area and restaurant/bar made up for it. A superb welcome from the moment we arrived made it feel like a proper holiday instead of just a night away to relax, rewind and revel by the sea!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Really pleased you thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing break at Cumberland. although weekends are vibrant, the weekdays are excellent for total relaxation, and we like to think the service we offer is top notch, thanks for recognizing this

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Our Wedding Day was absolutlely wonderful and that was mostly down to Brian Robbins and his team. Both my family and friends had a brilliant day and we couldn't have asked for more. I'm so pleased I chose The Cumberland and I would highly recommend them to anyone who will listen! It was everything I wanted for my big day.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_Gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Great comments which I will personally pass on to Brian and all the staff, So pleased we could make your big day Perfect,

Regards

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed in room 413 which has a fantastic view and ate in the Ventana brasserie on both nights. The food was absolutely first class! The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room was a little tired - wallpaper didn't meet and some mould in the bathroom - we did however notice that the decorators were arriving on the fourth floor when we left so hopefully this is being put right.

Our only complaint would be that on the first night there was a function on until midnight and the music was very loud. If the hotel had advised us of the function then we would have stayed out longer!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HezzWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you for a fair a sincere review. I will pass on your comments to all in Ventana Brasserie regarding the first class food. Regarding the rooms, of course we are constantly maintaining and upgrading and at each juncture with feedback from guests we address issues as and when they arise. We do have a good night sleep policy and all rooms directly above functions are issued with a letter advising of music. Normally 4th floor rooms are protected, unless a fire door was opened, in any case apolgies for this. We all hope to see you return to Cumberland very soon

Regards

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Spent a great weekend at the Hotel super breakfast (watch out for the plates they are HOT) makes a change to have food on a hot plate. The staff were excellent and could not have been more friendly or helpful would go back again without any hesitation.

Frank

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STAMPY1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Great to here you had a super weekend at the hotel. RE the hot plates, I totally agree, nothing worse than cool food, thats why we always insist on hot plates at meal times. Hope to see you back soon and thankyou for the great review

Regards

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I found myself booking a 3 night break for my parents as a Christmas present, through a company called In1Solutions....not sure if they are affiliated direct with the Cumberland or not as reasons will become clear later. Clearly the company has no desire to adhere to any type of customer service, as they failed to honour a price confirmed for my parents.
My parents stay at the Cumberland every year in room 211 in August and like every year and this time would recommend the hotel for the food, service and everything.

They returned 3 days later and commented to me about the great break they had apart from.......being charged an extra £125+ for their stay.........which the hotel reception were clearly advised by myself that upon checkout to contact me and I would pay the bill. This did not happen and my parents were made to foot the extra charges on their credit card even after stating Reception had been told numerous times about this.

To date and this is a month later I have not had the courtesy of a reply from In1Solutions even after agreeing with the hotel that In1Solutions should foot the extra charge for their error and their level and customer service is a disgrace in my opinion.

The actual break for my parents was a 5 star experience as always as the Cumberland looks after them perfectly every year for the last 20 years or so, but who they choose to allow bookings with and their non ability to reply to me is disgusting even after nearly an email a day to them.

I have written this review in the hope that my search for the Hotel owner to contact me and discuss this shoddy service at best can be rectified and the correct price of the break as confirmed in an email honoured.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malc316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Thank you for contacting me via this review site. I am very pleased that your parents enjoyed a 5 star stay at the Cumberland in January, I will pass this on to all key personell at the Hotel.
Regarding the mistake by the company who manages our booking engine, unfortunatley I cannot assist with your enquiry!
As far as the Cumberland is concerned, the booking was registered on our January sale rate of £42 a room with breakfast per night for 3 nights, totally £126 for a three nights stay two people, I believe our booking engine may have offered you the rate of £42 a room in total for three nights! This is a matter you must take up with them direct. Being ever conscious of customer service, we did on arrival also upgrade your parents to a sea view balcony room, which is normally £40 per night, In effect offering a sea view superior balcony room at £126 for the total stay for two people with breakfast.
Regarding payment, it is very difficult for us to contact relatives of clients for payment on departure. we have a strict third party payment system were the cardholder must be present unless fowarding documents in advance. With over 100 rooms it would be exceptionally difficult to offer this service, I do hope you understand and I apologies if there was any musunderstanding on this point.
Should you wish to offer this gift in future I would suggest calling the hotel direct, we always offer to match the internet rate by phone, then we can also take care of any pre payment you wish to make. I will also bring your grievance up at my next meeting with the comapny that operates our booking engine

Regards

kevin Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing