We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just got back from one night at the Queens, on the whole not a bad experience, food was good and the place was clean and tidy, but generally quit dated.The rooms were ok. But very thin walls so you could hear everything next door. Not great over a Valentine’s day night!! The pool was on the cool side, with the steam room out of action and the sauna needing a refurb due to benches starting to rot. Generally the service was good. I suppose at the end of the day you pay s your money and takes your choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willpid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

As a school we booked our Xmas do there for western theme,bucking bronco and disco with buffet and set meal.We all dressed up and were looking forward to a good night but it was a complete let down.1st off we were shown to the tables and waited for the waiters/waitresses to bring out the food,the buffet food was placed on tables but not made clear which tables they were for so other people took from our tables,the food was awful the sandwiches were all hard on the outside and a lot were seafood,there wasn't enough other food to cater for everyone and they took it away after about half hour.The set food menu was ok but not worth the money.They brought out some chips as we complained.The bronco was the main feature having to watch people from other parties as well as our own for 2 hours without any music going on we thought it would be a sideline with a disco as not everyone went on the bronco.Then finally at 10pm they put on the music which was awful a lot of our group left by then.I wrote a complaint letter and we were offered afternoon tea 2 weeks after my complaint email was sent.We went to the tea and it was tea and coffee in urns in the bar area that the hotel guest could use with little fruit cakes that the children at the school could of made just as good .For a hotel that was meant to be making an apology for such awful service and entertainment the afternoon tea was a disgrace and our school will not be using this hotel ever again.Even when we turned up at the hotel the reception didn't know we were coming or where to send us and the staff just walked off.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank glittabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

This is terribly sad. I am always most swift to apologize when mistakes have been made or if we have not delivered on a promise.

Hitherto, I cannot understand why the Hotel is victim to such malice? I have liaised with the reviewer personally over the course of several emails where I kindly offered the use of the Hotel to enjoy an afternoon tea, and cake in response to the reviewers distress at not fully enjoying a Christmas party at the Hotel.

But, clearly this kindness and generosity was still not at the expected standard. I am truly sorry you did not enjoy the themed Wild West evening with a bucking bronco and disco.

I do hope the next General Manager you liaise with responds more favourably than I have.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Centrally located, friendly staff, this hotel is well located to access all the amenities of Bournemouth......we will be going back to stay at the Queens again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your kind words on to the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

every thing about the hotel was great,and really good value for money,the breakfast were really loverly great choice plenty of it all nicely cooked the evening meals were fantastic could not have got better anywhere ,all the staff were very helpfull ,a special thank you to pattrick in the restrurant,the bedrooms were loverly and keeped nice and clean ,will defentley use this hotel again, great location for buses ,,beach ,shops,thanks all the staff for making our wedding anniversary break special we stayed from 29/1/2012 up to 3/2/2012l pauline george

Room Tip: we stayed on the fourth floor the rooms are a good size very cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondyCoventryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your kind words on to Patryk.

Many congratulations once again on your anniversary; I am pleased you were given a complimentary upgrade to a superior bedroom.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very good value for money, the room was clean and cosy, bed very comfortable, shower with a perfect pressure, the food was just amaaaazing!! I absolutely loved it. Great location,just next to the beach and maybe 10 mins away from the centre. Overall, we had a very nice time there, the only thing that could look better was the swimming pool and the steam room which didn`t work at all, the gym was small as well but I think there were all the basic machines u need while staying over few nights. And the breakfast could be a bit later for people who come to relax and not to work, I came with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday, so it was a little hard to wake up so early in the morning ;) Anyway, if I was to come back I would come back to the Queens Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your kind words on to the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We paid £98 for two nights B&B fri and sat what fantastic value, our room over looked the sea and was a family room so lots of space. Location is one of the best points of this hotel 10min max to sea or town centre. Breakfast was fantastic all you can eat buffet cooked or cereal. When we went hotel was i would say 75% over 65 which for us was great no noisy yobbo's, only bad bits if you could call it that was pool was very cold and steam room did not seem to work and in our room as pointed out in other reviews the water pressure is very poor so bath only. If we stay in bournemouth again we will be going back to The Queens Hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed the excellent breakfast we offer. We have experienced incorrect temperatures with the pool due to the severe weather. I am delighted to note this has been rectified.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I try and stay in hotels with gyms and pools to give me something to do of an evening when I'm away working. The gym in this hotel was poor. I small room with no natural light, cramped, with broken equipment. It was so poor that after my first use I went running along the front instead. A much better option.
The meeting room we used was much better, nice and light, with tea and buscuits in constant supply. I also had a lovely big room on the corner. I enjoyed the stay but expected more of a gym with the place calling itself a spa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlyderFawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am disappointed that the gym was not as expected, the swimming pool area and spa is in the lower level of the Hotel and unfortunately it is impossible for us to provide natural light. But we do try to recompense this with good lighting a flat screen TV and many mirrors.

I am pleased you enjoyed your run on the beach; the Hotel is ideally positioned for your benefit here.

And similarly I am delighted you liked the meeting room, which I suppose you could justify the constant supply of biscuits after your cardiovascular endeavours.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £32 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing