We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and well located for your every need”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
uk ish
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and well located for your every need”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

During the last few weeks I have had the pleasure of staying at the Queens Hotel with work. The hotel is located about 5 minutes stroll to West Cliff, and about 15 minutes wander into the town centre. The front of house staff are always courteous and willing to help with your every need, whilst the managerial staff are always on hand to answer any more demanding questions, or just to make sure you are enjoying you stay.The hotel offers lovely clean rooms with en-suite rooms, complimentary tea and coffee and up to date televisions. Evening meals within the restaurant are of a very high standard, and from the moment you walk in you feel welcomed by Niki all of the staff. Orders are taken from your table for the multi-choice 3 course menu, along with hotels unique wine waiter who will offer you wines from around the world, and the languages to match. Breakfast is a little more relaxed, with a buffet style system comprising of cereals, juices and traditional English hot food - all in all a very pleasurable experience. There is a swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and spa which is also a must whilst you stay at this excellent hotel. A big thank you to Daniel, Carol, Sally, Auriele, Nikki and all of the staff for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingholidayUkIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words which I have shared with the team.

I am pleased you mentioned some of my colleagues including: one of our excellent Duty Managers – Carol (I am not just saying this because her fiancé follows Trip Advisor, but she is very good at her job), the ever happy and conscientious Sally and Aurélie from the front desk and Niki, a supervisor in the restaurant who will go the extra mile for all our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    352
    327
    200
    192
See reviews for
237
463
76
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed at the Queens from 18th to 22nd October 2012.

The staff were wonderful so welcoming and went out of their way to make the stay so enjoyable.

The food was wonderful and always hot and as a vegetarian there was always a good selection for me.

I have booked to stay there again in 2013 and really look forward to it.

Room Tip: there was always hot water so no matter what floor you are on it was there. I was on the fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

It is a delight to welcome you and every member of your party who are so friendly and insistent on having a wonderful time in the company of friends.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I have nothing but praise for this hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The bedrooms are well appointed with plenty of hot water all day long. The Spa is a good addition if the weather should be poor. If it is good the hotel ideally situated for town centre, beach and public transport.
The dining room is pleasant and airy and the food, both breakfast and dinner, is of a high quality with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Try to avoid being next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longlegsdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words which I have shared with the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Having read some reviews was bit concerned but did not need to be. On our arrival the car park was full but the duty manager greeted me with a cheery good afternoon sir...Asked me to leave my keys at reception and double park and he would come and find me when there was a space which he did in about an hour. Friendly receptionist booked me in and we waited til 2 pm to access the bedroom. ( Many hotels i have stayed at do not allow this til 3pm.) The room was bright and spotlessly clean and more than adequate. The bed was really comfy and we had no complaints at all unlike some reviewers! As part of a large group which had taken over the whole hotel I found the staff very helpful and friendly even when under pressure at dinner time. Yes, there was a bit of a wait in between courses sometimes but not enough to cause distress!! The food was of a good quality and good choice on the table d'hote menu....the breakfast was buffet style with a choice of almost anything you would want and hot, even the plates! An excellent start to the day.
Having stayed at b&b s as well as 5 star hotels such as The grand in Brighton, i consider the Queens well pitched in the middle market and offers excellent value. Some of the people who have moaned here must be the sort who are looking for anything to complain about. If one has a problem this can normally be sorted out by the management rather than leaving a negative review!
There have been a few mentions about the 70s style! Would they comment if they stayed in an ancient inn that it looks dated??!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randjlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

It was me! I saw you in the car park and was delighted to help.

The pleasure is entirely ours – thank you so much for staying with us; we are all overwhelmed with the friendliness and the extraordinarily warm atmosphere of your party. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed for 5 days at the Queens,a little worried after reading some of the comments! What a surprise. On arrival the staff were superb having us and our luggage in our room in record time. The room was a little dated but it is obvious that they are refurbishing,it was warm,clean and of a good size. The breakfasts and evening meals were very good,with a wide selection to choose from.The waiting staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I would use this hotel again,it is in a good location and well run. The spa was well worth a visit,i had a facial which is one of the best i have had,in all a well run and friendly Hotel.

Room Tip: Front 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandywilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words which I have shared with the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

24 of us went down to Bournemouth to play golf. 14 rooms booked so a few cars between us..... not enough parking at the hotel. Going into the corridor and down to the rooms on the 1st floor it must have been 30 degs of heat, phew! In my room shared with my golf playing partner it was cold so we turned on the radiator which took 30 mins to get hot. The heated towel rail has black tape over the end where you turn it on and guess what. It didn't work. The door onto the balcony had a top hinge that was loose so the door tiled back.
In the resturaunt the wine waiter was the picture of happiness (NOT) and there seemed to be an issue with bread rolls. On our breakfast visit there were buckets in the middle of the room where the ceiling has a leak and rain water was dripping down. The waiting staff had no idea on manners and would attempt to take you plate away before you had finished. One of my fellow golfers was wrestling with a waiter and a plate with a bread roll on it...... very funny but rediculous.
My advice........ STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarvyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
I am sorry you found it difficult to park. We do offer complimentary parking and since you were all part of the same party, we could have helped you coordinate your parking so you double park with each other.

October is quite a difficult month to administer heating. Last year it was beautifully sunny for the majority of the month while this year the temperature fluctuation has been large. I regret that you experienced discomfort.

There were extreme weather conditions during your visit, which resulted in a water leak in the restaurant for one of the mornings of your stay. This is most unfortunate and was unsightly for a short period of time.

I have answered a previous comment about the bread rolls from a member of your party.

I am sorry your golfing experience was marred by the weather.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Carisbrooke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Wife and I arrived for a one night stay. Parking adequate. Venue close to seafront. Reception staff pleasant and welcoming. Room very large although double bed could have been a bit bigger. Our room was at the front and had a balcony you could walk onto for some fresh air (not all rooms have this). Bathroom clean and plenty of hot water for shower. The evening meal was above our expectations. Nicely cooked vegetables and good waitress service. Breakfast was very nice and all food was above average. We used the small gym and swimming pool before our late check out. The gym was adequate although on the smaller size. One machine didnt seem to work. The swimming pool was warm and also small. The spa at the pool was not working. The changing rooms were clean and well presented. Towels for gym were available at no extra cost at reception.

Overall the hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel caters for all types . When we were there a couple of coach parties for older residents had arrived, although these seemed to remain seperate from the "normal" residents!. The dining area was big so large groups could be cateerd at one side and couples or families tend to use the other areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words which I have shared with the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,489 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing