We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly but very very tired”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Villemoustaussou, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly but very very tired”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just had 2 lovely days in Bournemouth and stayed at this hotel. The staff are very friendly and keep the hotel clean. The spa was nice and the pool was pleasant with the exception of the hot tub which was grimy around the water line. The breakfast was quite nice and cooked properly. We did not eat evening meal there. The downside was the bedroom, in particular the bathroom. It was all rather dated and the bathroom was a mess. It was kept clean but the floor was split and the vanity unit was rotting away at the base which produce a damp oudour smell, The extractor fan was not working either.
We noticed that some of the room were being refreshed so if your lucky next year you might get one of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am pleased that our staff looked after you and sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your room. We are working on a huge amount of refurbishment at the moment, so please contact our General Manager, Daniel Marsh on 01202 554415 to discuss having a new room when you return.
Many Thanks
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    346
    319
    197
    186
See reviews for
225
454
74
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went to the hotel for an organised dinner and dance so it wouldn't have been our first choice, but we won't be visiting again! Its very jaded and poor quality and service is also quite poor although they try their best! I asked if it would be possible to have afternoon tea and the poor young man looked at me as if I was speaking a different language!

Breakfast was poor with everything having run out and slow service to fill it back up again.

I had phoned the spa the week before to check availability and am still waiting for a call back. When I called in on the day to see if there was any availability I was met with incredulity at the question and no apology when I pointed out that I was still waiting for a call back.

The room was ok - very clean, but the constant tapping from the radiator kept us awake half the night.

The food at dinner was excellent but the service wasn't very good and the staff definitely need re-training. When we asked for wine, the bottle was brought, shown to us and then plonked on the table in front of us!

The hotel reminded us of Fawlty Towers and is definitely in need of a massive make-over and staff re-training.

Room Tip: Don't bother - choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TishyFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. You mention that the hotel is in need of a massive-make over which is what we are currently doing, so I am not sure when you stayed exactly.
But anyway I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and do hope that you return in the future to see the work that we have done.
Many Thanks
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We bought a voucher through Living Social and after looking on Trip Adviser at the reviews i had my doubts on whether we would have a nice time or no.
We had a great time, the service was great and the food was absolutely lovely and staff very helpful and friendly. We also used to spa which was also very nice and relaxing. The room was spacious and very clean. Great location with not even a 5 minute walk to the beach and about 20 minute walk into the town which was just ideal. We had a lovely time here and are hoping to return again next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura27101988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that your stay was great and everything was to your satisfaction.
I do hope that you return next year and if you do, please contact our General Manager and he will look after you.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My son's graduation had a early start and I didn't want to risk missing any or being late as I live over 2 hours away so I was looking for an inexpensive, clean bed for the night. Booked via Expedia (who were amazing over the phone - hadn't tried that before) and am still astonished at the good value for money this hotel provided. The reception staff where charming, friendly and helpful, arranging taxi's and providing mobile phone chargers for forgetful guests. The rooms were comfortable, quite spacious and clean. I didn't eat any meals in the hotel or use the spa (but I went down to look at it and the pool looked lovely). Location is great and overall this was much better than I was expecting. It was the perfect location for our needs, walking distance to the BIC if its not raining and you have comfortable shoes on (which it was and I didn't).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent Trip Advisor review. I am extremely pleased that your stay was perfect for you and that our staff looked after you so well. When you choose to return please try our food, we have an excellent chef. Please contact our General Manager Daniel Marsh on 01202 554415 for a future stay when you are ready.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwen
Level Contributor
240 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Well located hotel... steps away from the sea...

The hotel is comfortable and rooms are well equipped BUT I have to say that the hotel looses points in the breakfast area - I booked the hotel and paid £5 for breakfast and quite frankly I wish I had not... on the first day the food was COLD and scarce... the second morning thinking I would beat the system I ordered fresh off the menu (Porridge followed by Poached Eggs) BUT I was served with the Egg first... I was going to eat in one night BUT to be frank the food was a complete downer... I skipped breakfast on the last day and went to Wetherspoons - that was great!

Yes I would go again BUT I would be steering well clear of the breakfast!

Room Tip: Try and get a front room... back rooms are HOT... even in October needed a fan on 24 hours a day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you did not enjoy breakfast. We have addressed this now with the restaurant manager so I am sure this won't happen again. Please come back and try the breakfast again as I am sure you will not be disappointed.
Many Thanks
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I am so glad I read these reviews after we came back from an enjoyable afternoon tea earlier today courtesy of Groupon at The Queens Hotel...

The staff were very attentive and polite; after 'checking in' we were directed to the the dining room where we were shown to our table...
Once there we were offered our tea or coffee choice... We were also advised that part of the dining room would be used for bingo and where we ok with that... Which we were, it didn't affect us...
Our glass of bubbly was poured at our table, then the food arrived... Plenty of it... In fact we didn't eat it all... The ONLY gripe I personally would have is it would have been nice if our scones and brownies had been warm... Just coming out of the oven would be nice.. They not only taste very fresh this way but also smell delicious and the scones really don't take long to cook... Having said that it didn't take away any of the loveliness of the tea...
The staff serving us were always there with a smile and offer of any more tea/ coffee... Along with a sense of humour from the waiter whose name I didn't get but he is a 'tad older' than Darren.. Lol...Who also was very helpful..
As we are local to the area having good service and food will make us not only tell our friends about it but also go back again if we get a chance to do so...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank step324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent Trip Advisor review. I am pleased to hear that everything was most enjoyable and our staff looked after you so well. I will talk to the chef about the temperature of the scones and take on board your comments.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The staff were great and the room my wife and I had was well maintained and comfortable. By contrast other members of the family had rooms that were in need of repair and were directly above a function room with loud music that didn't finish until 1am.
We all ate dinner in the dining room. We had the fixed price menu (with options for 1, 2 or 3 courses). We all chose 2 courses and the food was well cooked and well presented. We were billed for 3 courses although this was amended at reception without a quibble.
Overall I would say this is a hotel with good staff doing their best but hampered by the need for some refurbishment and maybe better management control and staff training.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been refurbished and in the centre of the hotel (away from the function room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am glad your stay was all good and I am sorry that the function downstairs disturbed you. We are currently refurbishing many rooms and many areas in the hotel at the moment so when you choose to return, please request a newly refurbished room.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing