We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Second time I have stayed here. Just spent the weekend there again. Impressed by the food and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The rooms could do with updating but the facilities provided are excelleny.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are currently updating the rooms, so would love it if you would come back and ask to stay in one of our refurbished rooms next time. Please speak to Daniel Marsh, the General Manager, he will be only too happy to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    340
    313
    189
    175
See reviews for
218
440
69
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cropthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having booked, and paid for in full, the Valentines Dinner at this hotel, and travelled 150 miles for the event, my wife and I arrived, at the time booked, to be told that the dining room was closed for a private function. Although the hotel had our e-mail address, no advice to this effect was sent to us. We particularly chose this venue because we had booked the Valentines Dinner, two years ago, and were looking forward to repeating the experience. I find this sort of incompetence totally unacceptable from an establishment of this type.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sir, we are sorry but there appears to be some confusion here. The Hotel didn't put on any Valentine's Dinners this year as the hotel was fully booked with private functions.

I have been told that we tried to accommodate you for dinner, even though you didn't have a booking, so are sorry that you feel it necessary to leave such a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have to start by saying that my personal experience of this hotel was good. The breakfast was great, the hotel was well decorated, bar area is stylish with jazz fusion background music, and my room was well set out, clean and comfortable. The hotel could do with some minor work to the exterior, but the location is perfect, just a few steps from the beach and local amenities. There are only a few niggles that I have to mention, such as twice the bedding had a few dirt patches, the wifi signal in my room was shocking all week, and the lift doesn't feel the safest when more than two people enter. Overall though the weeks stay was good and I would definitely stay here again when I am next in Bournemouth.

However, I was here on business with a couple of colleagues who's experience was not as good as mine. It appears that some of the rooms, including my own, have had a major facelift, leaving the rest very outdated, and in some cases, should not be available. One of these rooms had a broken electric heated radiator that was very dangerous, the other had a strong smell of mould and the windows were so full of condensation that it was impossible to see out of. These rooms were small, very dirty, in desperate need of a revamp, and as stated in one case, quite dangerous.

To summarise, all I can really say is that this hotel is good value for money, in a great location and everything I look for when travelling on business. I would advise that you go for a room on either the first or second floor however as you may feel you have pulled the short straw!

Room Tip: Go for the first or second floor room - Mine was 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Provoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review! You are correct we are refurbishing the hotel and we are doing all of the rooms one by one. Please tell your colleagues that should they stay again, we would be only too happy to put them in one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My fiancé and I have just stayed at this hotel for a two day break, while visiting my daughter and son-in-law. What a deal with had, we bought a kgb voucher and for the price, we had a fantastic stay. The room was warm and comfortable and clean, the staff throughout our whole time, were at all times friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea with cakes galore and to finish off a lovely treatment each in the beauty spa, my facial was gorgeous and my fiancés massage was lovely he said. Again, staff were so friendly. It is very rare, to go to a hotel break and not find 'something' that went wrong or we didn't feel quite happy with, but on this occasion, everything was perfect. The breakfast, also included in the price, on both days was really nice. I will definitely recommend this particular deal if it comes up again, as what we got for our money was just fantastic! We will be down again in the summer and we will most definitely be looking to coming back to this hotel, right by the beach :) thank you all for our lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very dated and in need of a refit of the whole place there is not one area that is not shabby and tired although apparently they have had a refit !?

The bedrooms were horrible and cold poor facilities and not welcoming
The staff were as helpful as they could be considering what they had to work with


The

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank The_romantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Yes you are correct! We are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel. We would be only too happy to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms next time you stay in Bournemouth. Please speak to Daniel Marsh, our General Manager, who will be only too happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Booked this deal through groupon for spa day and afternoon tea. Got there and wish we had stopped at the entrance to the changing rooms! The female changing rooms were filthy, smelt of stale urine, only two dirty showers and even dirtier two cubicles. There weren't any lockers left so I had to get my partner to put my handbag in his locker and we carried the rest of our stuff through to the poolside. When we asked where the flip flops and robes where that are usually supplied at spa hotels we were told we could only get them if we had paid for extra treatments with the salon. So off we went through to the poolside with our bags to look for a nice lounger to relax on only to be met with hard wire seats and not a lounger in site. We got into the pool which was warm enough and then into the steam room with no steam. We were the only ones in the steam room at the time thankfully as it is so small we would have been hitting knees with any other guests. We came out of the steam room and off to the sauna which was off and needed to be left switched on for 15mins so we went to the jacuzzi to be greeted with who knows what at the bottom! It felt like the bottom had a layer of sand, vile! That was enough so we hit the showers. Again, filthy and another guest let out a shriek as the shower head fell off on her! It got to the point where you just had to laugh. We then headed up for afternoon tea which, shockingly, was v nice and great service from the waiter. It's just a pity that the spa facilities were so grubby!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are quite proud to be one of the largest spas in the area. We have exceptionally loyal clients who come to us regularly to enjoy our large selection of treatments by our highly qualified therapists.
We do have gorgeous dressing gowns and flip flops available for our guests also. Unfortunately on busy days, yes the lockers may all be in use.
The journey to the spa is often commented as being the 'beginning of the relaxation' with the therapeutic aromas that we have throughout the corridor and the warm ambience.
You will be able to see a list of treatments available on our website and our Facebook page (The Forever Gorgeous Spa) shows images of our two beautiful lounges, including the newly built 'Hideaway' lounge. Maybe next time you might like to visit for a treatment which we are sure you would find very relaxing, and enjoy a cup of tea or coffee in our Luxury Lounge.
We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and myself took ourselves off to lunch with Groupon Offer. for 3 course Sunday Lunch
I had phoned earlier to find out if we could park at hotel for lunch only as we werent guests and as weather looked appalling didnt want to chase about looking for parking places.
A really nice receptionist who answered my call said it was quite alright to park and if car park was full to come into reception whereby they would issue parking for across the road
We entered the restaurant to find tables really nicely laid with white tablecloths and a pianist playing piano beautifully (how nice is that)
The starters were perfect my homemade Crabcakes were served on a hot plate Hubby had Duck Pate with Onion marmalade.
We both chose Roast Beef it was delicious and huge homemade Yorkshire Puds . My husband asked for extra gravy as he always does and this was served immediately alongside Horseradish Sauce. No waiting here and as I glanced around the service was amazing!! Staff kept watchful eye on tables something sadly thats lacking in a lot of hotels therse days.
Hot spong ePudding with Custard. Or choice from set table Creme Brule'e Pannocotta or Lemon Posset or Fresh Fruit Salad.
Coffe with mints arrived after puddings no sitting around waiting.
What a delight not to grumble 10/10 Well done staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipwrecked56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We do hope we see you again at the Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#41 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing