We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. We loved the location and our bed was really comfortable. The concierge was very helpful and friendly even if we had so many requests!! Real value for money! Cheap hotel and great location, nice bar!! Will visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithIsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, we are very happy you had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again to The Queens Hotel, Bournemouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    342
    318
    194
    183
See reviews for
223
448
73
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Have just completed a 4 night boot camp at this hotel. The camp is run by Adrien Brody with assistance from 4 or 5 colleagues. There is plenty of variety in the classes available every day with the addition of an early morning beach walk and an evening stretch and relaxation class. You do not have to do every class and you can do as few or as many nights as you wish - the max is 5 nights. Wednesdays on our stay were the best as far as my friend and I were concerned as all of the classes that day were challenging and I'm guessing that there is a deliberate build up to this day - Thursday morning was pretty good too but I left that afternoon. A very pleasant surprise was the food offering at breakfast and dinner - there is a variety of dishes available at breakfast and a choice of 3 / 4 starters and main course dishes at dinner. From my own experience, comments and what I saw the quality was pretty good and the cost of the boot camp includes full board. Of course if you are here to lose weight you should choose your meals wisely although lots of people didn't! Lunch is meagre - soup and a roll which didn't feel enough if you are to spend most of the day exercising so my recommendation would be to increase the lunch offering and reduce the dinner menu by one course. (Or bring your own and ask for a fridge in your room). The pool area including sauna, steam and jacuzzi is smallish but fine although the female changing area is too small. The spa and staff seem very professional and I had a great and most welcome massage - included in the boot camp price too which is a nice touch - but they were very busy and could not accommodate any further treatments so I would recommend that you book your 'freebie' treatment and any additional treatments you want to pay for separately before you come! There us usually free time on the boot camp between 4.30 and dinner @ 6.30. Rooms are a bit jaded as are the upper floor areas but it is a 3 star hotel. Public areas are ok - the bar seems to have been recently updated. The staff however are practically all fantastic - friendly, helpful and efficient - they dealt well with the various ad hoc requests from our group and other guests' enjoyment did not seem compromised by our large presence. The downside of this boot camp which could be fairly significant is that there may be too many people on the camp - I got the impression that the hotel controlled the numbers rather than the guys who run the actual classes etc., this becomes a real issue for some participants if a) there are too many people who want to do a particular class say beach body conditioning v gliding (don't bother!) and b) even if there is a 50 /50 split of participants between the 2 classes on offer at the same time there may not be enough equipment to go around e.g. kettlebells of the appropriate weight. When either of these things happen there is little sympathy from the trainer involved and some participants were almost forced to do a class they didn't want to do or equipment had to be shared - it isn't ideal and should be handled better. These scenarios tend to occur mostly in the afternoons when the 5 / 6 classes on offer are all different. (In the mornings there are 4 classes - 2 of each type at opposite times). However if you are lucky enough to do all of the classes you want and with the appropriate equipment the classes are with a couple of exceptions really good; particularly 'get fit without getting hit ' and the trainers with a couple of exceptions are friendly and helpful - all of them know their stuff however. Overall this is a great and worthwhile experience if you join in and take it seriously depending on your reasons for being there but only worth doing if you get it at a Groupon (or similar) price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wilma2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review and your constructive feedback regarding the Bootcamp. I will make sure these points are raised with the organizers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Second time I have stayed here. Just spent the weekend there again. Impressed by the food and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The rooms could do with updating but the facilities provided are excelleny.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are currently updating the rooms, so would love it if you would come back and ask to stay in one of our refurbished rooms next time. Please speak to Daniel Marsh, the General Manager, he will be only too happy to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cropthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having booked, and paid for in full, the Valentines Dinner at this hotel, and travelled 150 miles for the event, my wife and I arrived, at the time booked, to be told that the dining room was closed for a private function. Although the hotel had our e-mail address, no advice to this effect was sent to us. We particularly chose this venue because we had booked the Valentines Dinner, two years ago, and were looking forward to repeating the experience. I find this sort of incompetence totally unacceptable from an establishment of this type.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sir, we are sorry but there appears to be some confusion here. The Hotel didn't put on any Valentine's Dinners this year as the hotel was fully booked with private functions.

I have been told that we tried to accommodate you for dinner, even though you didn't have a booking, so are sorry that you feel it necessary to leave such a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have to start by saying that my personal experience of this hotel was good. The breakfast was great, the hotel was well decorated, bar area is stylish with jazz fusion background music, and my room was well set out, clean and comfortable. The hotel could do with some minor work to the exterior, but the location is perfect, just a few steps from the beach and local amenities. There are only a few niggles that I have to mention, such as twice the bedding had a few dirt patches, the wifi signal in my room was shocking all week, and the lift doesn't feel the safest when more than two people enter. Overall though the weeks stay was good and I would definitely stay here again when I am next in Bournemouth.

However, I was here on business with a couple of colleagues who's experience was not as good as mine. It appears that some of the rooms, including my own, have had a major facelift, leaving the rest very outdated, and in some cases, should not be available. One of these rooms had a broken electric heated radiator that was very dangerous, the other had a strong smell of mould and the windows were so full of condensation that it was impossible to see out of. These rooms were small, very dirty, in desperate need of a revamp, and as stated in one case, quite dangerous.

To summarise, all I can really say is that this hotel is good value for money, in a great location and everything I look for when travelling on business. I would advise that you go for a room on either the first or second floor however as you may feel you have pulled the short straw!

Room Tip: Go for the first or second floor room - Mine was 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Provoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review! You are correct we are refurbishing the hotel and we are doing all of the rooms one by one. Please tell your colleagues that should they stay again, we would be only too happy to put them in one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My fiancé and I have just stayed at this hotel for a two day break, while visiting my daughter and son-in-law. What a deal with had, we bought a kgb voucher and for the price, we had a fantastic stay. The room was warm and comfortable and clean, the staff throughout our whole time, were at all times friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea with cakes galore and to finish off a lovely treatment each in the beauty spa, my facial was gorgeous and my fiancés massage was lovely he said. Again, staff were so friendly. It is very rare, to go to a hotel break and not find 'something' that went wrong or we didn't feel quite happy with, but on this occasion, everything was perfect. The breakfast, also included in the price, on both days was really nice. I will definitely recommend this particular deal if it comes up again, as what we got for our money was just fantastic! We will be down again in the summer and we will most definitely be looking to coming back to this hotel, right by the beach :) thank you all for our lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very dated and in need of a refit of the whole place there is not one area that is not shabby and tired although apparently they have had a refit !?

The bedrooms were horrible and cold poor facilities and not welcoming
The staff were as helpful as they could be considering what they had to work with


The

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank The_romantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Yes you are correct! We are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel. We would be only too happy to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms next time you stay in Bournemouth. Please speak to Daniel Marsh, our General Manager, who will be only too happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing