We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a few minor issues.”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value but a few minor issues.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Sunday night for a very reasonable price. Our party had two rooms. Our room was excellent and we have stayed at other 3 star hotels on the east cliff. The service from the reception and bar staff was excellent. The pool was enjoyed by all. The dinner was disappointing, fish was overcooked and the steak dish too salty. Our grandaughter had a childrens meal served in the bar and it was perfectly acceptable. Next time we visit I think we will try the bar meals as well. Having said that, the breakfast was good and it was hot.
Other reviews have commented on the parking facilities but this is common to many hotels in that area in that there is limited free parking.
We would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynetterothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so pleased you had a pleasurable stay with your party. And thank you for your comments on the parking; parking is limited all around this area, especially for hotels. We are very fortunate to be able to offer as much unlimited free parking for our guests as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    346
    319
    197
    186
See reviews for
225
454
74
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our stay was a nightmare from start to finish. We were given the keys to an already occupied room which as you can imagine was highly embarrasing for both parties! We were then swapped to a room where the toilet didn't flush and the shower holder was so loose you had no choice but to hand hold the shower to wash. Due to this we were moved rooms again only to be in a room with the same shower problem but now a sink that did not drain away. We found the service at the hotel was very slow and the staff did not seem to know what they were doing. There was lot's of waiting for tables and having to ask for menus & to have drinks orders taken during dinner service and staff not knowing the menus and what was available.
The senior members of staff were very helpful and tried to quickly ammend the wrongs but unfortunately by this point we were too let down for it to make a difference.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms as the old ones are not fit for service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are refurbishing our hotel and so would be only too happy to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms should you return to Bournemouth in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Maidstone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel on a groupon voucher, having read the reviews I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a perfectly good 3 star hotel the rooms are ok and the spa is lovely. The problem, in my opinion, in actually with service related issues. Any problem which you have is just not addressed until you press the staff and partly this is caused by the large amount of foreign staff who simply do not understand either what you are saying or how to deal with you. I reported that in my room the tv only received bbc and bbc2 and that the kettle boiled without stopping what happened - nothing! There was a man in reception complaining about his room the receptionist gave him the keys to another he raised his eyebrows and said had that one already - that ones worse... There seems to be no communication between the receptionists and no way of a room being 'closed' whilst the problems with if are sorted they just move people around! In the restaurant it's fine unless you need to ask a question and then once again it all falls apart! I have no objection to foreign staff but they need to be trained and most importantly they have to understand enough English (and our culture) so that if you do have a need to complain they know the proper responses and understand that being confrontational with the British is not conducive to a happy hotel guest!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We work with the local council and a scheme that helps to get local 16-24 year olds into employment. It works well and we have had very positive responses previously, so are sorry that you did not experience the same. We hope that you will visit us again in the future so we can restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for a Bootcamp courtesy of Groupon and 5 nights stay cost £200. This was a fantastic price but there were a few areas for improvement.

The hotel itself was in a great location, close to the town and very close to the beach. I understand that there is a refurbishment in process and my room appeared to be one of the rooms that had been updated. It was a good size and had tea making facilities and a TV. However there were a few areas that could definitely be improved: the shower was terrible and had barely any water pressure; I was awoken at various times by a loud banging noise that appeared to be the heating kicking in - other guests also experienced this; the heating seemed to have a life of it's own and I had to open the windows to get some air in the room, however I could only keep them open by using a mug to stop it closing! However, some people had a much worse experience and had to keep moving rooms to find one where they could get a full nights sleep, due to constant banging from the heating system. Take earplugs with you!

The spa area was adequate but small - 3 people in the steam room and you are basically touching knees! As with the rest of the hotel, this area seemed very outdated.

The bootcamp was very hit and miss. If you have been to other bootcamps (and most people had), don't expect the type of results that you got at previous ones. There is a lot of 'down' time and you could have fitted in a lot more classes. The menu was a 'healthy' version of the main menu but the hotel was unable to cope with any dietary requirements. The staff seemed totally ignorant of the food they were serving up and apparently at one point offered fish as a vegan option... Some of the bootcamp staff members seemed to prioritise selling food supplements and appeared to have limited knowledge when they were dispensing nutritional advice. We were advised to have 150 calorie snacks but then they served up 250 calories of flapjacks every day - maybe the trainers were on commission for these as well!

Please be aware that there are no classes scheduled in for the final day (the trainers blamed the hotel for the miscommunication and vice versa...) so anyone staying on the Thursday night were basically just staying for breakfast and a weigh in.

Overall, it was a cheap option, but there are definitely some key areas for improvement that would encourage more people to book again.

Room Tip: 4th floor have been refurbished but have dreadful showers, lower floors are in need of a makeover an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaleandhearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We will take your comments on board and pass on to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just back from a weekend away at the Queens Spa Hotel. A very mixed bag to review.

We were in room 420.

Bathroom was well furnished (nicely tiled etc) but the shower was so weak you were almost stood up against the wall to get under it!

Bedroom - a bit too much 70's brown and beige going on for my liking. But large, comfy and clean.

The bedroom walls were paper thin. On one side we had a man talking loudly on his phone for a long time when we first got there, and on the other we had to listen far too clearly to the couple next door late at night as they "shared sseveral intimate moments" far too loudly from 11pm till 1am...and I'm not exaggerating!

Spa - great! A nice pool area and sauna and steam room were good.

Breakfast - superb cooked buffet - no cheap ingredients...good quality bacon and sausages, and plenty of cereals etc.

Dinner - very good value for money for guests, but accept the fact that in a large hotel it's not all necessarily cooked to order. Good portions and tasty though.

Staff - busy but always with a smile on their faces and polite.

If the rooms get refurbished more and the sound problem can somehow be fixed, it would be a nice overall package.

Room Tip: Just hope you don't get next to young amorous noisy couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! We are very happy that your overall stay was good and will pass on your comments to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Went for an afternoon tea, except for the scones everything was basic nit for a 4*hotel. SPA apparently was fully booked (looked completely empty) I called to book but they never answered or returned my call/voicemail. Facilities are dated, changing room is small, not even a plug to use my own hairdryer, so paid for a Spa break and had 2 hours of swimming pool as no other choice. Disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AOW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are quite pleased that you think we are a 4* hotel, however we are, for the time being, a 3* hotel. The spa is extremely popular and can only assume that on that day everyone was in treatment; hence the quietness as it is also an area of relaxation.

With regard to the hairdryer in the changing room, unfortunately Heath & Safety would not allow the use of electrical equipment that hasn't been thoroughly tested and approved, therefore we can't allow guests to use their own hairdryers in these areas.

If you do decide to visit us again, we would be only too happy to offer you a newly refurbished room and liaise with the Spa directly at the time of booking to ensure you receive a relaxing treatment during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I have never had to be change 3 times from room to room, and I do travel quite a lot. First room was the size of a phoneboxe and the springs of the bed were well warned off. Second, there was not hot water and -of course maintenance wasnt in until the following morning. Then, the heater wasnt working and the window would not close (3 people came to try closing it). All the windows are well old, have drafts (were broken or not), and you can see ducktape around them (I saw 3 rooms). Staff was nice enough and try to help, but of course they can not overcome worne&tear problems which they just need replacement rather maintenance.

Good luch if you are planning to stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are in the process of refurbishing all our bedrooms. If you visit Bournemouth again please do speak to our duty manager who would be only too happy to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing