We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Celebrity(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Green House(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Burley Court Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,550)
Filter reviews
1,550 results
Traveller rating
353
388
362
223
224
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
388
362
223
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboot campevening mealthe clifftown centrebootcampdiscocoachpier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 1,550 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Sunday night for a very reasonable price. Our party had two rooms. Our room was excellent and we have stayed at other 3 star hotels on the east cliff. The service from the reception and bar staff was excellent. The pool was enjoyed by all. The dinner was disappointing, fish was overcooked and the steak dish too salty. Our grandaughter had a childrens meal served in the bar and it was perfectly acceptable. Next time we visit I think we will try the bar meals as well. Having said that, the breakfast was good and it was hot.
Other reviews have commented on the parking facilities but this is common to many hotels in that area in that there is limited free parking.
We would visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynetterothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so pleased you had a pleasurable stay with your party. And thank you for your comments on the parking; parking is limited all around this area, especially for hotels. We are very fortunate to be able to offer as much unlimited free parking for our guests as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our stay was a nightmare from start to finish. We were given the keys to an already occupied room which as you can imagine was highly embarrasing for both parties! We were then swapped to a room where the toilet didn't flush and the shower holder was so loose you had no choice but to hand hold the shower to wash. Due to this we were moved rooms again only to be in a room with the same shower problem but now a sink that did not drain away. We found the service at the hotel was very slow and the staff did not seem to know what they were doing. There was lot's of waiting for tables and having to ask for menus & to have drinks orders taken during dinner service and staff not knowing the menus and what was available.
The senior members of staff were very helpful and tried to quickly ammend the wrongs but unfortunately by this point we were too let down for it to make a difference.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms as the old ones are not fit for service.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are refurbishing our hotel and so would be only too happy to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms should you return to Bournemouth in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We visited the hotel on a groupon voucher, having read the reviews I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a perfectly good 3 star hotel the rooms are ok and the spa is lovely. The problem, in my opinion, in actually with service related issues. Any problem which you have is just not addressed until you press the staff and partly this is caused by the large amount of foreign staff who simply do not understand either what you are saying or how to deal with you. I reported that in my room the tv only received bbc and bbc2 and that the kettle boiled without stopping what happened - nothing! There was a man in reception complaining about his room the receptionist gave him the keys to another he raised his eyebrows and said had that one already - that ones worse... There seems to be no communication between the receptionists and no way of a room being 'closed' whilst the problems with if are sorted they just move people around! In the restaurant it's fine unless you need to ask a question and then once again it all falls apart! I have no objection to foreign staff but they need to be trained and most importantly they have to understand enough English (and our culture) so that if you do have a need to complain they know the proper responses and understand that being confrontational with the British is not conducive to a happy hotel guest!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We work with the local council and a scheme that helps to get local 16-24 year olds into employment. It works well and we have had very positive responses previously, so are sorry that you did not experience the same. We hope that you will visit us again in the future so we can restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for a Bootcamp courtesy of Groupon and 5 nights stay cost £200. This was a fantastic price but there were a few areas for improvement.

The hotel itself was in a great location, close to the town and very close to the beach. I understand that there is a refurbishment in process and my room appeared to be one of the rooms that had been updated. It was a good size and had tea making facilities and a TV. However there were a few areas that could definitely be improved: the shower was terrible and had barely any water pressure; I was awoken at various times by a loud banging noise that appeared to be the heating kicking in - other guests also experienced this; the heating seemed to have a life of it's own and I had to open the windows to get some air in the room, however I could only keep them open by using a mug to stop it closing! However, some people had a much worse experience and had to keep moving rooms to find one where they could get a full nights sleep, due to constant banging from the heating system. Take earplugs with you!

The spa area was adequate but small - 3 people in the steam room and you are basically touching knees! As with the rest of the hotel, this area seemed very outdated.

The bootcamp was very hit and miss. If you have been to other bootcamps (and most people had), don't expect the type of results that you got at previous ones. There is a lot of 'down' time and you could have fitted in a lot more classes. The menu was a 'healthy' version of the main menu but the hotel was unable to cope with any dietary requirements. The staff seemed totally ignorant of the food they were serving up and apparently at one point offered fish as a vegan option... Some of the bootcamp staff members seemed to prioritise selling food supplements and appeared to have limited knowledge when they were dispensing nutritional advice. We were advised to have 150 calorie snacks but then they served up 250 calories of flapjacks every day - maybe the trainers were on commission for these as well!

Please be aware that there are no classes scheduled in for the final day (the trainers blamed the hotel for the miscommunication and vice versa...) so anyone staying on the Thursday night were basically just staying for breakfast and a weigh in.

Overall, it was a cheap option, but there are definitely some key areas for improvement that would encourage more people to book again.

Room Tip: 4th floor have been refurbished but have dreadful showers, lower floors are in need of a makeover and can be noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaleandhearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We will take your comments on board and pass on to the relevant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just back from a weekend away at the Queens Spa Hotel. A very mixed bag to review.

We were in room 420.

Bathroom was well furnished (nicely tiled etc) but the shower was so weak you were almost stood up against the wall to get under it!

Bedroom - a bit too much 70's brown and beige going on for my liking. But large, comfy and clean.

The bedroom walls were paper thin. On one side we had a man talking loudly on his phone for a long time when we first got there, and on the other we had to listen far too clearly to the couple next door late at night as they "shared sseveral intimate moments" far too loudly from 11pm till 1am...and I'm not exaggerating!

Spa - great! A nice pool area and sauna and steam room were good.

Breakfast - superb cooked buffet - no cheap ingredients...good quality bacon and sausages, and plenty of cereals etc.

Dinner - very good value for money for guests, but accept the fact that in a large hotel it's not all necessarily cooked to order. Good portions and tasty though.

Staff - busy but always with a smile on their faces and polite.

If the rooms get refurbished more and the sound problem can somehow be fixed, it would be a nice overall package.

Room Tip: Just hope you don't get next to young amorous noisy couples!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We are very happy that your overall stay was good and will pass on your comments to the relevant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews