We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My friend and I had a kgb deal for this place and for £55 each we had 2 nights, 2 breakfasts, afternoon tea (with cava) and a 30 minute massage.

First thing to say is that the reception and spa staff are great. Staff in the bar and restaurant were a little less helpful, but those on reception really stood out.

The room we had was dated (not one that had been refurbished) but was clean, as was the bathroom. The beds were comfy.

The massage was great but the gym and pool are in need of improvement. The spa has a lovely relaxing waiting room with daybeds.

Food is nothing special but you do get a hot breakfast thrown in.

I gave this place 4 stars because it was such good deal and it is 30 seconds to the clifftop and the views are gorgeous. It is about the same as a Travelodge but with a spa and food thrown in.

If you have high standards avoid this, but if you just want to get away and you can get a great deal like we did, go for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missmairw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had such a good time at the Queens and enjoyed your stay. We pass on good feedback to our staff. Thank you and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for The Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and was concerned over some of the bad reviews.
However.... Room was in fact a suite, it was enormous and all nice fresh decor. Huge bathroom to match, even had bathrobes and chocolates.
Staff were helpful and pleasant and service quick and efficient.
Food was really good and waiting staff friendly. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and inviting, also cost of spa treatments were affordable. Situated right near to the beach, where you can stroll along to the town. This hotel has everything you could need and more! Even had a fridge in the room that lots of 4 star hotels don't provide. My advice... Take no notice of the negative comments, the hotel has been refurbished!! Would def recommend and I am looking to book here again in the next couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilldobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased you had such a pleasant stay at The Queens Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the next couple of weeks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good service friendly team average acomadation not bad not the best but price was good overall not bad would probably use again but all the stiff doors in the rooms were a pain can here people banging them alot through the night

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undergroundrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review! We are very glad you find us value for money. Being in such a fantastic location, we are so pleased that we can be competitive in affordability to all. We do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I recently stayed at The Queens and had a very nice stay. My room was very nice with a great view and had what looked like a newly fitted bathroom. Breakfast was very nice and hot with a good selection. The bar staff were very chatty and happy. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesRW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to comment. We will be sure to let the staff know, and hopefully see you again at the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here some years ago and was expecting same level of stay o dear booked two rooms single and double , the single room had no working tv as the socket had been ripped out and needed rewiring. Mains sockets loose on wall no testing of appliances and no hot water or working shower could have p####ed faster. No cups in bathroom the list continues. Tired and dated I also liked the managements advise to ask for earplugs if noisy great if the fire alarm rings I'm guessing.
Double room was a little better was still looking tired with wall paper torn and no hot water. Will not be returning......

Room Tip: Ask for refurbed front rooms. Away from lift shafts.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. Please, if you do return to Bournemouth, ask to stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms, where we are sure you would have a very pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went to this very pleasant Hotel for Sunday Lunch, the dining room was nicely set out and table linen immaculate, staff attentive and friendly, a nice young manwas playing a keyboard not too loudly so didn't drown out conversation. We have had better meals in other hotels but even so this was very good. I would recommend this hotel restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. We will pass on your comments to our staff and look forward to seeing you again at the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends for Sunday afternoon tea using a voucher
They were very good with us taking our daughter (no charge) and the food was plentiful and very good, but the room lacked any atmosphere (large room only a few tables) and the music ran out and got left for ages.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 1Julie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that the music ran out! we'll be sure to bring this up with the relevant staff. We are glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea at the hotel and do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,033 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing