We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Dining”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 1 April 2014

As a family, we had an excellent time on Mothers Day in the restaurant. Decor was just lovely. Lunch was absolutely delicious and plentiful. Restaurant staff very attentive. Reception staff very welcoming. Talented pianist entertained us throughout. Even flowers presented to all the Mothers! Everything was totally perfect. My 10 year old granddaughter was made especially welcome. Thanks to everyone involved.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank 55sheilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Wonderful! So glad you had such a lovely time and your granddaughter too. We do hope to see you again in the future at The Queens hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for The Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Paid 120 pounds for 3 nights in a single room, no problems with the room, apart from excessively hot,and window shook every time a gust of wind whipped up, but hey ho. The lift however was the most annoying thing,as my room was close to it, every time the doors opened there was a terrible scraping noise, and inside the lift door a huge scratch, so obviously, something is scraping along the door every time it opened and closed, i would fix that,especially as there are guests bedrooms within close proximity, The bar was very relaxing and drinks good price, apart from the general managers office in the bar,and i heard some poor lad who worked there getting fired from his job, not good when guests around hearing that. Did not use the pool and stuff, As i was relatively young man on my own, i felt a bit out of place, the hotel does seem to lean towards the older generation more, or maybe that was me, think more of a mixture of ages would be nicer. Overall a good hotel, that commands an impressive location, which is why i chose to stay. Would i stay again, with all respects... No.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are more than happy to relocate our guests (if possible) if unhappy with the room they have been given, by just contacting reception and expressing your wishes. We are glad you found the bar relaxing, and we do have a very wide range of guests that stay with us, in the summer months especially you will see more families. If you did visit Bournemouth again we would be only too happy to offer you one of our newly refurbished rooms. Please do speak to our Duty Manager and hopefully we can restore your faith in The Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

if this hotel was called great stay it would be correct, i havr spent 4 nights there with my mother in February and it was a 'great stay' everything was good the staff, the food, although i didnt experience it my mother said the spa was really very theraputic. so we will definatly use this hotel again.

Nigel H
Essex

Room Tip: Away from the lift
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Than you for your excellent review. We are so glad that you had such a pleasant stay with us at The Queens Hotel.
We do look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My friend and I booked a spa day through Highlife deals with two treatments.

We booked on a Thursday when they are open until 8. We arrived at 3.30 after finishing work.

The lobby of the hotel had the distinct odour of toilets and is incredibly dated. We asked about the spa at reception and were told where to go after being given the pin for the security doors! The 'Spa' is NOT a spa. I have enjoyed quite a few spa days at various locations in Bournemouth and elsewhere but this was something else entirely.

On arrival there were people's bags littered through 'reception' and shoved under the desk and the place was generally a mess. We were asked to sit in their 'relaxation lounge' and fill in a form which we did. We asked is there were refreshments and the staff member told us to help ourselves to tea and coffee. There were a few cups on the side with a jug of milk. The milk had clearly been there for sometime as it was room temperature and smelled grim, there was also a fly floating in it which was a sign of things to come....

We were given robes and slippers along with a towel and shown through the dingy corridors to the 'changing rooms'. The corridor was so narrow the poor girl having her nails done had to get up from her chair to let us pass - she had to do this everytime anyone passed through the corridor! It got worse. The changing rooms are dire. Basically there was a bit of partitioning with some curtains to change in and the place was FILTHY!! There were plastic wrappers from the slippers all left on the floor, the towel bin was overflowing and the lockers were so old and broken they didn't work. We were told we could leave our bags at reception, which was left unattended most of the time. This did explain why there were bags everywhere when we arrived though. We were pretty horrified but thought we would give the pool area a chance and duly got changed to go and have a look... the slippers are like hospital slippers and my robe had a giant hole in it. They were pretty poor quality anyway but the staff blamed the tumble dryer. The showers were dirty and there was only two of them. The website describes this place is a luxury spa. This it is NOT.

The pool area was something else. It smelled so strongly of chlorine and the water was cloudy. We didn't venture in because the pool area in general was so filthy. The seating area comprised a couple of cheap plastic chairs...The whole place is out of the 70s. The wallpaper was hanging off the walls and the suspended ceiling tiles were mouldy and discoloured. Overall feeling was dank. The floor in the changing area was dirty and wet with soap scum and so was really slippery. The staff member who showed us to the 'spa' didn't seem shocked or fazed by any of this so I must assume it's the norm.

We decided to get dressed and go to the bar upstairs for a cup of tea as the 'spa' facilities were non-existent and return for our treatments which were booked later. The bar upstairs was in the same vein. The tables were all dirty strewn with dirty cups and glasses. No staff to be seen. We left the premises to have coffee elsewhere.

We decided to risk it and return for the treatments. I have to say that the treatment room was much cleaner and more modern than the rest of the 'spa' generally and the girls who did the treatments were very sweet. We had a massage and facial but they were very basic treatments. The products were ok but were in no way luxurious and my facial left my face feeling tight at the end.

Overall this place is grim and is certainly NOT a spa. If they just stuck to the treatments here it might have been acceptable, not nice but acceptable, but do NOT go here expecting a spa day. You will be extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we do have security for entrance to the spa and we are quite proud to be one of the largest spas in the area. We have exceptionally loyal clients who come to us regularly to enjoy our large selection of treatments by our highly qualified therapists.
We can only apologize for the milk, the girls must have been back-to-back in treatments, as thursday is one of our busiest days, but I can assure you that the milk is changed regularly.
We are in the process of replacing our dressing gowns and slippers as yes, they can get damaged in the tumble dryer.
The spa facilities are some of the best in the area and we are very proud of our relaxation lounge and our new 'Hideaway' lounge and double treatment room.
If you visit our website at www.forevergorgeous.co.uk you will be able to see a list of treatments available and our Facebook page (The Forever Gorgeous Spa) shows images of our two beautiful lounges.
I would like to reassure any future clients thinking of visiting the spa that our spa is a very well respected and well loved spa in Bournemouth and to please not let this review deter you from coming to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We just stayed at the queens hotel in Bournemouth for the 3rd time and it was excellent yet again. The staff, the food, the spa. It is obviously a very popular hotel because each time we have been there it has been full, even the General Manager took time out to come and say thanks for staying again. My wife had a couple of sessions in the spa and said it was wonderful, probably the best she has ever had (and she has had a lot) I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

W Lucas
Battle

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your excellent review! We are so glad you continue to have such lovely experiences when you stay at The Queens Hotel. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Typical pictures had been taken to make pool look big ! Tiny I have a leisure centre near me that was bigger ! Me and mates went for afternoon tea ! Tea was amazing but u go down stairs and it's like something from a horror movie . Changing rooms are tiny only 2 curtained of sections ? No toilets in changing room and couldn't fit more than 6 women in there. Sauna is for 3 people tops and the steam room fits 2 in and everyone's legs touch where it is so narrow !! I never write reviews but this was the worst hotel I've been too for a spa day?! Didnt feel relaxed atall especially cos there's a camera over pool that everyone can see u from in reception on a big screen ?

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xoxojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea. We are in the middle of a refurbishment throughout the hotel. Sorry you didn't feel your spa experience was what it should have been. Perhaps you should return and use our Forever Gorgeous Day Spa for a lovely relaxing treatment next time and see the true extent to our spa. We do take security seriously and the cameras above the pool area are for your own safety as there is not a lifeguard on duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked a spa day with afternoon tea for four for a friends birthday, which was an offer on Groupon.
You would think when getting a deal on groupon that it is worth a lot more than you pay
Well, I would be shocked if anyone paid as much as we did to go there knowing what it is like!

We arrived and were informed at reception that there would be no available lockers in the changing rooms so had to leave our valuables with them.
we were not given any towels, slippers or gowns like you would normally expect on what was sold to us as a 'spa day'..

When we found our way down the dingy stairs to the so called spa we found a cupboard like changing room with everyones stuff just dumped on the floor and lockers that were all broken.
Im not exaggerating when I say there was only enough room for about 5 people to get changed with a squash.

The pool was tiny with low ceiling making it seems very dingy. the Jacuzzi could fit about 4 people, and we never got a change to go in it. (people were actually stalking it waiting for someone to get out)
The steam room tiny with only 4 seats (one of which if you sat down you got your legs burnt as the steam came out from behind it)
The sauna was also like a cupboard.

We had our afternoon tea booked for 3:30 and the reception lady did look rather shocked when we arrived at 12:30 expecting to use the pool etc in the 'spa' .
We ended up spending about half an hour in the pool before we froze so asked to have our tea moved to 2oclock which they did do..

The bar staff were having some sort of argument over who bothered to serve people and were not very friendly.

Overall we were very disappointed with our visit, although we cannot comment on rooms and the restaurant as we did not stay the night.

Good location right on the front though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 117natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We are quite proud to be one of the largest spas in the area. We have exceptionally loyal clients who come to us regularly to enjoy our large selection of treatments by our highly qualified therapists.
We do have gorgeous dressing gowns and flip flops available for our guests also. Unfortunately on busy days, yes the lockers may all be in use.
The journey to the spa is often commented as being the 'beginning of the relaxation' with the therapeutic aromas that we have throughout the corridor and the warm ambience.
You will be able to see a list of treatments available on our website and our Facebook page (The Forever Gorgeous Spa) shows images of our two beautiful lounges, including the newly built 'Hideaway' lounge. Maybe next time you might like to visit for a treatment which we are sure you would find very relaxing, and enjoy a cup of tea or coffee in our Luxury Lounge.
We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,033 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing