We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not book”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel paid £170 for two night spa break and was disappointed from start to finish. The bed in the room looked like it should have been thrown out 15 years ago. The afternoon tea was terrible, wafer thin ham is not what you expect for £20. The spa is absolutely disgusting. The changing rooms were dirty, the lockers were broke and to be given a complementary towel that was stained and frayed is beyond words. I would never stay at this hotel again, first impressions count and from the onset I was let down. The biggest upset came on day two when a chav tastic wedding was taking place and we had to pack our cases and switch rooms at 11pm at night. We were directly above the function room and the noise was ridiculous . My break was ruined, the hotel has a lot to change and I think it's time they actually read the reviews and made changes

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MIranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We have read your response and are sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel, you may have seen some works being carried out during your stay, however some areas are yet to be completed.
We do hold weddings in the hotel, but I don't feel it's fair to categorize the weddings that take place, especially not in public on Trip Advisor. We do make sure that all music is turned right down to a suitable level at a reasonable time so that our hotel guests are not disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    357
    329
    204
    196
See reviews for
244
473
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The positives - quite a lot of onsite parking, friendly and professional staff, reasonable value, reasonable food & a spacious bedroom.

The major negative - we had absolutely NO SLEEP due to the shocking absence of acoustic insulation between rooms and floors. You could hear conversations from all adjoining rooms, even drawers being slid shut, but the 'icing on the cake' was the stag party above who held a noisy gathering in their room from 5 a.m. for 2 hours. We have lived and stayed in countless older properties before of all eras (i.e. long before acoustic buildings regulations), each with varying degrees of later insulation which does temper noise levels, but never as non-existent & noisy as the Queens Hotel. The hotel is fully aware because they have a poster up offering ear plugs (which made no difference due to impact sound of feet), and the night porter did ask the group above to quieten down, but all to no avail. We gladly departed as early as possible.

Perhaps guests respectful of others stay in the week, away from weekends, but we won't be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on Fridays & Saturdays, and ensure that you are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Snowsublime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback for us. We are glad you were happy with most of your experience at the Queens hotel. Sadly, it's unfortunate that it must have been a busy night with a few groups staying with us when you stayed. We rarely hear that the noise is this much of a nuisance and we're very sorry that you won't be returning. However, should you decide to return, we would be more than happy to accommodate you in a refurbished room, on the top floor. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the queens hotel on a spa deal. It was terrible. The room was old and run down and felt dirty. It was a real let down. I would not choose to stay here again. We had breakfast however most of the hot items were cold as was the coffee. Our stay was not an enjoyable, relaxing time but rather wanted to leave straight away.

The spa was great and treatment was lovely too. We would come back for a spa day but not overnight. The rooms and service let it down completely.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Serahsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of refurbishing the accommodation and we are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. If you do return, we would be only too happy to place you in one of our newly refurbished rooms. Thank you for your comments on the Spa, we will pass on your feedback to them directly. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here on a business trip and very much enjoyed the stay. My room was on the 4th floor, very spacious and looked to have been refurbished. The only drawback was the lack of heating as the radiator was not working. I was quickly given a heater when I mentioned this to reception. I also requested a bathrobe which was also delivered to my room, excellent service. Breakfast was lovely and offered everything to hand, a self service buffet. The hotel seem popular with large groups staying. I ate in the bar a couple of evenings served by the excellent bar staff. The car park seemed a little too small for the numbers staying at the hotel, as quite often cars were blocked in by other vehicles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass on your feedback to our staff too. We are very lucky to be able to offer the majority of our guests parking, as parking is very limited in Bournemouth hotels. Sometimes when it's very busy, we do allow guests to double park, providing they let us know. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The service in the restaurant was a little slow and I didn't take advantage of the Spa facilities, otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay.
Staff were polite and friendly, room comfortable and clean and tidy

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Queens Hotel and do hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had to stay in Bournemouth recently for business and decided to take my family and book into a family hotel. This hotel was recommended to us by some friends that stayed there last year.

Whilst I was on business during the day my family used the pool area, and my wife had a spa treatment which she said was great. The family room we had was a little dated but very comfortable and the location was very close to the beach and the town. The breakfast we had was very good indeed, we did not eat in the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment on the food although my wife heard some other guest say that it was good. Probably better than the place where we ate in the town.

Although we're British we live in the USA and I would say that it was comparable to most hotels I stay at in the US. The staff did seem to be enjoying their job which is important. I would recommend this hotel to a family if you want to stay by the sea.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Queens Hotel. Please let us know if you plan to return to Bournemouth as we would love to offer you one of our newly refurbished rooms next time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

As a family, we had an excellent time on Mothers Day in the restaurant. Decor was just lovely. Lunch was absolutely delicious and plentiful. Restaurant staff very attentive. Reception staff very welcoming. Talented pianist entertained us throughout. Even flowers presented to all the Mothers! Everything was totally perfect. My 10 year old granddaughter was made especially welcome. Thanks to everyone involved.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 55sheilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Wonderful! So glad you had such a lovely time and your granddaughter too. We do hope to see you again in the future at The Queens hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing