We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Maybe this hotel was okay in the 60s but not in 2014. Avoid if you can. Rude staff with an attitude when checking in or asking for information. The rooms are old and the bed is uncomfortable. Gym is small but I could say that is the best part that this hotel has to offer.

Breakfast is really poor and not good quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LadyBB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and should you return to Bournemouth, we would recommend requesting a newly refurbished room (as not all the rooms are completed). Please do speak with the Duty Manager when booking who would be only too happy to arrange this. Our staff so often receive such wonderful feedback and i'm regularly seen congratulating them on good feedback. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a disappointment!

Visited this hotel last weekend and words cannot begin to explain how diabolical the place is. As you can see from my other reviews I am usually very fair and tend to have something positive to say.

On arrival we couldn`t get a parking space in the car park as it was so busy so parked out on the street. We accepted this as it was late on a Friday night however the response I got from the male receptionist was well it`s a busy hotel and he just walked off! and left another receptionist to deal with us. We discovered the following morning that there is in fact free parking across the road in the nearby college car park so not sure why we were not told and issued with a pass on the Friday night to save parking in the street (you have to pay from 0900).

There was only one small hand towel for the two of us in the room. I complained to reception in the morning and they said they would arrange for towels to be delivered. I assumed that after the room had been cleaned for the morning that we`d have towels but the hand towel from the previous night was moved from the towel rack onto the top of the shower (heated towel rack didn`t work nor did the extractor fan which looks like it`s never been cleaned. Also smelt like someone had poured half a bottle of harpic down the toilet the smell was extremely overpowering).

On asking reception if we could use the pool we were told that no towels were available and advised that we would have to dry ourselves with a dressing gown - how disgusting!!! I refused to do this and the female receptionist seeing my disgust said she would try her best to find us some towels.

The receptionist came back with two towels for the pool to which we were grateful for however I stupidly left my towel at the changing rooms (as per the instructions) assuming that by now we would surely have towels available in the room. Still no towels! I came across a cleaner in the hallway who said that the towels were all in the dryer and she would bring some up soon. Towels finally arrived but they were hand towels and was told that was all they had. How many times do you have to ask for a towel?

Next onto the leisure club - I have never seen anything like this and am so glad I didn`t book a spa day and would most definitely advise against this. The pool was freezing cold (definately not 30C as advised) and the water extremely cloudy, the sauna didn`t work was stone cold and the jacuzzi is bordering on a health hazard the water is green, with loose grit under foot, again no heat and the area outside of the jacuzzi was flooded with the grates fully open and all broken up in several places.

On first inspection our room looked ok and was a fair size but the top of the window catch was broken with parts missing which meant that it couldn`t be shut properly. Friday night in Bournemouth is extremely noisy with hen and stag nights - we accept this as the norm for Bournemouth but we do expect to be able to shut the window and for it to offer some form of noise protection which was most definitely not the case. Woke up on Saturday morning feeling really sick from sleep deprivation and the bed was extremely uncomfortable.

I understand from other reviews that the hotel is going through a period of refurbishment but there was no mention of this when we checked in. Based on what we have seen they would be better off closing until refurbishment work is completed.

Also on another note the shampoo and shower gel were just very cheap sachets and not bottles (I noticed when we checked out the maid had the usual hotel bottles of shampoo and shower gels- is this because we booked with expedia and not direct - most strange?

I have had much better experiences in budget accommodation such as Premier Inn and Travelodge and most definitely will not be coming back and want to make sure others are aware so they don`t have to face the same problems we encountered during our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank holidaymaker1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected and not sure why there was an issue with the towels, but we will look into that.
With regard to the pool, obviously the temperature range that the human body can withstand is very wide, which is why individual preferences can vary so much; but there is a ceiling on pool water temperature to prevent the proliferation of bacteria as micro-organisms multiply faster – up to twice as fast for a rise of 10°C, which means that the filters are increasingly likely to be colonised. Additionally the warmer the pool water the less effective the chlorine based disinfectants are. This is why we keep it at around 29 degrees so that it is safe for anyone to use.
The Jacuzzi is run by a sand filter and so those grains that you may feel under your feet, are simply the grains that the filter uses to keep the water clean. And the water does sometimes look green due to the lighting, however can assure you it is completely safe.
We do hope that you will return again in the future so that we can restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

8 of us came here for a spa day and afternoon tea last week as a little treat for my hen do, so that the mums could be involved. The leisure facilities were awful! The pool was small and cold, too unbearable for me to get in. The jacuzzi was no bigger than my bath at home and the floor of the jacuzzi was full of grit and there was lots of hair floating on the surface. The steam room was out of order. The complementary towels were small, rough, frayed and stained. We literally stayed in the leisure facilities for no longer than 30 minutes before we all decided to get changed and head for the bar instead.

That said, the afternoon tea was lovely and the fresh warm scones with the clotted cream were to die for!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank chersteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your spa day wasn't what you expected, but we do regularly maintain our spa facilities. We are in the process of updating and refurbishing the hotel and some areas are still to be completed. We are so glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea and do hope that you will return in the future and that we can restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This review is on behalf of the spa day booking we had where it includes afternoon tea and use of the facilities and therefore cannot comment on the hotel side.

We had booked the Afternoon Tea first then went to use all the facilities after. My three friends and I were greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed us to a table. We were then offered some prosecco and a hot drink. Following the drinks we were presented with scones, jams and cream as well as sandwiches and cakes. The variety of sandwiches was poor, we were only given two types between four of us... Would have been nice to have a selection. Other than that the afternoon tea wasn't too bad..

The only reason as to why I am writing a review is because of the 'spa' facilities. We didn't book into any treatments so also cannot comment on that. However, the swimming pool was absolutely freezing that we couldn't even go in there and you couldn't even see the bottom of the pool it was so dirty. There were children in there and if I was a parent I would not have let them in. It was way too cold and filthy. As we didn't go into the pool we decided to go into the 'jacuzzi', jesus it was horrific. It was the size of a bath and I am not joking when I say the water looked GREEN! It was disgusting! My friend being adventurous went into it, there were no bubbles and she said all she could feel at the bottom was sand!

The only good thing about the facilities was the hot sauna and steam room otherwise we would have asked for a refund. We only spent 45 mins in the pool area and 1 hr for afternoon tea. It was supposed to be a nice spa day...

They cannot sell spa days to people and provide those sort of facilities. They really need to enhance cleaning of the pool area and have a refurbishment of some sort.

Overall very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review and we are sorry your stay was not what you expected. With regard to the pool temperature, obviously the temperature range that the human body can withstand is very wide and very individual; but there is definitely a ceiling on pool water temperature to prevent the proliferation of bacteria as micro-organisms multiply faster the warmer the pool is. Additionally the warmer the pool water the less effective the chlorine based disinfectants are. We believe we operate the temperature at a level that is perfectly safe for anyone using the pool.
Our spa and other communal areas are regularly cleaned and serviced.
We are sure that if you did return we could restore your faith in the Queens Hotel. Next time please do consider booking treatments in our Forever Gorgeous Day Spa as we do receive such amazing feedback due to the high quality treatments we are able to offer. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel paid £170 for two night spa break and was disappointed from start to finish. The bed in the room looked like it should have been thrown out 15 years ago. The afternoon tea was terrible, wafer thin ham is not what you expect for £20. The spa is absolutely disgusting. The changing rooms were dirty, the lockers were broke and to be given a complementary towel that was stained and frayed is beyond words. I would never stay at this hotel again, first impressions count and from the onset I was let down. The biggest upset came on day two when a chav tastic wedding was taking place and we had to pack our cases and switch rooms at 11pm at night. We were directly above the function room and the noise was ridiculous . My break was ruined, the hotel has a lot to change and I think it's time they actually read the reviews and made changes

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MIranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We have read your response and are sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel, you may have seen some works being carried out during your stay, however some areas are yet to be completed.
We do hold weddings in the hotel, but I don't feel it's fair to categorize the weddings that take place, especially not in public on Trip Advisor. We do make sure that all music is turned right down to a suitable level at a reasonable time so that our hotel guests are not disturbed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The positives - quite a lot of onsite parking, friendly and professional staff, reasonable value, reasonable food & a spacious bedroom.

The major negative - we had absolutely NO SLEEP due to the shocking absence of acoustic insulation between rooms and floors. You could hear conversations from all adjoining rooms, even drawers being slid shut, but the 'icing on the cake' was the stag party above who held a noisy gathering in their room from 5 a.m. for 2 hours. We have lived and stayed in countless older properties before of all eras (i.e. long before acoustic buildings regulations), each with varying degrees of later insulation which does temper noise levels, but never as non-existent & noisy as the Queens Hotel. The hotel is fully aware because they have a poster up offering ear plugs (which made no difference due to impact sound of feet), and the night porter did ask the group above to quieten down, but all to no avail. We gladly departed as early as possible.

Perhaps guests respectful of others stay in the week, away from weekends, but we won't be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on Fridays & Saturdays, and ensure that you are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Snowsublime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for leaving feedback for us. We are glad you were happy with most of your experience at the Queens hotel. Sadly, it's unfortunate that it must have been a busy night with a few groups staying with us when you stayed. We rarely hear that the noise is this much of a nuisance and we're very sorry that you won't be returning. However, should you decide to return, we would be more than happy to accommodate you in a refurbished room, on the top floor. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the queens hotel on a spa deal. It was terrible. The room was old and run down and felt dirty. It was a real let down. I would not choose to stay here again. We had breakfast however most of the hot items were cold as was the coffee. Our stay was not an enjoyable, relaxing time but rather wanted to leave straight away.

The spa was great and treatment was lovely too. We would come back for a spa day but not overnight. The rooms and service let it down completely.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Serahsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of refurbishing the accommodation and we are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. If you do return, we would be only too happy to place you in one of our newly refurbished rooms. Thank you for your comments on the Spa, we will pass on your feedback to them directly. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £32 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing