We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After reading other reviews I was a bit worried but our room was fine lots of space and clean . The breakfast , the food was ok but there was no one in charge in the resturant , so it was chaos waiting for bacon , coffee , eggs and even plates. There was not a manager keeping a eye on the levels. Hope it improves because nothing else was wrong

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24roberto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room clean and spacious. We will take your comments onboard regarding the breakfast in the restaurant. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel , first the good points Reception staff and waiting staff , good breakfast the downside are the rooms some have been refurbished which are bright and clean but have paper thin walls and the groans of the woman in the next room kept us awake all night about ten times from 1-30 to 6-30 am well done that man! But I could have done with the sleep. If you are unlucky to get a room that has not been refurbed like 414 it is dark and dingy carpets that are trip hazards this was our first room but we quickly moved on request couple of other minor points not enough bar staff leading to long waiting times and the air con not up to the job hotel was stifling

Room Tip: Ask for a larger refurbished room or choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gooner1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the staff welcoming and helpful. Sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected but we do hope you return someday and that your faith in our hotel is restored. We would of course accommodate you in a refurbished room. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very Hot and Humid environment, furniture from a car boot sale, Carpets falling apart and trip hazard, Decoration in rooms lacking in ANY elegance, double glazing provided however blown and even if you could see out of them you had better like a view of nothing. Evening food very good, breakfast only good while it lasted, no sausages, no hash browns, no scrambled egg but pleanty of black pudding to substitute. If visiting bar make sure you do not fall in the void of the middle of seats.The only quiet nights stay you will have would be if you were staying on the top floor due to noisy floorboards, however, the whole top floor was cordened off due to DAMP.
In Summary we definately will not be recommending this hotel and certainly NEVER staying again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrsHaberdashery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and are very sorry that you felt your stay was not what you expected. We will pass on your comments regarding the breakfast to Chef. We take the health and safety of our guests very seriously and i'm sure you can appreciate that if any works needed doing that it would be necessary to close some of the areas for works to take place. The rooms that have been refurbished are receiving very positive reviews and we would be only too happy to offer you a refurbished room next time you stayed with us. We hope that one day we could restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very enjoyable nights stay. The staff were very helpful to us even though they seemed very busy!
The room was elegant although quite small with a lovely balcony to use! It was clean and loads of piping hot water.
Slightly in need of some decoration and maybe a new bath which was quite chipped!
The swimming pool looked beautiful and was available till late!
Breakfast was really good and very reasonably priced.
The only criticism for myself was no wifi in the rooms, this surprised me! For others a family with small children asked for two high hairs none came in the end they asked 3 people and it took ages for them to arrive !!
I would recommend it and stay there again happily, very comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! we do appreciate feedback from our guests and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are undergoing a large refurbishment program and would be more than happy to ensure you are given a refurbished room next time you stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our bedroom looked very dull and worn but was clean. Had to crouch against the bathroom wall to get wet from the over bath shower. Bed had an annoying creak. Breakfast on first morning quite an experience after following earlier coach parties who must have been queuing before the 7.30 am opening. There was very little left on the buffet and we couldn't find a clean table. Staff tried very hard but it was obvious that they had been overwhelmed by the high number of customers wanting to eat at the same time. By the third and final morning breakfast service and food had improved. The coach parties had departed for home after breakfast on the second day.Reception staff were pleasent but might have been nice if they had asked if we had enjoyed our stay when wen check out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected, but can understand your disappointment with the breakfast situation. Sadly we can't ever say when our guests will attend breakfast, so there is every chance that it could be busy at certain times, on some days and not others. Maybe next time you stay with us, you may wish to try breakfast in your room instead.

We do hope that one day you will return to the Queens Hotel and that we can restore your faith in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Staff are great and are very helpful. Their positive attitude and smiles make up for many of the weaker areas of the proposition. Rooms are tired, the lift is small, food is ok, bar area is good, pool is good but water is a little cool. Car park is good and almost large enough but the number of spaces can be considerably reduced if coach parties are in attendance.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GardenerBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that your overall stay with us was positive. We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms though and so apologize that your room was not to the standard you expected. We do have a large car-park, probably one of the largest available to a hotel in the Bournemouth area, but we do sometimes run to full capacity, especially when the hotel is full.
We would be very happy to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms, should you return to the Queens Hotel in the future, and hope to restore your faith in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff are lovely, the food is good, but the bedrooms let it down very badly, the one my friend was in was like a room from a homeless hostel. Carpet all wrinkled and verging on dangerous. Décor very tierd looking. Mine was also very tierd looking décor wise but at least the carpet wasn't all wrinkled. Neither rooms were cleaned to a very good standard. Would eat in again, but wouldn't stay.

Room Tip: Don't use 216 or 414 would be my advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you experienced good customer service and enjoyed the food we have to offer. We will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our staff. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel rooms and we're sorry that your rooms were not to the standard you expected. However, should you return to the Queens, we would be only to happy to ensure you are placed in a newly refurbished room; to ensure a good night's sleep and to restore your faith in the Queens Hotel, Bournemouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £38 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing