We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service and Food”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Service and Food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

They must have refurbished the room 218 very spacious and clean. I did not find shortage of bacon/sausages/eggs/soft drinks and coffee/tea for breakfast during four days stay. Surprised to note some comments regarding no proper supervision and lack of breakfast food. Only drawback is lack of parking spaces.

Room Tip: Room 218 spacious and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinray1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and it filled you up adequately! We do hope to see you again in the future, and feel free to ask for room 218 again! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    357
    331
    204
    196
See reviews for
245
475
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked a room via Laterooms and paid £69 for 1 night and an extra £9.99 breakfast. I was recently made redundant and wanted to recharge my batteries for a few hours and a Spa would do just that. However....
The room 230, was awful. If you can magine going to your grandma's house back to the late 70's early 80's then you'll have an idea - The furniture had seen better days, and manky carpet.

The view out of the window had been obscured by a fire escape, so I couldn't see anything. Opening up the window, I would get the constant warbling sound of nesting pidgeons nearby - thank goodness I brought my earplugs!
I decided to use the facillities, it was a spa hotel after all. Well, enough said - The changing rooms were very very cramped and dirty. The Jacuzzi, I felt, wasn't clean. Goodness knows what I was standing on when I stood up to get out of the pool. Also, the Jacuzzi had alot of foam... ALOT of foam!
The sauna was not working and it felt like it hadn't worked for a while as it was cold. The pool was so small that I had to get out when a couple came in to swim. It was crowded!
Breakfast: Well, the less said the better about this! The coffee was undrinkable, the bacon and egg tasted *really* cheap and ended up not eating it and went into town instead - it certainly wasn't worth the £9.99 that I paid for!

Certainly not a Queens hotel and the spa facilities are non existent.

Room Tip: There are some good hotels nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and the bedrooms and can only apologize that you were not happy with your room.
Some of the bedrooms do look out onto the road, some the garden, some the hotel next door. Fire escapes are there for your safety and some of the rooms will overlook this. When you book a room with us, you are more than welcome to ask for a room with a view over the garden in future perhaps.
We would be more than happy to offer you a refurbished room should you stay with us again.
A review written within 24 hours of yours was saying how lovely our swimming pool/jacuzzi and spa areas are. Sorry that you do not feel the same.
Hope to see you again so that we can restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Ireland/Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

So I love the seaside and Bournemouth has 7 miles of it and over 100 hotels to choose from. You can't go wrong with the Queen's hotel and Spa, Bournemouth.

Great location, about 200 yards from the beach, 200' yards from the bar restaurant centre and 500 yards from shopping precinct,

I stayed here on two occasions over the past few weeks, two Friday nights on a DBB basis in a double room single use. Check in on both occasions was painless and friendly.

Room was quite large with everything I required.

Free wifi

The dinner on both occasions was excellent with the dining room staff very professional and attentive.

Super fresh breakfast next morning.

Bar staff friendly and efficient.


Overall great value for money and very pleasant stay. Will I be back again, yes prob next Friday!

Room Tip: I ring on the day for last minute DBB deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very grateful for your feedback and look forward to see in you again next week! We will be sure to pass on your comments to the relevant staff. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After reading other reviews I was a bit worried but our room was fine lots of space and clean . The breakfast , the food was ok but there was no one in charge in the resturant , so it was chaos waiting for bacon , coffee , eggs and even plates. There was not a manager keeping a eye on the levels. Hope it improves because nothing else was wrong

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24roberto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room clean and spacious. We will take your comments onboard regarding the breakfast in the restaurant. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel , first the good points Reception staff and waiting staff , good breakfast the downside are the rooms some have been refurbished which are bright and clean but have paper thin walls and the groans of the woman in the next room kept us awake all night about ten times from 1-30 to 6-30 am well done that man! But I could have done with the sleep. If you are unlucky to get a room that has not been refurbed like 414 it is dark and dingy carpets that are trip hazards this was our first room but we quickly moved on request couple of other minor points not enough bar staff leading to long waiting times and the air con not up to the job hotel was stifling

Room Tip: Ask for a larger refurbished room or choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gooner1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the staff welcoming and helpful. Sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected but we do hope you return someday and that your faith in our hotel is restored. We would of course accommodate you in a refurbished room. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very Hot and Humid environment, furniture from a car boot sale, Carpets falling apart and trip hazard, Decoration in rooms lacking in ANY elegance, double glazing provided however blown and even if you could see out of them you had better like a view of nothing. Evening food very good, breakfast only good while it lasted, no sausages, no hash browns, no scrambled egg but pleanty of black pudding to substitute. If visiting bar make sure you do not fall in the void of the middle of seats.The only quiet nights stay you will have would be if you were staying on the top floor due to noisy floorboards, however, the whole top floor was cordened off due to DAMP.
In Summary we definately will not be recommending this hotel and certainly NEVER staying again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrsHaberdashery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and are very sorry that you felt your stay was not what you expected. We will pass on your comments regarding the breakfast to Chef. We take the health and safety of our guests very seriously and i'm sure you can appreciate that if any works needed doing that it would be necessary to close some of the areas for works to take place. The rooms that have been refurbished are receiving very positive reviews and we would be only too happy to offer you a refurbished room next time you stayed with us. We hope that one day we could restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very enjoyable nights stay. The staff were very helpful to us even though they seemed very busy!
The room was elegant although quite small with a lovely balcony to use! It was clean and loads of piping hot water.
Slightly in need of some decoration and maybe a new bath which was quite chipped!
The swimming pool looked beautiful and was available till late!
Breakfast was really good and very reasonably priced.
The only criticism for myself was no wifi in the rooms, this surprised me! For others a family with small children asked for two high hairs none came in the end they asked 3 people and it took ages for them to arrive !!
I would recommend it and stay there again happily, very comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! we do appreciate feedback from our guests and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are undergoing a large refurbishment program and would be more than happy to ensure you are given a refurbished room next time you stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing