We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Queens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
355
389
365
224
227
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
389
365
224
227
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboot campevening mealthe clifftown centrebootcampdiscocoachpier
Filter
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently stayed here a few days on a half board deal with a group. The price was quite low so my expectations were not high. I have stayed in a couple of other Bournemouth hotels at a similar price before.

The good points: Check-in and out staff excellent, efficient and welcoming. Public areas reasonably smart apart from the tape over the carpet join on the way into the dining room! Staff generally keen to please apart from one slightly brusque barman. Bar otherwise pleasant. Lots of hot water. The fried eggs, tomatoes, beans and fried bread at breakfast all fine. The main fish courses at dinner were moist and reasonably flavoured. Wine list reasonably priced. The bed was acceptably comfortable. My TV remote control, which wasn't working when I found my room, was swiftly repaired or replaced.

Bad points: Room distinctly warm and poorly ventilated and some furniture a bit tired. Rectifying these would require some expenditure and a bit of a make-over. On the food side, the bacon at breakfast was effectively steamed rather than crisply grilled or fried, the scrambled eggs you could slice in chunks and the tail end of the desserts at dinner rather warm after being out for a couple of hours. The rest of the food was OK but lacking in either pizzazz or homeliness. A bit more care or imagination here could transform impressions.

Other points: on-site parking rather restricted for the size of the hotel.

All-in-all it was pretty much what I expected, though as I was out all day every day I did only have to eat, sleep and drink there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pointless64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad your stay overall was a pleasant one.

We are in the process of updating the hotel rooms so we're sorry that your room wasn't the standard that you expected. We do have fans available in our rooms for when it's warm as we are aware it can get quite warm in the summer months here.

We are very fortunate to have the amount of parking we do for the area we are in. Most hotels have very limited parking and we have one of the largest parking areas on the East Cliff.

We will pass on your comments to the Chef regarding your breakfast and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we visit the queen's hotel and spa for three days last week! the price was 230 quid for 3 nights
so I can say that we expected something good but not luxury! when we arrived at Bournemouth
and we saw the hotel from the first time we knew that it was not what we wanted.
The appearance of the hotel was bad! But the room was worse! sauna and our room had the same
temperature. it was so hot with really old furnitures insid. we were trying to open the windows
but they were blocked. the room had a tiny fan so we asked from the stuff to do something
for that. they brought us a bigger fan so I can say that was something. our frigde in the
room was broken so we could not put water or somethng inside to be cool.
in our first breakfast the conditions of the buffet was terrible. empty trays and dirty table
in the same time that two waiters had a conversation without taking care of the
customers and the empty buffet. we asked them to refill the trays. the second day the buffet was
much better. clean table and full trays waiting for us! that was really good improvement.
the garden of the hotel was good with smoking area. bar was good with a variety of beers and
drinks. bar was also restaurant. when we felt hungry we dicided to have salad and some chips.
time was about 21.15. the asnwer of the barwoman was'' Sorry but we don't have chef anymore
.He went home''. We are chefs and I can say that was really unbelievable for us. we never finish
our job at 21.15. Although, a waiter made for us a sandwich and some chips and we paid for that
12 pounds. service at reception was very kind! swimming pool was very clean and the jacouzzi
it was the best part of our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that your room was not the standard you expected. We are in the process of updating our rooms and if you were to visit us again in the future, we would be only too happy to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

We will pass on your other comments to the relevant staff members. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just enjoyed our 5th holiday at the queens (which tells you something)

We have stayed in 3 different, really good clean rooms,with excellent service and good food served in the very nice restaurant.for Breakfast and Dinner.

I cannot believe some of the adverse reviews.. must have been unlucky !!!!

Room Tip: Great sea views from upper rooms on the south side of the Hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are so glad that we continue to give you good service and hospitality at The Queens Hotel. We do agree about some of the reviews posted but we are happy that we do get a lot more positive feedback from guests! Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A very nice hotel had a lovely room and the view was good. The down side was the evening meal it was awful too much fancy food in sauces and herbs and fish every day,it would have been nice to of had a choice of a roast dinner or a nice salad.How ever the breakfast was spot on except when you order porridge and they forget it! And the poor waitresses and waiters are run off their feet not enough of them for the amount of people in the restaurant.Would of been nice to of been offered cheese/biscuits instead of a sweet all the time. It would of been nice if the bar was fully stocked of beer instead of empty pumps!!

Room Tip: If you don,t want any noise a room on a higher floor is better.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass on to the relevant staff members. We have just introduced a new menu, so we would like it very much if you do return so you could try something different! We do offer a delicious selection of cheese and biscuits, salads and other dishes. Look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked for our 30th wedding anniversary, May 2014 – an appalling experience. Management claim no stag or hen nights! Really? This was our experience: First night a drunk left the beer garden and stumbled into our car. Throughout the early hours there were drunks running around inside shouting – no sleep. Second night, (guest) stag party entered the bar about 9PM. Then came into garden and behaved antisocially. They left the bar drunk and returned to the bar in the early hours where they were served until 1:45 AM (confirmed by hotel staff). At 1:50, two men attempted to enter our room. Wife very upset. She woke me up and I had to get them to leave – no sleep following that. Complained for second time and requested a refund. Manager emailed an apology, his assurances that they do not accept this behaviour and he offered a complimentary stay. Requested refund again – offered a partial refund. Manager stated that much effort had gone in to “liaising” with the stag party and that ours was a “one off experience” – we found this very patronising. I asked again for a full refund and have heard nothing further. Room very shabby, no security lock or viewer on door, fully opening fourth floor window, mediocre breakfast and money was debited from my account 2 weeks prior to check in. The £100 room rate at 60% discount suggests a £250 room rate – not even close! Truly the worst hospitailty we have ever experienced. PG - Glos

Room Tip: Regrettably I can suggest nothing at this location
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected and can only apologize again for the other guests staying with us at the time. Sadly sometimes parties do book hotels as separate guests so it is not clear to us that they are a Stag or Hen party. It is very unusual and definitely is an experience that is regrettable. We have offered you a complimentary stay with us to restore your faith in the hotel. We would also make sure that you are in a refurbished room. We are unable to offer a full refund, and I believe the Manager has already offered you a partial refund. If you decide to accept either of these offers, please do get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews