We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful!”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Queens Hotel last night, will never go back. Our room was a disgrace, the springs in the mattress stuck out and it was very uncomfortable to say the least. The corridor stank of smoke, our room stank of smoke. The bathroom was disgusting, barely any light, the taps were either full blast or nothing. The bathroom felt dirty and old and needs complete renewal. The pillows stank, there were brown dribbles down the wallpaper. The balcony was completely neglected, in painted and filthy and worn out with ancient plastic chairs on it, no table in sight. This hotel should be closed and refurbished immediately. The staff smile sweetly but are fighting a losing battle. We were charged £125 for the pleasure which we understood included breakfast but were told it didn't. So we found A gorgeous restaurant overlooking the sea for breakfast and were so glad to check out of Queens Hotel! You have been warned! We will writing to the management.

Room Tip: Don't bother!!! The first floor rooms have balconies but they are disgusting and stink of smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that your stay was not what you expected. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and the rooms are being done over the next few months. We would love to be able to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room next time you visit Bournemouth. Our guests speak very highly of the refurbished rooms and how comfortable they are. Please speak to the Duty Manager who will be only to happy to arrange this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. on our arrival the receptionist appeared quite helpful and cheerful, after giving her my name she checked through paperwork and asked me for £162, I advised her I had already paid more than this through last minute.com and was very embarrassing as this was a treat for my girlfriend! No sense of professionalism bad start! The room was unbearably hot, (no air con), and the shower really was no more than a trickle. When I complained to the receptionist they put a small fan in the room without even turning it on! and did nothing to the shower. As for the breakfast well lets just say I have stayed in more than 150 hotels and this rates in the bottom 5. Awful! When I complained again after my return the hotel refunded me the supposed cost of two breakfasts for two days a paltry £20.00 and that was because lastminute.com pursued the hotel, the manager didnt even have the courtesy to call me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeff a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected and for the confusion over the payment. I will talk to the staff involved. Please let us know if you would like to return to the hotel as we would be more than happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room next time. We do hope to see you again and that your faith in our hotel will be restored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed in room 415 for 5 nights, another 2 to go. With the room being at the front of the hotel and the weather be sunny and hot in the afternoons and evenings found it difficult to sleep. The fan in the room helps a little. The breakfast and dinners have been ok so far, nothing special.
Over the weekend private parties were in the function room so very noisy. Staff seem a bit slow, possibly could do with more training. Didn't get asked if we needed any help with luggage when checking in. Could do with more staff in all areas. 10 to 15 minute walk in to the centre and not far at all to the lift down to the beach. Would I come back? Maybe.

Room Tip: Look at the room first . Tell reception if not happy about anything, they are there to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are refurbishing many of our rooms and would be more than happy to accommodate you in a refurbished room next time you stay with us to hopefully restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed last weekend in the Queens hotel for the first time. I was in the bridal suite, so I can only really review on behalf of this and the staff. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room it`self was a decent size, however it was in need of TLC, the ceiling had a line going through it where they`ve chased wires for lighting, the floorboards were uneven and the bed was not all the sturdy and for the price of the room, very uncomfortable.

One serious recommendation for the Queens hotel to take on board is Air Con, I am not sure if it is in other rooms, but ours certainly needed it, especially with the weekend just gone, the temperature was unbearable.

I would stay there again, however not without AC!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sc0ttM228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is over 70 years old and therefore the floorboards may well creak, but as we've heard many times from our guests, this just adds to the comforting, quirkiness of the Queens Hotel. With regard to the room being warm, we are very pleased that the summer is finally here but yes, we do realize that the rooms may get a little warm. This is why we have fans in some rooms and those that don't have fans, our guests can simply ask at reception and we will bring one to your room for you. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrive at this hotel and were given room 330. The carpet did not fit and there was a metal plate across the window so you could not see out, apparently part of the fire escape. This room should never be charged at the full rate.

We asked the receptionist if we could change and we're given room 317 a much better room. With a nice view out of the front of the hotel. The room and bathroom we're clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable. The furniture does need to be replaced as it is old and marked.

The lift was tiny but very quick, so you did not have to wait very long for it. The bar area and reception are ok, bar staff can be a bit slow as no tea or coffee making facilities in the bar area, so they have to disappear to get you a tea or coffee.

The restaurant was clean and tidy, we only had breakfast but there was plenty to eat and it was hot. (Cereal, fruit, cooked breakfast)

We visited the spa area, the pool was nice as was the jacuzzi and steam room.

All in all we had a nice time at this hotel and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask to change if you are given room 330.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted some of the points you have made. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely hotel. Large, comfortable, clean and quiet rooms. Very nice indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna & gym. Good and generous breakfasts. Very polite, attentive, smart & professional staff. Will definately be staying here again on our next trip to Bournemouth.

Room Tip: We had a corporate room (423) - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent review; we are very pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us.We do hope that you will stay with us again when you next visit Bournemouth. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here last night, to attend a function at the hotel. In hindsight we should have booked at another hotel. We were given room 430 on the 4th floor. No air con just a small fan in the cupboard. The temperature was 24c so the room was stifling with the window open and the fan on. It became apparent that the room was next to the lift machinery and through the walls you could hear the lift grinding up and down each time somebody used it. It carried on through the revellers returning to their room and it started up at 4.45am. We complained after realising how disturbing the noise and the lift mechanics grinding through the walls would be. We were told sorry no other rooms available, hotel was full. We could have a bottle of wine! We would have needed to drink a bottle each to block out the noise of the lift. The whole hotel needs updating, toilet handle falling off, inadequate shower. We couldn't wait to leave, and the duty manager unhelpful or unwilling to assist us. I can't believe they think this room is suitable for customers, use it as a store cupboard. Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kadsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are a very popular hotel and so we're very sorry that we couldn't offer you another room when you stayed. We are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms and have received very positive feedback from the guests that have stayed in these rooms. Please do speak to our Duty Manager ahead of your stay next time as we will make sure you stay in a newly refurbished room. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £28 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing