We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't decide...!”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't decide...!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a difficult hotel to review. I really want to say good things about it - but that's quite challenging! Location - good for the able-bodied. The 'convenient' lift to the beach was expensive and stopped running at 4.30pm - in fact, as I was with my sister who has mobility problems, none of the local facilities were within our (admittedly short) walking distance. At the hotel I asked for, and got, a room close to the lift. Excellent - until we wanted to use the Spa, which is in the basement where the lift doesn't go, and the stairs are quite steep! Staff were very helpful and let us out of the Fire Escape door into the car park. So that was OK. The Spa itself is not great - tired, dark and gloomy, nowhere to relax by the pool - but the prices are lower than you would pay at a 'proper' Spa. Parking was fine for most of time - but after a day out (midweek) I was unable to find a place and had to park in the Pay & Display on the street for the last part of our stay. Accommodation was nice enough - clean, comfortable beds, good hospitality tray (with extra supplies on request from Reception). Food in the Restaurant - not good. Constantly ran out of items on the breakfast bar, cold coffee, some items poorly cooked, choice not great. Dinner - mains and desserts - was fairly awful (for the price). Bar food was much better for choice, freshness, price, everything - not sure why when, presumably, it came from the same kitchen? In spite of all this, every request for assistance was treated with genuine concern and an instant positive response. In fact, the staff - Reception, Bar, and restaurant in particular - are The Queens best asset. They are clearly under-resourced and work really hard - especially when the hotel is coping with coach-loads of visitors. They were, almost without exception, cheerful, friendly and helpful and all did their very best to make our 4-day stay a pleasant experience, in spite of all the drawbacks. I really can't praise them highly enough (especially Olly in the Restaurant - thank you Olly!). After 4 days we felt like family - and like going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Obviously we want to respond to all your points as you've so kindly taken the time to review in so many areas.
Our Forever Gorgeous Day Spa is indeed in the basement level of the hotel and access for those with mobility needs is through the fire escape and we are very happy to hear that our staff were attentive to your needs in this respect. The Spa itself is one of the largest in the area and the dimly lit rooms (lit with electric candles and water features and music) are all part of the relaxing atmosphere that we like to create for our guests and those using the spa for treatments. This area has recently been updated and refurbished, along with a lovely new extension to the Spa, called The Hideaway. I could be mistaken and you may be referring simply to the pool area and this too is not brightly lit, simply to create a relaxing atmosphere as I said before. The pool area is often referred to as a great place to refresh and revive, with areas to relax in, such as the jacuzzi, the poolside, the sauna and the steam room. The Forever Gorgeous Day Spa is very popular and highly recommended. If perhaps you didn't visit the Day Spa, I would certainly like to show you around if you do visit the hotel again in the future.
With regard to the parking, we do say to guests to double park and leave keys at reception if this is possible. We can get busy, and we do have one of the largest areas for parking in this area of the East Cliff, which we are very fortunate to have. Keep this in mind for next time.
We do only have one kitchen you are correct, so very pleased you were happy with the bar food. We will pass on your other comments to the Chef.
Extremely happy that our staff were attentive and your comments will be passed on to them, thank you.
We do look forward to seeing you again and please do ask for a look around the Spa next time and possibly book a treatment or two?
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    351
    327
    200
    190
See reviews for
234
461
76
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,179 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 478 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A twin room came with two of the smallest beds I've slept in a while. Even with the windows open, the rooms are hot. Exterior has good parking but needs a good deal of renovation. Spa is good and staff are very friendly even if the younger waiting staff seem a little out of their depth. Food is good for the price if a little unimaginative.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Our twin rooms are set up with two standard size, single beds. Sorry if this wasn't what you expected. We are renovating many areas of the hotel at the moment, and each area is being looked at individually. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a one night stay in the first week of July at the above with a few friends to celebrate the forthcoming wedding of my eldest son.
The hotel is well situated a few minutes walk from the cliff path leading to Bournemouth's glorious beach and about 5 minutes walk to the town centre. The car park is extensive and has plenty of parking and although the hotel is quite old it has recently refurbished much of its public areas to a good standard.
We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor and it was a good size with good facilities including a modern bathroom although the decoration was a bit dated. The real problem with the room was the squeaky floor boards as soon as people started moving about at 6.30 in the morning evey squeak could be heard and if I was staying any longer I would have asked to be moved.
Breakfast on the sunday morning was a bit of a "bun fight" as they seemed to be running out of everything from glasses to cereal bowels and the staff seemed to be a bit disorganised although the break fast itself was okay served on a buffet basis.
If they could only sort out the floorboards them this would be a good place to stay for a beach holiday.

Room Tip: ask for one on the top floor to avoid the floor boards there are side sea views at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bournemouth and at our hotel. We are very pleased with our refurbishment and as you can imagine, it takes some time to complete on such a large scale. We are still to refurbish some of the rooms and we would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room next time you visit Bournemouth. The floorboards do creak in some small areas of the hotel and we often receive positive feedback, saying it adds to the character and the age of the building. However yes, if you do prefer to sleep on the top floor to not hear the floorboards then we would be more than happy to reserve a top floor room! We do hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Fleming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now, It is hit & miss on whether you get a half decent room. They are all quite dated but with some being better than others.
They can get hot depending on whether you can open the window a decent amount. They have a reasonable indoor pool & spa which is a bonus. There is free wi fi.
If you are paying a max of £80 for a double or £50 as single traveller then you are getting quite good value for money. Any more & I'd recommend you go for a more modern hotel, of which there are plenty in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4DevonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of updating our rooms. Please do request a refurbished room if you stay with us again so you can see our improvements! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped as a group of 6 golfers. They cater well for this type of clientele. Bar is good, food is ok but nothing special. Quality is inconsistent. Staff are very good and do their best in the circumstances. Senior management are ineffective and do not lead by example. Rooms are tired but clean. Hotel needs money spending on it. But you get what you pay for!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank popesterNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we catered well for you. We are aware that some areas of the hotel need updating and the hotel is undergoing extensive refurbishment which will see the rooms updated and given a fresh new look.

If you do return to the Queens Hotel, please do speak with the Duty Manager and request a refurbished room for your stay, i'm sure they will be only too happy to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very disappointed in this hotel. It was advertised as a four star hotel when in fact it would not pass as a two star.

We had been told that we had a twin room, which is what we booked, but when we arrived we were given a double as no twins were available.

Our room on the 4th floor, was very tired and needed a complete refurbishment. Masking tape was used on the windowsill. There is no air conditioning in the hotel and the bedroom windows had the old frames and were difficult to open.

Breakfast was also very disappointing. All the "hot" food was cold and had not been cooked properly - the bacon seem to have been steamed & they had run out of tomatoes. The tea and coffee was cold and the the milk was curdled. The staff were also slow to clear the tables.

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel was the parking and location.

Room Tip: Sleep in the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are not a Four Star hotel and do not advertise as being one. We are a Three Star hotel. However, we do have guests leave reviews saying that we should be a Four star due to our lovely facilities and our stunning Forever Gorgeous Day Spa.

We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and the bedrooms are being updated. We are sorry that you found your room wasn't the standard you expected. If you do decide to return to Bournemouth we would be only too happy to offer you a refurbished room, to hopefully restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Paid £95 for a one night stay. Pictures on the web, show large spacious rooms. However there are no pictures of the 4th floor. To be honest the rooms are in a poor state. 4 couples complained and asked to be moved, but were told hotel full. I mentioned to staff( all very helpful), that the rooms on the 4th floor were in great need of attention, and they should put photos of them on their website. We stayed in room 414. Wallpaper torn and damaged in several places. Chairs badly stained, power points on one wall, mirror on the opposite wall. Carpet had more stretch ripples in it , than the sea. Bed extremely wobbly if my husband moved, the whole bed did too., and lastly we all complained about the smell of damp. Breakfast was ok. Sauna broken, pool very cold. My suggestion to anyone wishing to stay here is to ensure you ask for a room on the first 3 floors, you will have a good room

Room Tip: Choose 1st, 2nd, or 3rd floors only. Rooms same as on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suemikeyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Very sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and some of the rooms are yet to be completed. We would love you to return and to accommodate you a refurbished room when you stay, to hopefully restore your faith in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,487 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing