We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated...”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dated...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having a disabled son we booked a room that was accessible for a wheelchair user. I was booking with 'expedia' so telephoned the hotel for room availabilty, they told me that a certain room was available and it was suitable. On booking in we were told that this room was no longer available but they did have a triple reserved for us, what reception failed to mention was the stairs once you got out the lift... Reception when i went down to ask for a room change were expecting me and were looking for another room, none was available... What did they think that my son was feigning and somehow would be able to walk and we just pushed someone in a wheelchair for fun...
Apart from that the place is dated and the building must have some preservation order as the lift is an antique in itself and at peak times like breakfast and departure was a nightmare... This is not helped when the majority of the hotel is taken over by 'saga' clients... Stairs are plentiful and it definetly is not suitable for wheelchair or partially disabled. Surprisingly they have 2 lovely ramps on the entrance to the hotel giving the illusion that it is wheelchair friendly...
The place is clean without being clinical and the breakfast buffet plentiful and forever being replenished.
Afternoon/evening reception staff who check'd us in forall the booking hiccup were helpful and polite even sorting out a phone charge for me. Morning staff were just 'doing their job'. Bar/waiting/porters were again helpfull and polite and respectful...
The hotel is ideally situated near the cliff top with a lift access to the beach which is a short walk to the pier and town centre but we stayed nearer to the lift area as it was less crowded...

Room Tip: Get confirmatiuon in writing if you have special requirements such as no stairs, wheelchair acess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are currently in the process of updating our accessible rooms and we are very sorry that you were not accommodated as you should have been. We would be very happy if you were to return and we would make sure that you were accommodated properly. We are very pleased our staff were attentive however. We are an accessible hotel and we are very conscientious of our clients in need of accessible rooms. We do hope to see you again to restore your faith in the Queens hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    346
    321
    197
    186
See reviews for
227
455
74
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Queens hotel as a group of six as part of a lads golf weekend arranged through GolfBreaks.com. It looked as though the majority of the other guests were also big golfing groups too and to be honest the hotel fit the bill for this sort of stay: bar, bed, shower, breakfast - repeat. For those looking to stay somewhere for a romantic or special break this is not the place for you. Although some money has clearly been spent in the bar area the rest of the hotel is tired in every sense including the catering. Given its location near the sea and close to town this hotel has the potential to be so much more but needs a considerable amount of money invested into it. Currently though it is a bog-standard, old-fashioned resort hotel stuck in a cycle of mediocrity.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are in the process of refurbishing various areas of the hotel and yes, we are very popular with many people visiting the area. Some that return year after year. We do hope you return in the future and if you do, we would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

So we stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were friendly and greeted us well. Location was perfect with walking distance to the beach and town center. Breakfast buffet was pretty good also.

The parking can be a nightmare within the hotels car park, especially during the weekend. The beds were very uncomfy and the window hardly opens soo much which was a big problem as the room got very humid and it made it very difficult to be able to sleep at night with there being no air con. Whats worse? There were people outside from the bar downstairs or from the streets who kept making noise really loud until the early hours of the morning.

Overall it was a good hotel with good friendly staff but the experience was broken down to unsettling nights with humid rooms and uncomfy beds and the room seemed to expensive for what it was and the experience we had without any air con

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subzerene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback. Very pleased to hear our staff were friendly and courteous and that you were happy with the location that we pride ourselves with.
Yes, the parking is limited, but we are very fortunate to have one of the largest hotel car parks in the East Cliff area and we do offer a 'double parking' system. We are sorry your room was not what you expected and would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room next time you visit Bournemouth. Please do speak with the Duty Manager.
After reading your title to your review and the spelling of 'better' being 'bettee', I then continued to read your review in the voice of Frank Spencer! Quite amusing, and very glad he's never asked for a job at the Queens Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked Bournemouth for this special weekend as neither of us had been together. I booked the queens hotel for one night as the prices for two nights were incredibly high. We arrived early and we were welcomed by very attentive staff at reception. They informed us the room was not ready but we were able to leave the car and take a stroll down to the beach as it was so close to the hotel. On our return we were given a room on the fourth floor which is always a bonus and it overlooked the front of the hotel and had plenty of natural light in it. We were booked to see a show at Bournemouth Pavilion so did not have a chance to take advantage of the Leisure facilities but it all looked great. Breakfast the next morning was very good but it would have been nice to have had hot drinks served to our table rather than buffet style. Layout could have been improved on and staff could have been more attentive but overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Always better to have a higher floor room as it is quieter and no noise from parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do appreciate all feedback and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will take on board your comments regarding the hot drinks too and hope to see you again in the future. Next time you stay we do highly recommend booking a treatment or two in our Day Spa, you certainly would not be disappointed. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner booked a nights stay at this hotel as a surprise for my Birthday, we checked in, which was nice and quick, and found we were in a 4th floor room which is the top floor of this Hotel. Lovely spacious room, with two chairs and a table, tv, coffee/tea and a very clean bathroom.

Plenty of hangers in a well decorated and furnished room, staff in reception were welcoming, and a great breakfast the next morning, We were offered a seat straight away, and there was everything from cereal and juices to full English, and kippers were cooked fresh if you wanted to order them. All in all a lovely hotel, close to the sea and Bournemouth Pier.

I have no concerns about recommending this hotel, and would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Top floor, so you have nobody above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 404Robert404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your birthday celebrations went well! We really do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

For the price, £135 for a twin room (inc breakfast), it's not bad value for money if you want to be close to the coast and not too far from central Bournemouth. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. It's obviously popular as the hotel was completely full. On the downside it feels very tired and dated, it's relatively noisy (there were lots of hen/stag parties) and all of our group found it stiflingly hot (no a/c). The rooms at the front of the hotel seemed noisier than those at the back. By no means a memorable stay but functional and adequate.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dgm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
Yes, we are indeed a very popular hotel and when you stayed we were very busy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and next time you visit the area, we would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room, please just speak with the Duty Manager upon booking. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. The leisure facilities would be excellent if the gym equipment was more updated (great indoor swimming pool etc). The buffet breakfast was fantastic and plentiful, but regarding the evening meal, you'd be better off finding a restaurant outside the hotel. Unfortunately, because of the age of this hotel, there is no air conditioning in the room (even the fan was missing from our room), which means having the window open and having to put up with outside noise at night. The location of this hotel is it's best feature because it's very close to the beach (although high up), and great access to the town centre. I would stay here again, but only after looking around for something else which may be better.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the top floor because as you'd expect, noise comes through from residents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Bournemouth itself does sit on the top of the East Cliff and West Cliff areas and most hotels are an uphill walk from the beach. We are very fortunate to have a Cliff Lift which is stone's throw away and takes you directly to the beach for a small charge or there is a zig-zag which takes between 10-15 minutes to walk, depending on your speed of walking!
Most rooms do have fans and should you not have one in your room, reception would be only too happy to have one brought to your room.
We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing