We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUSICAL WEEKEND”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pleasant hotel just above the lift on East Cliff. Lovely swimming pool, steam, room and sauna. Spa facilities ( which we did not take advantage of this trip ). Unfortunately, the hotel does not have air conditioning and was ill equipped to deal with the unusual hot weather we have had recently - the Hotel ran out of fans for the bedrooms and the window in our room would not open properly. We found sleeping at night difficult and uncomfortable. We were on a Saga break so all guests were of a certain age and the hotel has one elderly lift which was unable to cope when a large group was booking in or out, or had returned from an excursion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that your room was warm and that we did not have a fan available. This is very unusual and I will chase this up with the relevant department. We do hope to see you again in the future and would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well where do I begin. When we arrived we were impressed with the reception area and the lovely receptionists. Having booked in we were given our key and we went to the room - opening the door you would have thought someone had put the heating on full blast, the windows would not stay open without being wedged and when you did manage to wedge them open all that could be heard was the noise from the generators located several floors. The windows were rotten and the net curtains looked like they had been attacked by a cat and had never been washed. Needless to say we asked for a different room. The receptionists were very helpful and found us a "better" room. Once again no air conditioning, finding a fan in the bottom of the wardrobe. When we returned to retire to bed the nightmare continued. If you left the window open you could not sleep due to the noise both from the car parking area and the outside. The option was to put the fan on and listen to the noise of that instead. Then the "squeeking" noise started. It sounded like the people in the room above us was playing football all night long because every time they moved the floor boards squeeked so much it was impossible to sleep. People walking past the bedroom night(in early hours) were not only noisey but the once again the floor boards squeeked. In-fact we discovered that when we walked in our room the floor boards squeeked. Everywhere you walked the boards made a noise. No sleep was had the first night and had to buy ear plugs to ensure some sleep was attained on the Saturday evening. The decor in the hotel is very outdated, wallpaper peeling off, carpets worn and covered with tape.Very grubby looking everywhere, except the Reception area, which obviously is the first thing people see. The fitness suite - the machinery seating area is badly torn, and the decor updated. The pool area - the changing facility is very small, the pool is freezing cold and you have to put the sauna on 10 minutes before you actually want to go in it! No hair dryer in the changing room, no plug facility to use your own - if you want to use the Spa it has to be pre-booked and when enquiring they offered me Monday - even though I was leaving Sunday. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is the Reception and Dining Room staff are very good. The people cleaning the bedrooms leave a lot to be desired. The only thing they did in our bedroom was to put clean towels, nothing else whatsoever, whilst I always make my bed you could see that they had not attempted to straighten the cushion etc., I would not recommend this hotel whatsoever.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay overall was a good one. Some of the rooms are still due to be refurbished.
We do recommend that guests book ahead for treatments at the spa as it is open to the public. Being extremely popular, it does get booked up quite quickly over the weekends.
We would love to restore your faith in the Queens hotel. If you do return to the area we would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room. We will pass on your other points to the relevant departments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Despite ringing to book to ensure I had a triple family room on arrival I was given a small room with a double and single bed. Reception said they would sort the problem but simply added a minute single bed in between the 2 other beds.
The room was in very poor decorated state as was the bathroom. The main issue was the room is far too small for a family room.
The outside of the hotel also needs renovating.
There are a lot of staff who on the whole were pleasant and helpful apart from a few on reception who need some charm training. Pretty but not right for the job.
Breakfast was good for the standard of hotel.
The garden was a pleasant surprise and relaxing.
Probably not a good idea to eat here for dinner, I ordered a chicken Caesar salad and it not only took over an hour to arrive but when it did would have been small if it was a starter, virtually nothing of anything and if I need to complain about something so obvious it asks serious questions about what £11.50 of food the hotel expects to provide.
I hope the hotel management learn from my impartial comments in a bid to improve the experience for future guest who sadly will not include me or my family again.

Room Tip: Never have room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review we do appreciate all feedback and we are very pleased that our staff treated you well during your stay with us.
We are sorry that your room and bed layout was not what you expected, the hotel was very busy that particular weekend, so we would have been unable to move you. However, next time you visit, we would be sure to accommodate you in a room you were happy with and newly refurbished.
We have taken your comments on board regarding the food too and will pass this on to the relevant staff members. We do hope to see you again in the future to restore your faith in the Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having a disabled son we booked a room that was accessible for a wheelchair user. I was booking with 'expedia' so telephoned the hotel for room availabilty, they told me that a certain room was available and it was suitable. On booking in we were told that this room was no longer available but they did have a triple reserved for us, what reception failed to mention was the stairs once you got out the lift... Reception when i went down to ask for a room change were expecting me and were looking for another room, none was available... What did they think that my son was feigning and somehow would be able to walk and we just pushed someone in a wheelchair for fun...
Apart from that the place is dated and the building must have some preservation order as the lift is an antique in itself and at peak times like breakfast and departure was a nightmare... This is not helped when the majority of the hotel is taken over by 'saga' clients... Stairs are plentiful and it definetly is not suitable for wheelchair or partially disabled. Surprisingly they have 2 lovely ramps on the entrance to the hotel giving the illusion that it is wheelchair friendly...
The place is clean without being clinical and the breakfast buffet plentiful and forever being replenished.
Afternoon/evening reception staff who check'd us in forall the booking hiccup were helpful and polite even sorting out a phone charge for me. Morning staff were just 'doing their job'. Bar/waiting/porters were again helpfull and polite and respectful...
The hotel is ideally situated near the cliff top with a lift access to the beach which is a short walk to the pier and town centre but we stayed nearer to the lift area as it was less crowded...

Room Tip: Get confirmatiuon in writing if you have special requirements such as no stairs, wheelchair acess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are currently in the process of updating our accessible rooms and we are very sorry that you were not accommodated as you should have been. We would be very happy if you were to return and we would make sure that you were accommodated properly. We are very pleased our staff were attentive however. We are an accessible hotel and we are very conscientious of our clients in need of accessible rooms. We do hope to see you again to restore your faith in the Queens hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at The Queens hotel as a group of six as part of a lads golf weekend arranged through GolfBreaks.com. It looked as though the majority of the other guests were also big golfing groups too and to be honest the hotel fit the bill for this sort of stay: bar, bed, shower, breakfast - repeat. For those looking to stay somewhere for a romantic or special break this is not the place for you. Although some money has clearly been spent in the bar area the rest of the hotel is tired in every sense including the catering. Given its location near the sea and close to town this hotel has the potential to be so much more but needs a considerable amount of money invested into it. Currently though it is a bog-standard, old-fashioned resort hotel stuck in a cycle of mediocrity.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are in the process of refurbishing various areas of the hotel and yes, we are very popular with many people visiting the area. Some that return year after year. We do hope you return in the future and if you do, we would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

So we stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were friendly and greeted us well. Location was perfect with walking distance to the beach and town center. Breakfast buffet was pretty good also.

The parking can be a nightmare within the hotels car park, especially during the weekend. The beds were very uncomfy and the window hardly opens soo much which was a big problem as the room got very humid and it made it very difficult to be able to sleep at night with there being no air con. Whats worse? There were people outside from the bar downstairs or from the streets who kept making noise really loud until the early hours of the morning.

Overall it was a good hotel with good friendly staff but the experience was broken down to unsettling nights with humid rooms and uncomfy beds and the room seemed to expensive for what it was and the experience we had without any air con

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subzerene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback. Very pleased to hear our staff were friendly and courteous and that you were happy with the location that we pride ourselves with.
Yes, the parking is limited, but we are very fortunate to have one of the largest hotel car parks in the East Cliff area and we do offer a 'double parking' system. We are sorry your room was not what you expected and would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room next time you visit Bournemouth. Please do speak with the Duty Manager.
After reading your title to your review and the spelling of 'better' being 'bettee', I then continued to read your review in the voice of Frank Spencer! Quite amusing, and very glad he's never asked for a job at the Queens Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked Bournemouth for this special weekend as neither of us had been together. I booked the queens hotel for one night as the prices for two nights were incredibly high. We arrived early and we were welcomed by very attentive staff at reception. They informed us the room was not ready but we were able to leave the car and take a stroll down to the beach as it was so close to the hotel. On our return we were given a room on the fourth floor which is always a bonus and it overlooked the front of the hotel and had plenty of natural light in it. We were booked to see a show at Bournemouth Pavilion so did not have a chance to take advantage of the Leisure facilities but it all looked great. Breakfast the next morning was very good but it would have been nice to have had hot drinks served to our table rather than buffet style. Layout could have been improved on and staff could have been more attentive but overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Always better to have a higher floor room as it is quieter and no noise from parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do appreciate all feedback and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will take on board your comments regarding the hot drinks too and hope to see you again in the future. Next time you stay we do highly recommend booking a treatment or two in our Day Spa, you certainly would not be disappointed. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £39 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing