We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.”

Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #57 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Valeries Bed and Breakfast is simply, by far, the best I've ever stayed in. The room is fabulous, stocked with more goodies than you can imagine, the bathroom is a dream and the breakfast defies description, just make sure you are hungry and don't plan on lunch ! The welcome and hospitality is honest and genuine and I can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything Jez and Lynda.

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

My mother and I stayed at Smithfield Place for the first time during half term week. The accommodation was to an exceptionally high standard, immaculately clean , very comfortable and both bedroom and bathroom were luxurious and full of complimentary goodies and toiletries !
Valerie was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble , she went out of her way to make our stay one to remember and we very much look forward to our return, definitely a top quality B@B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Smithfield B&B a few times now and have always had a great stay. The owner, Valerie, is the most welcoming and friendly host. She knows how to provide first-rate hospitality whilst giving you the privacy you may wish. Nothing is too much trouble.

The bedroom, which is beautifully designed and overlooks the garden, is bright and spacious and has everything you could possibly need. All other rooms are comparatively delightful, with special touches and luxury you usually only find in top-end hotels.

This place comes highly recommended. I very rarely give 5 stars, but Smithfield deserves it and is hands-down the finest B&B I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorn_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Everything in this B&B was top quality. Although not en suite this was in no way a problem because our room and bathroom were hidden round a corner and extremely private. Valerie only has two rooms and will only let them to one group, so you know you are never sharing the place with strangers. The bathroom was beautifully appointed with bath and very large shower. Plenty of towels (I counted 14!) and bathrobes. Valerie had thought of everything, from toothpaste and toothbrushes, to razors and cotton wool. Lots of bubble baths, shampoos and soaps. None of the usual skimpy mini bars or screwed to the wall dispensers; these were full size everything. The bedroom was very attractive and I have never seen so many nibbles! Again, Valerie had not skimped on anything. We had chocolates, wine, bottled water, fruit, chocolate biscuits, crisps. The tea table was filled with boxes of teas of every type imaginable, as well as a large selection of coffees. Two full packets of biscuits and a flask of fresh milk, which my husband was really pleased about, as he hates UHT milk. We had our own lovely lounge to use, with books and board games, as well as a large TV (there was also one in our room) . Valerie was very welcoming and provided a wonderful breakfast with a huge selection of everything: delicious full cooked breakfast, beautifully prepared fruit. It was all top quality. I just felt sorry that I could not eat everything she had prepared because it was all so delicious looking and she had spent a lot of time preparing it. We could come and go as we pleased and had off street parking. The location was ideal and hidden away off the main road down a quiet cul-de-sac; handy for shops and restaurants and easy access to Bournemouth, Poole and New Forest. I can really recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were so lucky to spend two nights with Valerie at Smithfield Place. Her welcome after flying for twenty plus hours was just right. Our room was beautiful with all our needs considered. It was comfortable, clean and had all that we needed. The bathroom was also exceptionally arranged, beautiful and well appointed. Valerie presented us with the benchmark of breakfasts over our two day stay, each breakfast looked fantastic and tasted amazing and filled us up for most of the day. As we were visiting to see family, we didn't need any of the facilities near to Smithfield, but Valerie explained all that was available. While we stayed we had the use of a charming sitting room but most enjoyed sitting in the kitchen talking to Valerie as she prepared amazing breakfasts. Not only did we find the best B&B in Bournemouth, but we found a new friend. Thank you Valerie for an amazing start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WantToTravelMore63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is an excellent B&B - without fault and a perfect hostess. Situated close to amenities and shops and easy access to Bournemouth, Poole and surrounding areas. Perfect for holidays and all occasions. The B&B offers all that you could hope for, comfort, privacy, off road parking, provision of a great english breakfast and many other small benefits. Thoroughly recommended for a great time.

Room Tip: despite no ensuite, privacy is assured - since the bathroom is next to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I have just spent three excellent nights at Smithfield Place and we could not have asked for anywhere better. When we drove down the short road to 7 Smithfield Place we were slightly worried. However, once the door was opened by our charming hostess Valerie a wonderful, relaxing time awaited. The cottage is delightful offering a really lovely bedroom, a comfortable and charming sitting room and a kitchen to die for! Our every need was catered for in the bedroom, sitting room and kitchen. Breakfast was brilliant. Thank you Valerie.
John and Priscilla from Bromley.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuttiCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
1.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Smithfield Place | Winton, Bournemouth BH9 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smithfield Place is the perfect place to base yourself whilst exploring the stunning Dorset countryside, whether you wish to relax on the 7 miles of golden beaches, ramble along the breathtaking Jurassic coastline or take a more scenic approach visiting the quaint rural villages, castles and cathedrals. This delightful Victorian cottage, extended in the 1980s and fully refurbished, offers accommodation of a double bedroom with a king sized bed and a newly fitted private bathroom complete with a walk in shower and bath. A smaller double room is also available, but only to the same guests, thus retaining the private and quiet environment we wish to provide. The bedroom is finished beautifully, mixing antiques and modern furniture and has tea and coffee making facilities (including fresh milk!) with complimentary nibbles, free Wifi, a plasma TV with freeview, hairdryer and a clock/radio alarm. There is also a private sitting room for guests to use complete with Skt TV, and if it's a little chilly outside we will even light the fire for you. And of course, being a bed and breakfast, after a good night's sleep you'll be expecting a good morning's breakfast. So, what better way to start the day than on a hearty full English breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or even delicious homemade salmon fish cakes served with poached eggs, accompanied with fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts and fresh breads. We will always try and accommodate any choices and in particular any dietary requirements so please just ask if you need anything special. We try our best to provide locally grown and organic products. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing