We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Excellent”

Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #59 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Aydin, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Down a very modest road is the best b and b we have ever stayed in. Absolutely faultless. Many hotel managers could do with lessons from the owner (Valerie) in customer service and cleanliness. Lovely breakfast. Hope to have a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although we are regular B&B and hotel users we have never before submitted a review of any of the places that we have visited in the past. However, having just returned from Valerie's, we feel compelled to let others know what a truly fantastic place this is to stay in.
We totally agree with all the comments made by previous visitors, the breakfasts were superb, the hospitality tray was the best ever, bathroom facilities second to none, and the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in.
However it is Valerie's ability to combine the attention to detail found only in 5-star hotels, with a warm homely feel, that has really impressed us and makes this place so special.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough, and although its' location may not seem ideal, it is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac off a vibrant & lively street with a good selection of restaurants, with easy access to Bournemouth seafront.
Looking forward to returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Trust me, we have stayed in the best accommodation that the world has to offer in City hotels, and what can we hope for ? Staff who go out of their way to look after you ( enter Valerie ! ) - A comfortable bedroom with a heavenly bed and good-sized bathroom to include an excellent shower - A quality breakfast with choices to suit our mood - Free WIFI in our bedroom - And more ! And more is what you get ! For example, we secretly left a bottle of Champagne to chill in Valerie's fridge ( with permission of course ) and when we returned from our day out, we had been left a lovely bowl of matching fresh strawberries in our room to go with it - tell me what hotel would do this for you ! I could go on for ages about the little things and warmth which helped to make our experience a memorable one and we were truly missing our comforts when next moving on to a chain hotel in Oxford. One final piece of advice - It's worth trying out restaurant Barolo at the end of the short road ( lovely staff ), then sauntering back to the wonderful Smithfield Place without a care in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Valeries Bed and Breakfast is simply, by far, the best I've ever stayed in. The room is fabulous, stocked with more goodies than you can imagine, the bathroom is a dream and the breakfast defies description, just make sure you are hungry and don't plan on lunch ! The welcome and hospitality is honest and genuine and I can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything Jez and Lynda.

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My mother and I stayed at Smithfield Place for the first time during half term week. The accommodation was to an exceptionally high standard, immaculately clean , very comfortable and both bedroom and bathroom were luxurious and full of complimentary goodies and toiletries !
Valerie was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble , she went out of her way to make our stay one to remember and we very much look forward to our return, definitely a top quality B@B.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Smithfield B&B a few times now and have always had a great stay. The owner, Valerie, is the most welcoming and friendly host. She knows how to provide first-rate hospitality whilst giving you the privacy you may wish. Nothing is too much trouble.

The bedroom, which is beautifully designed and overlooks the garden, is bright and spacious and has everything you could possibly need. All other rooms are comparatively delightful, with special touches and luxury you usually only find in top-end hotels.

This place comes highly recommended. I very rarely give 5 stars, but Smithfield deserves it and is hands-down the finest B&B I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Everything in this B&B was top quality. Although not en suite this was in no way a problem because our room and bathroom were hidden round a corner and extremely private. Valerie only has two rooms and will only let them to one group, so you know you are never sharing the place with strangers. The bathroom was beautifully appointed with bath and very large shower. Plenty of towels (I counted 14!) and bathrobes. Valerie had thought of everything, from toothpaste and toothbrushes, to razors and cotton wool. Lots of bubble baths, shampoos and soaps. None of the usual skimpy mini bars or screwed to the wall dispensers; these were full size everything. The bedroom was very attractive and I have never seen so many nibbles! Again, Valerie had not skimped on anything. We had chocolates, wine, bottled water, fruit, chocolate biscuits, crisps. The tea table was filled with boxes of teas of every type imaginable, as well as a large selection of coffees. Two full packets of biscuits and a flask of fresh milk, which my husband was really pleased about, as he hates UHT milk. We had our own lovely lounge to use, with books and board games, as well as a large TV (there was also one in our room) . Valerie was very welcoming and provided a wonderful breakfast with a huge selection of everything: delicious full cooked breakfast, beautifully prepared fruit. It was all top quality. I just felt sorry that I could not eat everything she had prepared because it was all so delicious looking and she had spent a lot of time preparing it. We could come and go as we pleased and had off street parking. The location was ideal and hidden away off the main road down a quiet cul-de-sac; handy for shops and restaurants and easy access to Bournemouth, Poole and New Forest. I can really recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dean Park Inn
Dean Park Inn
#23 of 131 in Bournemouth
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#50 of 131 in Bournemouth
77 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#15 of 131 in Bournemouth
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Meyrick Park
The Lodge at Meyrick Park
#6 of 23 in Bournemouth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast

Property: Smithfield Place Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Smithfield Place | Winton, Bournemouth BH9 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smithfield Place is the perfect place to base yourself whilst exploring the stunning Dorset countryside, whether you wish to relax on the 7 miles of golden beaches, ramble along the breathtaking Jurassic coastline or take a more scenic approach visiting the quaint rural villages, castles and cathedrals. This delightful Victorian cottage, extended in the 1980s and fully refurbished, offers accommodation of a double bedroom with a king sized bed and a newly fitted private bathroom complete with a walk in shower and bath. A smaller double room is also available, but only to the same guests, thus retaining the private and quiet environment we wish to provide. The bedroom is finished beautifully, mixing antiques and modern furniture and has tea and coffee making facilities (including fresh milk!) with complimentary nibbles, free Wifi, a plasma TV with freeview, hairdryer and a clock/radio alarm. There is also a private sitting room for guests to use complete with Skt TV, and if it's a little chilly outside we will even light the fire for you. And of course, being a bed and breakfast, after a good night's sleep you'll be expecting a good morning's breakfast. So, what better way to start the day than on a hearty full English breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or even delicious homemade salmon fish cakes served with poached eggs, accompanied with fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts and fresh breads. We will always try and accommodate any choices and in particular any dietary requirements so please just ask if you need anything special. We try our best to provide locally grown and organic products. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing