We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B”
Review of Westcotes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westcotes House
Ranked #25 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nick776
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Westcotes House during the Bournemouth Air Show after getting they had a cancellation.

Once we arrived we relieved a warm welcome and were shown our room just off the main hall way downstairs. The room was immaculately clean and well equipped. Being in a ground floor room off the main reception area there was some noise in the morning but nothing serious and we were prepared to hear people walking past. The breakfast was well organised with eat as much as you like fruit, cereal, yougart and fruit juice. The bacon sandwich went down well on both mornings.

Overall very impressed and will happily book again. Thanks for an enjoyable weekend Westcotes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
59
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a great couple of nights. The hosts were, without a doubt, the nicest we have ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble. The room (room 2) was lovely with a great view of the sea whilst lying in bed. The atmosphere in the house was calm and relaxing and the self-serve bar was a refreshing touch. The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. The location was great if you prefer a quieter getaway but easy to get to busier town centres. Highly recommended, we will stay again if ever vising the area. Thank you Ross, David and Graham.

Room Tip: The sea view from the 1st floor is worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thanks very much for leaving us a review. We are really pleased that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the great view of the sea from your room. We pride ourselves on cooking fresh breakfasts and we are pleased these hit the spot. We would love to see you again if you are visiting the area.

Best wishes,

Ross, David and Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This lovely little guest house has it all. Superb sea front position with amazing views from our bedroom (room no.1). Ross, David, Graham and team are committed to the requirements of their guests and go that extra mile to ensure a most delightful stay.
Ross has amazing skills when it comes to cooking perfect scrambled eggs and yummy bacon sandwiches.
The location is convenient for restaurants and pubs within a very short walk and has easy access across the road to the superb sandy beach.
A great base for any activity in the area with tasteful and well thought out decor.
These guys are a real class act-we will be back.

Room Tip: A sea view room will cost a little more but it is well worth it. The vistas are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daphne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Daphne, thank you so much for your lovely review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the sea view from your room.
Hope to see you both again soon.
Ross, David and Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Absolutely LOVED staying at Westcotes house b&b this past weekend
Graham,David & Ross are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble
Fabulous breakfast!
If you want a gorgeous view , then I would recommend room 2
Brilliant location away from the crowds and a beautiful blue flag beach a minute away.
We will definitely be returning this summer...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithhumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Sue & Graham,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The 180º view of the sea (from the Purbecks to the Isle of Wight) from the dual aspect windows in room 2 is one of the best. We are delighted that you have reserved this room as well as our other sea view room for the 2014 airshow. Both these rooms provide great views, you won't even need to go outside to watch! We hope you will come and visit us again before then.
Best wishes,
Graham, David & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A really warm welcome when we stayed here a few weeks back (sorry to be so late writing our review), lovely owners, lovely room (a tad on the small side but to be honest in such a lovely setting, right on the sea front, and dog friendly, who cares if it's a bit on the small side?!) Great breakfast, beautiful communal areas - we wished we were staying longer than just 1 night! Also great value. 10 out of 10. thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We love having guests bring their special pooches with them :-) and stay with us in our dog friendly room. Not many guest houses welcome dogs, so we are glad you found us. Really hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Ross, Graham & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is my second visit to Westcotes House and I cannot wait to go back! The hosts are incredible, the rooms and facilities impeccable and the breakfast is to die for, especially the scrambles eggs and smoked salmon. Made to feel very welcome and treated as part of the family opposed to a guest. The self-serve bar feature is particularly unique and another welcoming, friendly touch. Perfect location, right on the beach with cafes/ restaurants and bars all within walking distance. Highly recommend this B&B in summer or winter, you must try it if you are ever in the area.

Room Tip: The 2 sea view rooms have panoramic views of the sea but all of the bedrooms are wonderfully light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Nicola,
Thank you so much for your review, it makes all the difference to know our guests are having a good time. Glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the breakfast to the location of the guest house right on the cliff top of the sea front.
Hope to see you again,
Ross, David & Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Staff was extremely welcoming, thoughtful, helpful and warm.
Breakfast was a real treat -- with lots of choices and any personalized preferences readily taken into account.
Deck area was wonderful, especially with the unusual sunny weather that we enjoyed during my stay!!
Thanks Ross and Graham for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Adriana,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so motivating to hear that we are getting things right for our guests. We loved having you to stay and hope you had a safe trip home. Please return again really soon. Will try and reserve good weather for you again!
Best Wishes,
Ross, Graham & David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#52 of 132 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#15 of 132 in Bournemouth
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#32 of 132 in Bournemouth
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#7 of 132 in Bournemouth
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#10 of 132 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcotes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcotes House

Property: Westcotes House
Address: 9 Southbourne Overcliff Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character guest house on the sea front in Southbourne, Bournemouth. On the Overcliff near Fishermans Walk and next to Grand Avenue. We have 6 en-suite rooms, 3 with stunning sea views across Bournemouth Bay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing