We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star Spring holiday hotel”
Review of Westcotes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westcotes House
Ranked #29 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We went for a short break and the hotel was as good as last year.

It is a very friendly hotel with good service and spotlessly clean rooms.

The breakfast was excellent and I would recommend this hotel for both business and holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for leaving such a nice review. Its great that we are getting it right for both holiday makers and people travelling on business. Please let us know when you will be coming back again, I will make sure your breakfast is even better than excellent :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Westcotes House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We had another fabulous stay at Westcotes house this year, as always the hotel is spotlessly clean & the hosts are kind & helpful. I adore the views, and divine breakfast which keeps me coming back. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma_jo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Its great to know that we are getting it right (most of the time!). Hope you come again.

Ross, Graham & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Have stayed in Bournemouth several times and this is a perfect location on the clifftop. Seaview room has just such wonderful views. Service was lovely, very, very friendly and relaxed. Ross brought us biscuits and drinks on arrival. It also has a small bar where you can get a drink in the evening which was nice after a journey. Have stayed in other nearby guesthouses and whilst they were very smart, they didn't have the warmth or friendliness of Westcotes House which is what we like when we are staying away from home. Stay here if you like personal service, great location and a friendly smile.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a lovely view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for a great review. So glad you were pleased with the us and the location. - The sea views are hard to beat. There are a lot of other smart guest houses around us, many with more bells and whistles, so its nice to know we are still hitting the right spot. Please come and see us again.

Ross, Graham and David :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very pleasant exoerience at Westcotes House. All you would expect from a B&B plus a lot of genuine and personal touches that make you feel a welcomed guest. Nothing seems to much trouble for these guys. Great views from room 2, comfy bed, modern decor and lovely cooked breakfast to order. Close to Bournemouth and Christchurch (about 3 miles from each), ideal place to explore the coast and all the nearby towns. Would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you very much for a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us that you would come back again. Its a shame you didn't make it a week earlier, when the sun was shining - instead we all got something rather more seasonal, especially on Friday night with all that wind and rain! Glad you enjoyed the views and the breakfast. Please visit us again soon.
Ross, Graham and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a seafront view then this is the place for you. Stunning views from the windows. Great hosts and breakfast made even better by being able to daydream at the view.

Rooms are comfy and welcoming.

We've stayed twice now and will defo be back

Thank you again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank waterboy1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is run by some charming young gentleman who couldn't do enough for us grey haired ladies :o). It was our second stay this year and we look forward to more visits next year. The decor is very modern, stylish and fresh and the themed coloured rooms are tastefully kitted out. The views are stunning and it's a perfect friendly homely hotel and I would recommend this hotel on the clifftop to anybody. Thanks for a great break boys, Carol and Pat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I spent a week at Westcotes House, and found it superb in every respect.

I stayed in the Pantone grey room, with magnificent views out over the bay, and all the small things - which make the big difference - were there. Ross and Graham were flexible over my need to have an early breakfast each day; they helped me out with some emergency washing; and there was obvious style and elegance in the room and throughout the house.

I look forward to my next trip to the area, and recommend Westcotes House utterly.

Room Tip: My room, overlooking the bay, was excellent: Pantone Grey
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#18 of 133 in Bournemouth
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#8 of 133 in Bournemouth
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#10 of 133 in Bournemouth
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cherry Tree House
Cherry Tree House
#1 of 1 in Southbourne
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#20 of 133 in Bournemouth
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#5 of 133 in Bournemouth
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcotes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcotes House

Address: 9 Southbourne Overcliff Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character guest house on the sea front in Southbourne, Bournemouth. On the Overcliff near Fishermans Walk and next to Grand Avenue. We have 6 en-suite rooms, 3 with stunning sea views across Bournemouth Bay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing