We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcotes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westcotes House
Ranked #30 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived at the Westcotes House on sunday morning and we've been greeted very well. We immediately felt like at home, our room was big, nice, tidy and clean. The breakfast is absolutely outstanding,the atmosphere is warm and every one is been more than helpful and kind.
We really recommend it.
We'll go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
53
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Wish we could have stayed longer! We arrived a bit later than estimated, and were nonetheless cheerfully greeted by Graham, who directed us to the local Southbourne eateries, all within walking distance. Afterwards we walked across the road to Fisherman's Walk and the beach below. This is a beautiful house, with the fireplace in the front room and the sitting room/bar, where one can have an afternoon/evening snack or drink. We had a spotless second floor room, which had its own bathroom adjoining (with toiletries, robe, and towels), a flat screen TV, and a large set of windows with spectacular views of the sea and the Isle of Wight. We also were given a fresh carafe of water for our room, and sleep quality was very good. The house has a fenced/walled patio garden in front, and a smaller garden/shed and car park in back. Breakfast was served in the dining room facing the garden, and included fresh eggs, Dorset mushrooms, toast and jam, coffee/tea, and an array of fruit, cereals, juice, etc. on the sideboard. Graham, Ross, and David were so helpful and kind, giving us plenty of information about the beach (plus towels), access, directions, and making us feel very much at home. I would definitely want to return!

Room Tip: Room 1 on the second floor has large sea-facing windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol-the-Wander-Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back from a fantastic stay at Westcotes House. Loved the view from my room (room2), loved the little extras that make a stay perfect....tea and coffee in the room, honesty bar, even cake and sweet wine to help ourselves to in the lounge, big library of books, comfy couches in lounge and bar. I really felt at home. Breakfast was delicious too. Graham, Ross and David were the perfect hosts and always asking if they could do more. They even found us a fantastic walk to fill in a mixed weather day. Would highly recommend staying here and they will be the first place I call when I am back in Southbourne.

Room Tip: Choose room 1 or 2 for great see views...or ask for one of the back rooms for a quieter night. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I brought my Mum here for a short break.
We all loved it.
A stunning location.
The decor is stylish, yet homely.
Ross was the perfect host - thank you!!
A lovely breakfast.
Simply perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for just one night but Ross and the guys couldn't have been more welcoming or accomodating. We will certainly recommend it and plan to come back.

The breakfast was delicious and the veiw from Room 2 spectacular. I did find the mattress a bit saggy but that's a minor point!

The honesty bar, wifi and helpfulness were all fantastic.

Right on the seafront and an easy walk to Boscombe pier then on to Bournemouth it is well located.

Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 2 has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlGuideHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate it very much. Glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Ross, Graham, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here again recently having also been here earlier in the year. The place is just great. We were in one of the seaview rooms with just the most brilliant view looking right out to sea and across to Poole harbour and beyond. We ate locally each day - couple of nice pubs nearby and a new restaurant in the high street. The guys who run the place are extremely friendly and will do anything for you. We had loads of stuff with us (bikes and the like) and they kindly stored them in their garage. A big tray of cakes in the main lounge was a nice touch and we certainly made the most of it. Thank you for looking after us so well

Room Tip: Worth paying the little bit extra for the seaview rooms as they have such brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review; it was great to see you again. Glad that the view lived up to expectations : Room 1 and Room 2 have the best views (if you like the sea and the coastline, anyway!). Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Ross, Graham, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We came to Westcotes House with our bikes, kayaks, surfboards and all! - This b&b is unlike any other I've been to. For people like us, having off-road parking, a garage to store our bikes, kayaks and kit in combined with the flexibility of the owners to accommodate our needs was amazingly helpful. The inside accommodation was just as impressive as the outside. We had a lovely sea view room with stunning views. The breakfast was great, with a nice selection of fruit for the health conscious. For the less healthy, another great touch was the near constant supply of cake and complimentary wine for us to help ourselves to in the very tastefully decorated lounge. We continued our less than healthy stint by having further drinks in the sweet little bar overlooking the front deck.

We will definitely be returning and recommending Westcotes House to all our friends. If you need to travel with bikes and kayaks, this is the place to stay, rest assured that you kit is safe and secure. The bedrooms are simple, tasteful and airy. The owners are helpful, kind, but not overbearing. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayakmad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad you had an enjoyable time and that you were able to get to explore the area. Look forward to seeing you again. David, Ross and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#4 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#12 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#44 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#2 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#25 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcotes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcotes House

Property: Westcotes House
Address: 9 Southbourne Overcliff Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character guest house on the sea front in Southbourne, Bournemouth. On the Overcliff near Fishermans Walk and next to Grand Avenue. We have 6 en-suite rooms, 3 with stunning sea views across Bournemouth Bay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing