We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Huge Thank You”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Huge Thank You”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I had a fabulous birthday celebration at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel last night. The food was simply spot-on and the staffs attention to detail exceeded all our expectations. I have no hesitation in recommending this venue if you are looking for quality food and service in a fabulous location. Thank you for bringing that something different to Bournemouth!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
I would like to thank you for choosing the Cottonwood to celebrate your special day, and am so delighted that it was a success. Our staff often try to go the extra mile for our guests, but maybe they went an extra two miles to help you celebrate in style that evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    256
    147
    62
    41
See reviews for
132
380
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recieved a Groupon voucher for a night at the Cottonwood Hotel. It was a fantastic location, just a short walk from Bournemouth pier and seafront activities, and also from lots of transport links. The views are great because it is right on the sea edge. In terms of the hotel itself, it is VERY pink! The decorators have really gone to town with the 'pinkness', having said that it is very modern and clean. The room was a good size and again was very modern and clean. The only downside to this hotel I felt, was the restaurant. Although it had looked good on the website I wasnt that impressed with the menu. The bar menu however, was much more varied and tastier.
The staff at this hotel were very helpful, and the two girls running the bar made our stay. Their cocktail making was brilliant. I would definately stay here again if I visited Bournemouth.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
I am so pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our location convenient. The ‘pinkness’ of the bar area is certainly a talking point here at the Cottonwood, although usually for the right reasons! It is a shame that you did not like the menu in the restaurant on the night of your stay, however this is changed daily, so perhaps you would have preferred the selection on a different date. However our bar menu is changed less frequently, so that those who have their firm favourites are contented every time they visit. I do hope you will stay in Bournemouth again, and will contemplate our restaurant on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly to a fault throughout our stay. We bought a groupon voucher and upgraded to a room with a sea view - definitely recommend it! Breakfast was buffet style cold and full english included in price. Very good value for money! Bar had a lovely atmosphere during the day and felt lively, yet homely in the evening. The decor is very chic and boutique - works incredibily well. Hotel is in a great location and beach is walking distance! Room was very big and in keeping with the boutique style. The only fault was the water pressure, which was sadly very weak. Took a bath in the evening which took 30 mins to fill up half way. Shower was only attached at tap height, so needed to be held whilst showering and again, was shockingly weak. Regardless, only in bathroom for small amount of time - this didn't put us off. Would definitely stay again and would recommend others do for a different style and surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMehta-Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you so much for your all round glowing review. We are very proud of all we have to offer here at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel and it is very encouraging to hear that our guests are happy with the service we are providing. However we are always striving for more, and appreciate your comments regarding the water pressure. We are addressing this issue as best we can, but I am certainly glad that this did not put you off your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back, along with any others you may recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff, they were very polite and very helpful and made our stay a pleasure.
I would and will recommend to anyone who asks about your venue.

Many thanks

The Wyers

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
And I would like to thank you for such a kind comment. I have passed this message on to all the staff here at the Cottonwood, who I feel work so hard that they deserve to hear every bit of thanks and appreciation that they so rightly earn. I also appreciate the recommendations and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I recently went to the Cottonwood withtwo friends for afternoon tea so I can't comment on the state of the rooms. What I can say is from the first moment we were all impressed. The entrence hall was beautiful as was the lounge we were in for tea. The surroundings were a lovely deep pink and the furniture and decor were lovely and added to the overall experience. The food itself was lovely we had a round of sandwiches each, with the choice of Ham, Egg, tuna and cheese, along with a fruit scone each with Jam and clotted cream and then a peice of cake and a slice of some kind of pastry/tart. Couldn't tell you what kind of tart but it tasted fab!! We also had a glass of sparkling wine and then a pot of tea. Overall we really enjoyed the experience, sat with a lovely sea view and very tasty food. My review would have got a 5 star except parking was non-exsistent (only a few spaces) and we didn't get a choice of the bread for the sandwiches (although i did get brown which is what i wanted) or a choice of cake as I had fruit cake (which none of us like) and my friends had chocolate cake which we all liked and wanted!! Overall though I would definately return, and plan too!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam8636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

It makes me very happy to hear you had such a positive experience whilst dining at our hotel. I personally feel that our afternoon tea is a bargain for the quality we offer, and am glad you clearly agree. I am also a fan of the chocolate cake and will take on board your comments regarding choices for the future. We are always evolving here at the Cottonwood, and our deals and offerings evolve with us to suit the needs of our guests and customers alike. I am afraid I will have to disagree with you on one point, and that is the parking. Although we do not by any means have an abundance of parking, we do have an adequate amount of spaces considering the size of the hotel, our location so close to town and the beach, and in comparison to other properties in the area. You are of course welcome to park in either of our sister hotels to the left and the right of the Cottonwood, which I hope will encourage you to come back to enjoy another afternoon tea shortly!

Best wishes

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Good Location, Good Breakfast, Nice Staff, Free Car Park, Close to town and beach

Poor Bedrooms let it down - uncomfortable bed (myside was sunken), very small rooms, old style tv with no reception

Room Tip: Not room 15 - very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyBabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made about our hotel. I can only apologise about the trouble you experienced with your bed, however I would urge you in future to bring these issues to light during your stay. We would have gone to great lengths to provide you with a different room had we been aware of the problem. As you may have seen, other comments have been made about how comfortable our beds are; therefore I would hope this would have negated the situation. The television reception is something we are currently addressing, and are installing new flat screen TVs that have built in free view. Thank you again for your fair and useful feedback and I hope that your positive experience leads you to our door again.

Best wishes

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cottonwood for one night through the Groupon offer. We declined to pay an extra £20 for a sea view and, in return, we had what must be the smallest double bedroom we have ever stayed in - room 12! The rather large television, (that's large as in deep, not wide!), really didn't help - only just room to squeeze past it to get round the bottom of the bed. The bathroom, although also small, was okay, but the shower was rather pathetic. (The hotel apparently has issues with water pressure!). However, we did enjoy our stay, and the staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, and the decor throughout the hotel is lovely. (Just don't take a cat to swing if you're staying in room 12!!).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guest

I belive that the fact you enjoyed your stay overall is a testament to what a hotel can achieve despite its shortcomings. As an old building, room sizes and shapes can vary. We advertise ourselves as a boutique hotel, meaning what is lacking in conformity to strict rules and regulations on room size etc is in my view more than made up for in quirkiness and individuality. However I appreciate your feedback and agree that by providing a new TV in the room may mediate the issue. We are currently in the process of replacing any remaining old TV sets in the hotel with brand new flat screen TVs and hope to complete this replacement shortly, Water pressure is something that we do try to warn our guests about, as it is an unpredictable problem. However we are currently doing everything in our power to rectify this issue. I would like to thank you for the positive comments you have made regarding our staff and the cleanliness and décor of the hotel, and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing