We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed here for 1 Saturday night, had a voucher for a B&B deal. The hotel is well located for a 10 minute walk into town. It's situated right across from the sea and our room No 3 on the ground floor had a sea room. The hotel has a 'boutique' look, that is modern wallpaper and colours etc. Our room was quite small but had a large bed. The bathroom had a full bath but again was quite small. Both were nicely decorated. We ate in the hotel restaurant, whilst the meal was nice I think the portions were quite small. The bed was comfy but in the middle of the night I was woken by a strange sound, like the ringing of the telephone or something in a room next door which went on for the rest of the evening and it was very hard to get back to sleep. The breakfast the next morning was nice.

I would stay here here again if coming to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    264
    153
    63
    42
See reviews for
140
387
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We booked this hotel for a friday when going to see Bob Dylan and we were impressed with the location and the hotel was nicely decorated. The bed base was a little old and dirty and the mattress was extremely uncomfortable. We were woken up at 3am by the nosy couple in the room above us. Not only could we hear them walking around, having sex and then them putting on the tv we could also hear every word they were saying.......I understand that having nosy guests is not the fault of the hotel but the owners should have adeqate sound proofing to make sure other guests have uninterrupted nights sleep. So otherall would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolsfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Great location, 10 mins stroll from the pier, sea views from even a ground floor room. Was pleasantly surprised at the amount of greenery and one minor road between us and the cliff. great decor, very clean, would stay again. Bathroom a little cramped, but who spends a weekend in the bathroom anyway?!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGroschl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
I am so glad you were pleased with the location, decor and cleanliness of the hotel. We are very lucky with our position so close to the beach and the cliff top. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

What a delight! I would like to congratulate the management and their staff for creating such a beautiful business, the new refurb has enabled this hotel to rise like the phoenix from the ashes and in so doing, in my opinion, become one of the best hotels in Bournemouth, the decor is an eclectic mix of funky/chic/boutique and would appeal to guests who have a creative eye for design. I wish this wonderful little gem every success in it's new venture and would like to thank everybody at the hotel who provided such an effective and efficient service...... (when can i start work ??? !!!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne8693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Wow, thank you so much for this overwhelmingly good review. It is great to know that we are doing something right, and that we are bringing something different to the local area. Please feel free to drop by your CV any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Excellent afternoon tea, plenty to eat, and superb scones and cake.
Lovely sea view from the bar.
Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor-mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We will look forward to welcoming you back. I am so glad you enjoyed the food. Our dinner menu is also very tempting if you would like to try something different on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOURNEMOUTH
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

What a great way to end the working week. It was so relaxing and the staff were very attentive.
Decided to eat in the bar area instead of the restaurant and was not dissapointed.
Must do this again. This must be the best kept secret in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERLBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We do not try to keep it a secret! I cannot agree more that enjoying extraordinarily well priced champagne is the perfect way to unwind after a hard week at work. The bar is also a great place to enjoy more of an informal and relaxed dining experience, whilst not missing out on quality food. Please feel free to return every Friday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

What a lovely surprise. Fabulously and colourfully decorated rooms - makes a change from neutrally decorated hotels. Views from terrace and rooms were magnificent. Wonderful restaurant menu and breakfast was superb. Will definitely be returning to try out the afternoon tea. Opposite beaches and short distance to walk into town. What a little gem - I would thoroughly recommend this to all visitors to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We look forward to welcoming you to enjoy our afternoon tea, and I love your description of the Cottonwood as a ‘little gem’. Thank you for the fantastic comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing