We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Little Getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Little Getaway.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just returned home yesterday from our little weekend break at The CottonWood & already planning our next trip back. My fiancé booked the Bridal Suite with a sea view for a relaxing weekend & too my surprise to also propose to me on the beach. The hotel was quirky, beautiful & everything it had promised to be. The staff were outstanding & made sure we were comfortable & happy on our stay. The staff in The Garden Restraunt were fantastic with my 2 year old daughter, nothing was too much trouble. Overall a great, little hotel bursting with character.. I fell inlove with the place. Highly recommendable & a 10/10 for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Lana M - congratulations! That's very romantic of your partner, how very lovely. 10 out of 10 for him.

We're delighted that you had a wonderful stay and one that will remain in your memories for years to come I'm sure. Perhaps you might also want to consider the Cottonwood hotel for your wedding. :-)

I see you're not local to Bournemouth so perhaps you could hire the venue exclusively which would include all 31 bedrooms and the entire hotel all to yourselves! We're fully licensed for wedding ceremonies and can seat up to 100 guests for a wedding breakfast.

We would be delighted of the opportunity to put a quote together for you, Sarah is our Wedding Planner and can be reached on 01202 405010 or events@quantumhotelgroup.co.uk if this is of interest to you.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Cottonwood in the near future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    264
    153
    63
    42
See reviews for
140
387
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The quirky decor -
We loved the funky boutique style downstairs. The Bar was particularly lovely, but possibly not to everyone's taste. The bedrooms weren't quite as well finished as other reviewers have stated and were missing some extra touches. Some boutique-style door or cupboard handles would have been nice and some of the painting looked very rushed and not at all well done.One wall decorated in flowery wall paper and a velvet armchair does not a boutique bedroom make! The cushion on our bed was also stained underneath so needed to be washed or just replaced.

The bathroom was clean and functional and just looked like something out of a Travelodge. We had a hand held shower which wasn't great. Considering that the bathroom looked as though it had been given a bit of a facelift, providing a shower attached to the wall that you could actually stand under seemed a bit of a no-brainer.

Not all rooms come with a King sized bed so worth asking when you book or you will get a standard double.

The Location -
Lovely spot overlooking the sea and set back from the road. Terrace area was lovely for a glass of wine in the sun and the garden was well kept and spacious. Only a ten minute walk from the town and five minutes to the steps/slope down to the beach.

The Sea view -
A true sea view! Only downside was that the hotel is brightly lit at the front at night and the curtains weren't very thick. I can imagine that the bar on the terrace below could prove noisy if you slept with the windows open. Sounds really picky, but the windows weren't that clean and were very grimy inside when they were open so could have just done with a wipe. The price of a sea view room isn't cheap so just a little extra care on the finish would make all the difference.

The peace and quiet -
We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and we got exactly that. The rooms by the lift should probably be avoided as the sliding door slammed shut every time it was used.

The Garden Restaurant -
Lovely food which was well presented and excellent service. Closes at 9pm which seemed odd on a Saturday night and meant it was dead and rather lacking in atmosphere by the time we made it to dessert. I think I would probably eat in the lounge bar if we visited again as that area was a bit more lively. The decor in the lounge bar was also nicer than the restaurant which is set slightly below ground and looked out at a rockery type garden and a set of steps. We had our breakfast in the same room and it seemed nicer in the daylight and not so subterranean!

We also had sandwiches on the terrace when we arrived which were delicious and very well presented. The bar menu looked very good with plenty of choices and at a good price.

-The Service
We had genuinely good service from every member of staff who dealt with us. Everyone seemed to care that you enjoyed your stay. The lady on Reception was particularly friendly and very helpful. We were also able to leave our car parked at the hotel after we had checked out so we could further enjoy the beach, which was a nice touch.

I would recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upper floors, away from the lift and ask for a King-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanniebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Surrey Travellingcat
Many thanks for your informative and constructive feedback, very much appreciated and I am delighted that you would stay with us again. You may want to sign up to our monthly newsletter on our website to be kept up to date with our latest offers and promotions. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future, by which time I hope that we will have improved upon some of the negative points that you highlighted. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My boyfriend and I booked 4 nights at the Cottonwood Boutique hotel. As we approached the hotel we noticed the outside needed re doing as the painting had chipped away over time. As we entered the hotel was beautifully decorated. We were greeting by the receptionist on the desk who promptly checked us in and directed us to our room which was room 25. Considering the rate we paid we were not expecting too much but we were surprised with what we got. The room was huge, evidently a family room with 3 beds including one double. The room was spacious and warm. It also had a large wardrobe and a sea view! The bathroom was nice although it did not have a shower and the door was stiff to open. After we had settled down one of the staff came to our room to check everything was okay. Overall the room was more than we bargained for and was definitely worth the money we spent! The hotel was a fair walk to the town centre however a pleasant walk at that. Overall our stay was wonderful and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Kimberley
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, it is so nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay. The sea views are really spectacular aren't they and being at the end of the hotels on the East Cliff our location is a little more peaceful and serine. Like you say, the restaurants and bars are only a short walk away if you did want to pop out for a night, but with our wine and dine menu at £14.95 for 2 courses and a glass of wine, sometimes there's no need. We do hope to welcome you back to the Cottonwood over the coming months.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As it was my 50th Birthday last July my children clubbed together to buy me a Red Letter days weekend. I chose This Hotel and I'm glad I did! The location is perfect close to the beach and a 10 min walk from the town. Helpful staff, lovely breakfast! Didnt sample evening meals. We will definatly be returning! The only thing I can criticise is that we didnt get a sea view! I would recommend this hotel ! It would be a good wedding venue!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahandDavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Sarah and David
Many thanks for your comments and delighted that you choose to stay with us for your special birthday. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again over the coming months, we have some great events in Bournemouth throughout the summer including the Air Festival. Definitely worth the upgrade to a sea view room as we are in the centre of the flight path.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Did a quick one night stay here last Thursday as we were attending a wedding in the morning. Very pleased with what we found, polite on the reception and very helpful. Quirky decor and while a little too pink for my liking I appreciate the idea and liked some of the bits and pieces like the suits of Armour etc.

Our room was in the cottage area which you access via a secret door in the event room which was a nice touch. It also meant we could come and go easily via a side door on the building. The room was nice, the bathroom was unfortunately dated and the plumbing a bit dodgy but it was very clean and fine for a quick stop over.

Had a lovely breakfast the next morning in a room that overlooks the pretty gardens with a view of the sea which was fabulous!

Only downside was the wi-fi did not appear to be working and take care with the showers! Mine was so powerful it flew off the shower hook and drenched the bathroom and all my clothes! They were very quick at coming to sort it out though and did apologise to us.

Would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aingeal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your comments and delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood. We do hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with us again if you are planning to come to Bournemouth again, maybe next time you would consider a sea view, they really are superb and worth every penny. If you haven't already done so you may want to join our newsletter on the website and be kept up to date with all our promotions and events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

WOW WHAT A WEEKEND, all thanks to one exceptional bar man, who is undoubtably the connoisseur of anything alcoholic. With his charismatic disposition and his willingness to go the extra mile, we had a weekend we will never forget. If you love a whiskey, a wine or tantalising cocktail then cottonwood is the place to go but ONLY if you ask for Larry.
Thanks Larry!

From James and Missy

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMESANDMISSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hi James and Missy - thank you for your feedback and delighted that you had a great experience, Larry will be pleased to see you comments and is sharing his knowledge and experiences with his team. You may want to join our newsletter, via our website, and be kept up to date with our forthcoming promotions and events.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend and can honestly say I shall be returning very soon. The food was outstanding, service was exceptional and the room was absolutely beautiful with amazing ocean views.
Staff were very helpful on arrival, taking our bags to the room. On one occasion we ate in the garden restaurant and were waited on hand and foot. After dinner there is a very relaxed bar with a nice balcony with seats to enjoy the sun set whilst looking at the sea.
Great location as town is a 10 min walk or 2 second drive.
Me and my partner had the most amazing bank holiday and have already booked our next return.
Definitely the best hotel I've stayed at in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry9187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor, I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful Bank Holiday and have already booked your next stay with us. You may also want to join our newsletter and be kept up to date with our latest promotions and events. We look forward to welcoming you back over the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing